Which version of Mint to use

Post by mick55 »

Hello KDE'ers

I removed Mint 8 main edition from my PC for some reason or other :roll:
and installed Debian 5.03 KDE desktop.

Love KDE, love Debian....miss Mint :cry:

This is my first time using KDE and I am very impressed and want to come
back to Mint using a KDE version.I have read through a lot of the posts here
and seen a lot of negativity towards KDE 4 and also some positive comments.

My choices seem to be between
Mint 5 LTS
Mint 7 KDE
Mint 8 RC1

Not sure if I should live in the past on Mint 5, or try the bleeding edge
with Mint 8 or go with the tried and tested Mint 7.

All comments or suggestions are appreciated.

thanks
mick
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)
exploder
Level 15
Level 15

Re: Which version of Mint to use

Post by exploder »

You should be seeing the final release for the Mint 8 KDE 32 bit soon, so you might want to wait for that.
mick55
Level 6
Level 6

Post by mick55 »

Hi Exploder

Thanks for the advice.

How soon is soon :)

I hope the Mint 8 implementation of KDE 4 is superior to the
opensuse 11.2 KDE release which is abysmal.

I installed opensuse 11.1 and was somewhat impressed, so I installed 11.2 and
was not impressed at all.It was a complete resource hog and unbelievably
unstable on 2 different machines.I had read good reviews of opensuse
so I was surprised by how atrocious it really was. I expected more from Novell.

The bloat I could handle, the instability I couldn't. :(

thanks again
mick

rec9140
Level 5
Level 5

Post by rec9140 »

mick55 wrote:I removed Mint 8 main edition from my PC for some reason or other :roll:
and installed Debian 5.03 KDE desktop.

This is my first time using KDE and I am very impressed and want to come
back to Mint using a KDE version.I have read through a lot of the posts here
and seen a lot of negativity towards KDE 4 and also some positive comments.

My choices seem to be between