Broken packages - again

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
neilwin
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:32 am

Broken packages - again

Post by neilwin »

Mint 10 KDE. When I first installed this version and tried for an update to the packages I had to deal with a broken package first. I found that information from this forum. That was some time ago. Now I have the same message again, but this time with a different set of updates waiting. ( I have updated many times meanwhile). So my question is, how can I tell which package(s) is/are causing the problem? Last time I just had to deselect the relevant package, as given in the forum, and all was well. This time I have run 'Fix broken packages' from the menu but it has had no effect.

Help please .....
neilwin
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:32 am

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by neilwin »

Further to my previous query. I had a look through the listed updates and spotted that it included Firefox v5. Well, I am running version 4.0.1 and I have never even considered version 5. I deselected this package in the list and the updates ran OK. So my query now had become, why would the updates include a new version of FF which I have never even looked at. Isn't FF v5 still being developed? I thought that updates were only about packages and versions of those packages that are actually installed. Is that not the case?

Thanks for any help with this...
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10024
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by Oscar799 »

For your broken packages problem try this in a terminal

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install -f  && sudo apt-get update 
Image
User avatar
colyn
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:37 pm
Location: ¿ǝɯ ǝǝs ɐʎ ʇ,uɐƆ ˙ǝɹǝɥ ʇɥƃᴉɹ ɯ,I
Contact:

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by colyn »

Firefox v5 is out of development and is now stable.
neilwin
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:32 am

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by neilwin »

I have now found out that FF v5 stable version is out. However, I have not long moved up to version 4 so I don't want to bother with v5. I had some more updates this afternoon which included FF v5 again so I marked it as not wanted for updates and all now seems OK. I know that I have FF v4 installed but I did not expect to see V5 appear in the updates. I would expect updates to V4 only. Anyway, it is fine now thanks.
User avatar
smsmith
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:30 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by smsmith »

Firefox has moved to a "rapid release schedule", so version 5 is not very different than version 4. It's more like an update from v4.0.1 to v4.1 than anything else.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6701
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by AlbertP »

v3.6 to 4.0 was a bigger difference.

Now with FF 5.0 I don't see any difference, except of the faster loading time.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
piper65
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:04 pm

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by piper65 »

I got the same problem just this morning.

I just got the updates for FF5, and when I try to update it tells me that I have to deal with broken packages first.
Oscar799 wrote:For your broken packages problem try this in a terminal

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install -f  && sudo apt-get update 
I tried this and it didn't work.

thanks in advance.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6701
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by AlbertP »

Please run these commands:

Code: Select all

apt clean
apt install -f
apt update
Or open Package Manager, go to Special Filters > Broken Packages. There you can somehow fix the packages (but it may happen that the broken packages aren't shown there).
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
User avatar
AdamS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:47 pm
Location: Hinckley Utah USA

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by AdamS »

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get remove

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get autoremove

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get clean

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get autoclean

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo-apt-get upgrade

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install -f

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg --configure -a
Proud owner of a 99.5 % Linux based Pc - laptop - netbook - tablet - networking business.
Do your self a favor, stop paying for imperfection. Once you know Linux, you never go back.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6701
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by AlbertP »

Please first await the result of the 3 commands I posted, before trying other things.

I'd first try this one if it still does not work:

Code: Select all

apt autoremove
(Note that you can abbreviate sudo apt-get to apt)
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
User avatar
AdamS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:47 pm
Location: Hinckley Utah USA

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by AdamS »

That is a collection of ready to copy and paste commands to fix nearly any package issue.

By no means do you need to use all, but you might.

Use what ya need, but I absolutely guarantee that what you need is there.

ALL would be wise to keep a copy of them on hand at all times.
Proud owner of a 99.5 % Linux based Pc - laptop - netbook - tablet - networking business.
Do your self a favor, stop paying for imperfection. Once you know Linux, you never go back.
piper65
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:04 pm

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by piper65 »

Thanks :D

Only a dist-upgrade worked to update it.

The other methods wouldn't solve the problem and it kept telling me that i had broken packages.
User avatar
AdamS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:47 pm
Location: Hinckley Utah USA

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by AdamS »

like I said, save them to a text file. They come in handy at times.
Proud owner of a 99.5 % Linux based Pc - laptop - netbook - tablet - networking business.
Do your self a favor, stop paying for imperfection. Once you know Linux, you never go back.
User avatar
BubbaBlues
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:23 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Broken packages - again

Post by BubbaBlues »

Speaking of Firefox 5, I added the firefox ppa (http://ppa.launchpad.net/mozillateam/fi ... ext/ubuntu) to my sources list and installed it via synaptic. I haven't had any problems at all, and like AlbertP said it is faster. In fact I was stunned at how much faster it is. I like it a lot.
"I sometimes wonder whether the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on or by embeciles who really mean it."
Mark Twain
Post Reply

Return to “KDE”