[SOLVED] - Can't find gnome-terminal and it is indeed installed

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
m4l490n
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 1:08 am

[SOLVED] - Can't find gnome-terminal and it is indeed installed

Post by m4l490n » Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:37 pm

Hello

I have installed gnome-teminal because konsole behaves really weird with zsh, anyway, the only way for me to run gnome-terminal is to use konsole command line and executing:

Code: Select all

gnome-teminal
Obviously, I don't want to do that. I have tried to open it from the applications drawer but I can't find it, even using the search function. I have also tried to create a shortcut but when looking for the application to open with the shortcut I don't find it anywhere. I don't know what is going on.

Does anyone know what could be missing?
Last edited by m4l490n on Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:31 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 23959
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't find gnome-terminal and it is indeed installed

Post by xenopeek » Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:23 pm

Assuming Linux Mint 18.x, Gnome Terminal only shows in Gnome, Unity and Cinnamon. You can override it.

First, make sure override directory exists and then create the override file. You can do so by running these two commands:

Code: Select all

mkdir -p ~/.local/share/applications
sed '/^OnlyShowIn/d' /usr/share/applications/gnome-terminal.desktop > ~/.local/share/applications/gnome-terminal.desktop
Afterwards "Terminal" should show up in your menu shortly.
Image

m4l490n
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 1:08 am

Re: Can't find gnome-terminal and it is indeed installed

Post by m4l490n » Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:38 am

Thanks @xenopeek!! that resolved my issue!

How do I flag this question as answered? I can't find the option.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 23959
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't find gnome-terminal and it is indeed installed

Post by xenopeek » Wed Oct 31, 2018 10:38 am

You can do that by editing your first post in this topic; see the pencil icon in the upper right corner of your top post. Change the title to include <SOLVED> to let others know you need no further help on it.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “KDE”