Helena KDE CE update

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Seventh Reign
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Southwestern Pennsylvania

Re: Helena KDE CE update

Post by Seventh Reign »

There are wayy too many replies to check if this has been mentioned already. It probably has, but I guess it cant hurt to make sure.

I'm running the Mint 8 KDE RC1 in VBox right now. It is absolutely beautiful. As Mint always is. I just have a few 'issues' that dont seem to make sense to me

*Gwenview and DigiKam both installed
*Amarok and Songbird both installed
*Gnome MPlayer installed

Aside from that and the fact that We'll probably never see a 64 bit version so I'll never actually be able to install this system .. I love it.
User avatar
Rob Brill
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Global

Re: Helena KDE CE update

Post by Rob Brill »

Hi,

Right now dowloading the Mint KDE 8 iso via torrent from btjunkie.

Thanks
fubaseca
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:26 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Helena KDE CE update

Post by fubaseca »

Seventh Reign wrote:There are wayy too many replies to check if this has been mentioned already. It probably has, but I guess it cant hurt to make sure.

I'm running the Mint 8 KDE RC1 in VBox right now. It is absolutely beautiful. As Mint always is. I just have a few 'issues' that dont seem to make sense to me

*Gwenview and DigiKam both installed
*Amarok and Songbird both installed
*Gnome MPlayer installed

Aside from that and the fact that We'll probably never see a 64 bit version so I'll never actually be able to install this system .. I love it.
Really? I thought the 64 bit version was almost ready as well. And besides, I think you'd have no problem installing it to your system. I'm using it with a core 2 quad (64 bit processor).
User avatar
gravelbay
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 9:49 am
Location: Roatan, Honduras
Contact:

Re: Helena KDE CE update

Post by gravelbay »

fubaseca wrote:
Seventh Reign wrote:There are wayy too many replies to check if this has been mentioned already. It probably has, but I guess it cant hurt to make sure.

I'm running the Mint 8 KDE RC1 in VBox right now. It is absolutely beautiful. As Mint always is. I just have a few 'issues' that dont seem to make sense to me

*Gwenview and DigiKam both installed
*Amarok and Songbird both installed
*Gnome MPlayer installed

Aside from that and the fact that We'll probably never see a 64 bit version so I'll never actually be able to install this system .. I love it.
Really? I thought the 64 bit version was almost ready as well. And besides, I think you'd have no problem installing it to your system. I'm using it with a core 2 quad (64 bit processor).
I'm pretty sure that it's stated in this thread that the 64-bit KDE Helena should be right on the heels of the 32-bit version. I'm trying to resist the temptation to d/l the 32-bit version to check out what it's like because I don't want to have to install it again when the 64-bit one arrives.
You don't have a soul. You are a Soul. You have a body. - C. S. Lewis
tonyric
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 5:37 pm

Re: Helena KDE CE update

Post by tonyric »

gravelbay wrote:
fubaseca wrote:
Seventh Reign wrote:There are wayy too many replies to check if this has been mentioned already. It probably has, but I guess it cant hurt to make sure.

I'm running the Mint 8 KDE RC1 in VBox right now. It is absolutely beautiful. As Mint always is. I just have a few 'issues' that dont seem to make sense to me

*Gwenview and DigiKam both installed
*Amarok and Songbird both installed
*Gnome MPlayer installed

Aside from that and the fact that We'll probably never see a 64 bit version so I'll never actually be able to install this system .. I love it.
Really? I thought the 64 bit version was almost ready as well. And besides, I think you'd have no problem installing it to your system. I'm using it with a core 2 quad (64 bit processor).
I'm pretty sure that it's stated in this thread that the 64-bit KDE Helena should be right on the heels of the 32-bit version. I'm trying to resist the temptation to d/l the 32-bit version to check out what it's like because I don't want to have to install it again when the 64-bit one arrives.
It is according to the dev team.
Dell XPS 13 (9360) QHD+, i7, 16GB RAM, 1TB NVMe SSD
Bemoaning the death of Linux Mint KDE

Using Linux since 1994 Slackware v2.1
User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: Helena KDE CE update

Post by Boo »

clem is finishing the 64bit and the release notes while i am at linux.conf.au.
There will be a 64bit version.

Boo
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
olligod
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:29 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Helena KDE CE update

Post by olligod »

Seventh Reign wrote:There are wayy too many replies to check if this has been mentioned already. It probably has, but I guess it cant hurt to make sure.

I'm running the Mint 8 KDE RC1 in VBox right now. It is absolutely beautiful. As Mint always is. I just have a few 'issues' that dont seem to make sense to me

*Gwenview and DigiKam both installed
Aside from that and the fact that We'll probably never see a 64 bit version so I'll never actually be able to install this system .. I love it.

I OBJECT !

How do you download images from a digicamera that can NOT be mounted like a USB storage drive? There are many cameras like that.
Digikam can import these - and NICELY - it is a mature app.
Gwenview cannot (at least I have searched through the entire menue - there is nothing).

On the other hand, Gwenview has more options to handle / manipulate images, I think. No feature parity at all between these 2 apps!
A KDE system is always more full-featured than, say, a fluxbox / XFCE or even Gnome system.

KEEP BOTH APPS - I'm lovin KDE mint the way it is.
User avatar
blazemore
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 6:49 am

Re: Helena KDE CE update

Post by blazemore »

Quick question, I'm using Banshee which is a GTK app.
How can I get my multimedia keys to work with it?
They work with Amarok, and they work with Banshee on Gnome.

Thanks!
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Helena KDE CE update

Post by Husse »

Support questions in a support topic please
I think it's time to abandon this topic now that Helena KDE RC1 is officially released
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Post Reply

Return to “KDE”