KDE on linux mint 20

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
paulnoise

KDE on linux mint 20

Post by paulnoise »

How I did it, your mileage may vary.

Image

1. Install linux mint xfce
then in terminal

$ sudo apt update
$ sudo apt dist-upgrade
$ sudo apt install kde-standard

boot into kde

------------------------------------------------------------------
2. Remove XFCE

This command line will list all packages with xfce in their names, take only the package names, and feed those package names in to a special apt-get purge command line. This way you do not need to remove every one of those 50+ package names one by one.

$ dpkg -l | grep .xfce4. | xargs sudo apt-get purge --auto-remove --yes


Some explanations:

dpkg -l lists all installed packages
grep .xfce. filters so that only packages with keyword xfce within their names listed
xargs changes multiple line input from previous command to be single line input for next command
sudo apt-get purge removes listed packages from input
--auto-remove tries to remove dependency packages too
--yes makes apt-get automatically answers yes for everything


For troubleshooting purpose, you can add one more pipeline command at the end | tee --append removal.txt to record the whole removal process in a plain text named removal.txt.
-------------------------------------------------------------
3. Final Check

This command should show nothing if it's true that all XFCE components were successfully removed.

$ dpkg -l | grep .xfce.

--------------------------------------------------------------
4. Synaptec

Open Synaptic Package Manager
search for xfce
remove all installed entries

--------------------------------------------------------------
5. Try to logout and check whether XFCE session doesn't exist anymore from session choice menu.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
BrianI
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 6:13 am
Location: Fife, Scotland

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by BrianI »

Very interesting!

I must admit I'm in two minds with regards to KDE. Yes, it is flexible, and customisable, but I also find it somewhat overwhelming! But I do fancy a change from Cinnamon, to try to get a bit more speed out of my system...
mr_raider
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1897
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by mr_raider »

I tried this back when Mint 18 was released and it was more headache than I needed. I ended up switching to KDE Neon.

What version of plasma and Qt does KDE desktop pull in?

Do the Mint specific apps like the update manager and software installer look right?
Image
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by absque fenestris »

Hi paulnoise
Thanks for the instructions. I just tried this in the VirtualBox - Xfce has not yet been deleted.
It takes me wonder how long the two desktops can exist side by side ...

KDE-Xfce.png

Code: Select all

ms@ms:~$ inxi -Fxz
System:
  Kernel: 5.4.0-40-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0 
  Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.18.5 Distro: Linux Mint 20 Ulyana 
  base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:
  Type: Virtualbox System: innotek product: VirtualBox v: 1.2 serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: Oracle model: VirtualBox v: 1.2 serial: <filter> BIOS: innotek 
  v: VirtualBox date: 12/01/2006 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 50.0 Wh condition: 50.0/50.0 Wh (100%) model: innotek 1 
  status: Full 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-8550U bits: 64 type: MCP 
  arch: Kaby Lake rev: A L2 cache: 8192 KiB 
  flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 bogomips: 15936 
  Speed: 1992 MHz min/max: N/A Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1992 2: 1992 3: 1992 
  4: 1992 
Graphics:
  Device-1: VMware SVGA II Adapter driver: vmwgfx v: 2.15.0.0 bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: vmware 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 3000x1790~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 10.0.0 256 bits) v: 3.3 Mesa 20.0.8 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 82801AA AC97 Audio vendor: Dell driver: snd_intel8x0 v: kernel 
  bus ID: 00:05.0 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-40-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Intel 82540EM Gigabit Ethernet driver: e1000 v: 7.3.21-k8-NAPI 
  port: d020 bus ID: 00:03.0 
  IF: enp0s3 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Intel 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI type: network bridge 
  driver: piix4_smbus v: N/A port: d200 bus ID: 00:07.0 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 40.00 GiB used: 9.80 GiB (24.5%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: VirtualBox model: VBOX HARDDISK size: 40.00 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 38.63 GiB used: 9.80 GiB (25.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5 
Sensors:
  Message: No sensors data was found. Is sensors configured? 
Info:
  Processes: 197 Uptime: 41m Memory: 3.84 GiB used: 1.84 GiB (47.9%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.3.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.16 
  inxi: 3.0.38 
Mint KDE.png
mr_raider
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1897
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by mr_raider »

Ahhh so it's pulling 5.18 KDE. Pretty much what kubuntu ships with. 5.18 is an LTS support desktop so that's good. Unfortunately you are getting Qt 5.12 which is not the most recent. I believe you need Qt 5.14 for the newer versions of plasma (5.19.x).

How do the indicators on the panel look like?
Image
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by absque fenestris »

mr_raider wrote: Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:27 am Ahhh so it's pulling 5.18 KDE. Pretty much what kubuntu ships with. 5.18 is an LTS support desktop so that's good. Unfortunately you are getting Qt 5.12 which is not the most recent. I believe you need Qt 5.14 for the newer versions of plasma (5.19.x).

How do the indicators on the panel look like?
Image

The overall impression is something like this...
mr_raider
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1897
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by mr_raider »

Just tried it in a VM.

You can use the package kde-plasma-desktop since it's more streamlined than the standard package.

