Xfce 13

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
big_dog1968
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Xfce 13

Post by big_dog1968 »

I just installed on my laptop. When it boots, I get "failed to start x-server" "may not be set up properly"

What do I do to get it to start? Thanks.

jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 602
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Xfce 13

Post by jjaythomas »

please give more info...
what video card/onboard chip set?
If you got installed you must have ran the liveCD first... Right?

I believe the LiveCD will default to using 'failsafe video' if doesn't find corect video driver.

Maybe...
You probally need to boot (from Grub menu) into failsafe vido mode. From there install video driver settings>additional drivers. Then reboot.

J.Jay
P.S. not allways but hitting 'esc' key while booting gets to grub (unless you have multiple OS installeded like MSWindows where usually shows), if doesn't show.

big_dog1968
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Xfce 13

Post by big_dog1968 »

It is an HP Pavllion DV1000
It has on board video. Broadcom wifi.
System info yields:
OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name HP-LAPTOP
System Manufacturer Hewlett-Packard
System Model HP Pavilion dv1000 (EH443UA#ABA)
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 13 Stepping 8 GenuineIntel ~1496 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date Hewlett-Packard F.12, 9/12/2005
SMBIOS Version 2.31
User Name HP-LAPTOP\Robert Alvarez
Time Zone Eastern Daylight Time
Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB

It has a BC43XX wifi

jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 602
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Xfce 13

Post by jjaythomas »

onboard video... any idea the chips/make?
do you dual boot with Windows? Ifso your using the "Grub menu' to pick what OS to boot? Then
Do you have a option of failsafe (sometimes refered to as vesa or recovery mode)?

J.Jay

big_dog1968
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Xfce 13

Post by big_dog1968 »

jay,
I decided to try and reisntall fresh again. I remember the installer had crashed twice before finally working. I didn't think that should have had a bearing on my problem, but when I booted the live dvd again and dd a new install, this time not only were there no crashes, but the resulting installation has worked flawlessly. Thanks for your help. :D

jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 602
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Xfce 13

Post by jjaythomas »

You solved it...

I was on wrong tract :roll:

J.Jay

Post Reply

Return to “Xfce”