Page 1 of 1

Applications Won't Connect To Internet

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 12:36 am
by zero-sum
Hi everyone

I'm an ex-Kubuntu user trying to get over to Mint KDE. I'm having trouble with apps connecting to the Internet. Environment is standard wired Ethernet, 100 Mbit, static LAN. no wireless. Machine is an older Intel P4 CPU installed in an Intel board. Mint 32 bit ver. 12 KDE installed just fine. I removed the KDE Network Manager because I've had much trouble with same in the past. All I need is a very simple static connection to a standard wired Ethernet LAN.

eth0 is fully functional and I can ping anywhere on the internet from Konsole. Network related listings are as follows -

Code: Select all

/etc/network/interfaces  (created with Kate)

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.0.112
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.0.1

/etc/resolv.conf  (created with Kate)

# Generated by xxx-x
216.232.72.66
216.237.77.2
208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

********** From Konsole

xx-xxdesktop ~ # dmesg| grep eth

[    1.735379] e100 0000:06:08.0: eth0: addr 0xff500000, irq 20, MAC addr 00:13:20:b2:45:49
[   17.109228] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[   17.112163] e100 0000:06:08.0: eth0: NIC Link is Up 100 Mbps Full Duplex
[   17.112551] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
[   27.840008] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
[ 3280.845785] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[ 3280.848162] e100 0000:06:08.0: eth0: NIC Link is Up 100 Mbps Full Duplex
[ 3280.848569] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
[ 3291.280009] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.112 up does nothing

sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart returns a message that the command is depreciated

konsole, of course, works fine. Nothing else does.

Everything I've looked at appears identical to a working static Kubuntu machine.

Do I need to reinstall Network Manager or do a fresh install to get a static connection working?
Any help much appreciated.

Thanks

Re: Applications Won't Connect To Internet

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 2:25 am
by mank_in
maybe you can use just 2 dns server in .etc/resolv.conf

my resolv.conf :

# Generated by NetworkManager
nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220

Re: Applications Won't Connect To Internet

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:47 am
by vaxxipooh
zero-sum wrote:Hi everyone

I'm an ex-Kubuntu user trying to get over to Mint KDE. I'm having trouble with apps connecting to the Internet. Environment is standard wired Ethernet, 100 Mbit, static LAN. no wireless. Machine is an older Intel P4 CPU installed in an Intel board. Mint 32 bit ver. 12 KDE installed just fine. I removed the KDE Network Manager because I've had much trouble with same in the past. All I need is a very simple static connection to a standard wired Ethernet LAN.
Thanks
Hi!
Here what i do ...
make a file in /usr/local/sbin/network.sh

that contains following:

--------- snip --------------------------------------------------------------->

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
#
# Start wired network
#
ifconfig eth0 xx.xx.xx.xx netmask xxx.xxx.xxx.x up
route add default gw xx.xx.xx.x eth0 
echo "nameserver xx.xxx.xxx.xxx" > /etc/resolv.conf
echo "nameserver xx.xxx.xxx.xxx" >> /etc/resolv.conf
#
# Start wired network end
--------- snap --------------------------------------------------------------->
Disable networkmanager.
and in /etc/network/interfaces:
--------- snip --------------------------------------------------------------->

Code: Select all

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
--------- snap --------------------------------------------------------------->

now put in /etc/rc.local this line:

Code: Select all

/usr/local/sbin/network.sh
Now you should have your static connection up att boot

Hope this helps

Re: Applications Won't Connect To Internet

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:11 pm
by zero-sum
Nope! I now get a "Network Unreachable" message when I try to ping anything.

I assume the default gateway portion "route add default gw xx.xx.xx.x eth0" would look like this -

Code: Select all

route add default gw 192.168.0.1 eth0


Which, I believe, would be the address of the LAN router in most small LAN systems?

Any additional suggestions most appreciated.

Re: Applications Won't Connect To Internet

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:16 pm
by DrHu
Is your router configured to only support IPV6 addressing ?

Re: Applications Won't Connect To Internet

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:51 pm
by vaxxipooh
zero-sum wrote:Nope! I now get a "Network Unreachable" message when I try to ping anything.

I assume the default gateway portion "route add default gw xx.xx.xx.x eth0" would look like this -

Code: Select all

route add default gw 192.168.0.1 eth0

what does this output:

Code: Select all

/sbin/ifconfig
or have you tried:

Code: Select all

sudo /sbin/ifconfig eth0 up

Re: Applications Won't Connect To Internet

Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:30 pm
by zero-sum
Sorry, I wanted to get on with evaluating Mint KDE. I carefully put everything back as original and did a reboot but then could not get anything from a ping except "Network Not Reachable" so something else got hosed or over written in the process of changing things.

A simple reload plus a "Manual" config in the Network Manger fixed everything. I don't remember having the "Manual" option available in other distros using KDE. I'm going to assume the Mint version of KDE is more solid in this area than I've seen in other verions.

Thanks for everyone's support.