The dpkg command fails as listed. I had to manually remove all the Xfce packages using synaptic.

However:

1. A lot gtk/gnome packages remain. They need to be purged one at a time and replaced with Qt equivalents.

2. Trying to remove the mint-info-xfce package will remove a lot of stuff so leave it.

3. You end up with two software stores and package updaters, Mint and Discover.

4. The mint specific stuff does not blend well with KDE plasma themes.


While it's a viable exercise to get the KDE desktop on Mint, I suggest no one try this except for experimentation. You are better off doing this right of the bat on a fresh install. If you are nostalgic for mint KDE 17, go ahead and try it.

Of course you can save yourself time an aggravation by installing kubuntu which will be virtually identical.
Image
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by absque fenestris »

Or Debian KDE Buster. Installation works better and smoother than those from Ubuntu or Neon.
At least on my device.

(Incidentally, I'm still on my Frankenstein ... :lol: )
mr_raider
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1897
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by mr_raider »

absque fenestris wrote: Sat Jul 04, 2020 3:47 pm Or Debian KDE Buster. Installation works better and smoother than those from Ubuntu or Neon.
At least on my device.

(Incidentally, I'm still on my Frankenstein ... :lol: )
If you want cutting edge KDE, go Neon. It's now at KDE 5.19.2.

I know Manjaro also uses more recent builds. Though a completely different ecosystem.
Image
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by absque fenestris »

Hi mr_raider

I tried to install both Kubuntu and Neon in the VirtualBox. With the HiDPI settings, respectively the Guest Additions, I failed with both and lost my patience.
This Xfce-to-KDE experiment, on the other hand, ran absolutely smoothly with all settings and additions - amazing ...
mr_raider
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1897
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by mr_raider »

absque fenestris wrote: Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:29 am Hi mr_raider

I tried to install both Kubuntu and Neon in the VirtualBox. With the HiDPI settings, respectively the Guest Additions, I failed with both and lost my patience.
This Xfce-to-KDE experiment, on the other hand, ran absolutely smoothly with all settings and additions - amazing ...
From what I remember, you need to install the OS first. Run all updates. Install dkms package, and then install guest additions from the Virtual box cd (insert guest additions CD).

From what I remember in KDE, hidpi has been moved to the display settings dialog. What resolution is your monitor?
Image
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by absque fenestris »

It's a 13.9" monitor with 3000 x 2000 pixels. In the meantime I have got used to the fact that the Linuxii are started with microscopic 800 x 600 pixels (VirtualBox under Windows® is stubborn and doesn't react to any reasonable default setting). With VirtualBox at 200% you can at least see something.
Then I look for the (Linux) display settings and try to get at least 1024 x 768 or 1280 x 800 pixels.
This works with all Mint Cinnamon's and MATE's -
Debian KDE Buster &
Deepin ...
- who also, all without complaint, accept the VirtualBox Guest Extensions.
Maximized the VirtualBox window, I then have 3000 x 1790 pixels available, which are calculated via HiDPI to 1500 x 895 in high-resolution .

All Xfce variants are without exception to despair. I narrowly managed Kubuntu with a lot of swearing - but the joy was gone. Neon was just a little black rectangle ...
With Xfce, the monitor also begins to flicker so violently that I fear device damage.

Hence my astonishment at the problem-free installation in this experiment ...
mr_raider
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1897
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by mr_raider »

I'll keep running it in a VM for a few weeks. I'm still on 18.04 based distros (Neon and Mint XFCE) and waiting for the jump to 20.04. We'll see how this pans out as an option. Unfortunately this is pretty much an "unsupported" option in Mint.
Image
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by absque fenestris »

So, I have now removed Xfce and see how long this KDE thing remains executable.
At least it looks very nice ...
mr_raider
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1897
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by mr_raider »

Now if you really want to break your install, add the KDE Neon repos and see what happens.
Image
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by absque fenestris »

mr_raider wrote: Tue Jul 07, 2020 6:33 pm Now if you really want to break your install, add the KDE Neon repos and see what happens.
So - I now have a clone ... Shameful deeds specifically: How do I get to the Neon repos?

As you can see I'm always available for a little experiment ... :mrgreen:
mr_raider
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1897
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by mr_raider »

absque fenestris wrote: Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:12 pm
mr_raider wrote: Tue Jul 07, 2020 6:33 pm Now if you really want to break your install, add the KDE Neon repos and see what happens.
So - I now have a clone ... Shameful deeds specifically: How do I get to the Neon repos?

As you can see I'm always available for a little experiment ... :mrgreen:
The neon repos are still Bionic only.
Image
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by absque fenestris »

Now it gets interesting: Discover or Mint Update - that's the question ..

Min Update.jpg
Discover Updatejpg.jpg
mr_raider
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1897
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by mr_raider »

Don't run apt autoremove. It was trying yesterday to remove dolphin.

I would use apt from the command line to be damn sure I can see what's going on.
Image
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: KDE on linux mint 20

Post by absque fenestris »

I installed all upcoming updates with KDE-Discover.
The Mint Update Manager also seems to agree.

That means Mint KDE 20 has been running smoothly for 2 weeks and has already had some updates.
Locked

Return to “Software & Applications”