Unable to get a wired connection

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
runbei
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Unable to get a wired connection

Post by runbei » Thu Aug 12, 2010 9:04 pm

Installed Mint 9 KDE and can't connect via Ethernet wired connection. Odd, as it worked with the live CD, and works out of the box with Gnome version. ?? Not sure where to start - I'm so used to never having to duck under the hood with Mint. Network connection icon shows "Connected" on mouse-over.

User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Re: Unable to get a wired connection

Post by Boo » Sat Aug 14, 2010 10:47 am

very strange.
from a terminal try restarting network-manager

$ sudo service nework-manager restart

also try rebooting your router/switch.
EDIT: I have seen some odd NM behavior lately, or it could be the pasmoid. but the above command fixes it.


Cheers
Boo
Last edited by Boo on Sat Aug 14, 2010 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

Old Ruler
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 12:43 pm
Location: Shropshire, UK.

Re: Unable to get a wired connection

Post by Old Ruler » Sat Aug 14, 2010 10:53 am

Yup. Linux Mint should be made less reliable. It's so long since I've had any kind of problem with wired connections, I've almost forgotten how to diagnose :)

Could you post the output of 'ifconfig' and 'cat /var/lib/dhcp3/dhclient.leases'

Might help jog my memory.

User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1232
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: ¿ǝɯ ǝǝs ɐʎ ʇ,uɐƆ ˙ǝɹǝɥ ʇɥƃᴉɹ ɯ,I
Contact:

Re: Unable to get a wired connection

Post by colyn » Sat Aug 14, 2010 4:27 pm

Go to the terminal and type

Code: Select all

ping google.com
If you get a return then open firefox and type in the address bar

Code: Select all

about:config
in the filter bar type

Code: Select all

ipv6
Double click on the preference name to change it's value to true. Restart firefox and see if it will connect.

Post Reply

Return to “KDE”