Monitor resolution

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
danielninja
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 4:09 pm

Monitor resolution

Post by danielninja »

Hi, I'm using dual monitor and i have define different resolutions for both monitors, although every time there i start my computer the definitions don't stay as i want to..they change to a default setting maybe. I change in systems settings -> display .
Could someone tell me if there is a another way to change it and make it default?
thanks

User avatar
terdon
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:52 pm
Location: Marseille

Re: Monitor resolution

Post by terdon »

What graphics card do you have? There should be a proprietory tool from the graphics card verndor to do this. For nvidia, this is nvidia-settings.

danielninja
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 4:09 pm

Re: Monitor resolution

Post by danielninja »

i've an ati radeon hd 3870 x2 ..i've always had problems to configure it on linux.

User avatar
terdon
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:52 pm
Location: Marseille

Re: Monitor resolution

Post by terdon »

Well I think there is an ATI specific tool. Try runing

Code: Select all

sudo aticonfig

danielninja
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 4:09 pm

Re: Monitor resolution

Post by danielninja »

i can't found anything with that name, not even to install.. i was wounder if there is a text file with the configs that i can edit..that's what i was looking in the first place..

User avatar
terdon
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:52 pm
Location: Marseille

Re: Monitor resolution

Post by terdon »

Well, yes, there is. Have a look at /etc/X11/xorg.conf . However, it sounds like you should install the proprietary driver for your graphics card. Once you do, you should also get the relevant config tool. Have a look at the ati site or check out some howtos on the subject.

danielninja
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 4:09 pm

Re: Monitor resolution

Post by danielninja »

i'm using linuxmint kde and i don't have that file :x
Here is the list of the files on the forlder /etc/X11:
app-defaults/
rgb.txt
xorg.conf.failsafe
Xsession*
cursors/
X@
Xreset*
Xsession.d/
default-display-manager
xinit/
Xreset.d/
Xsession.options
fonts/
xkb/
Xresources/
Xwrapper.config

and that's it! :x

User avatar
terdon
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:52 pm
Location: Marseille

Re: Monitor resolution

Post by terdon »

Yes, well, the xorg configuration has been changing recently. I don't really understand it but sometimes it uses xorg.conf sometimes it doesn't and sets everything up through HAL (I think). It depends on your xserver version if I remember correctly.

Have you tried installing the ati driver from their website? That should solve your problems (or at least give you new ones :) )

Post Reply

Return to “KDE”