Can't change background image since update

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
vger7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Third Stone From The Sun

Can't change background image since update

Post by vger7 »

I did a big update today which included a bunch of xfce files.

My backgound is now the xfce mouse.

When I try to change the image using 'desktop settings',
all my image files are greyed out so I can't select any of them.

I can't change it through Thunar either.

I'm running Maya XFCE.

Kwisatz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 5:20 pm
Location: Brno, Czech Republic

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by Kwisatz »

I'am experiencing the same issue, but for quite some time now, 2 weeks perhaps. I had Maya XFCE as well, but I dist-upgraded to Olivia. Now I'am waiting for Petra, which hopefully fixes the problem, but this is not very difficult to live with, I almost didn't see desktop for all the open windows.

User avatar
gold_finger
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by gold_finger »

Have had this happen before also and fix was simple.

Are you on a laptop? A desktop with more than one monitor?

If laptop:
  • * Go to Menu > Settings > Display
    * If capable of attaching external monitor, I've seen laptops try to "Use this output" even when it is not connected. Look in Display settings to make sure this is not happening -- uncheck if trying to use unconnected monitor.
    * If external monitor IS connected, make sure shows up here and settings are correct; then
    * Go to Menu > Settings > Desktop
    * Click tabs for both Monitors and make sure settings for each don't conflict with each other.
If desktop:
  • * Do last two steps noted above.
Hopefully this helps.
Please add [SOLVED] to your thread if a solution is found. Go to your first post in the thread, hit "Edit" button and add [SOLVED] to the title of the post.

How To Format Your Forum Posts.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.

Kwisatz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 5:20 pm
Location: Brno, Czech Republic

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by Kwisatz »

I fixed this a few minutes ago with settings manager, channel xfce-desktop and setting the desired wallpaper there. I have found one more monitor there which is weird, because I have desktop with only one monitor.

User avatar
gold_finger
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by gold_finger »

Kwisatz wrote:I have found one more monitor there which is weird, because I have desktop with only one monitor.
Strange indeed! I've seen that happen on a couple of laptops before, but not on a desktop.
Please add [SOLVED] to your thread if a solution is found. Go to your first post in the thread, hit "Edit" button and add [SOLVED] to the title of the post.

How To Format Your Forum Posts.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.

vger7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Third Stone From The Sun

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by vger7 »

When you live on the edge, sometimes you get cut.
Thankfully this is only a slight nick.

I have synaptic set to use a ppa for the pre-release xfce stuff.
It's been good up to now.

After some digging I think I've found the problem.
It seems in the files from Oct. 5th caused the problem.
I believe it is related to this bug:

https://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10380
(see comment #3)

There is a patch but I can't figure out how to apply it.

Anyway hopefully it will get fixed soon.

BTW, it is on my laptop and the screen is selected correctly.

User avatar
gold_finger
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by gold_finger »

vger7 wrote:After some digging I think I've found the problem.
It seems in the files from Oct. 5th caused the problem.
I believe it is related to this bug:

https://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10380
(see comment #3)

There is a patch but I can't figure out how to apply it.
Yup! Looks like you found the problem.

Did you download the patch linked to in comment #12 on that bug report and try it? If you have Virtualbox, maybe you could re-create your set-up in that, then try messing with the tar package to see if it works before you chance it on the real thing.
Please add [SOLVED] to your thread if a solution is found. Go to your first post in the thread, hit "Edit" button and add [SOLVED] to the title of the post.

How To Format Your Forum Posts.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.

vger7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Third Stone From The Sun

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by vger7 »

just an update...

I Downloaded the maya iso.,
Made 2 coasters with xfburn and brasaro, (Maybe dirty lens)
Switched to a flash drive,
Got it installed in Virtualbox,
Downloaded and installed 674 updates,
Uninstalled and reinstalled firefox,
Added ppa,
And 3+ hours later I'm back to where my main system is.

But I'm worn out now.
I'll try to adding the patch later today if I can, and see what problems await me there.
I let you know how it goes.

Thanks again for tip gold_finger.

User avatar
gold_finger
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by gold_finger »

Good luck! Good to here you were able to duplicate problem in Vbox -- if patch works there you'll have your solution.
Please add [SOLVED] to your thread if a solution is found. Go to your first post in the thread, hit "Edit" button and add [SOLVED] to the title of the post.

How To Format Your Forum Posts.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.

jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 602
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by jjaythomas »

I fixed this a few minutes ago with settings manager, channel xfce-desktop and setting the desired wallpaper there. I have found one more monitor there which is weird, because I have desktop with only one monitor.
I found some (exspecially the 'all-in-ones) desktops ar acually using laptop style motherboards and the display is acually going thru a AUX/HDMI/display port. so shows up 2 active displays (the laptop internal dispay thou physically not their) and the monitor. Sorta like you can (I have a testing laptop with lid/LCD removed) can still use a 2nd monitor, but the internal still shows (even if removed/broken). :shock:

J.Jay

P.S. you can get great laptop for a song because the owner broke the screen/LCD. Make great desktops with 2nd monitor USB mouse and keyboard :wink:

vger7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Third Stone From The Sun

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by vger7 »

Sorry for the late response here but I only have a few hours of free time on weekends.

I hammered at it last weekend with no success.
First initool was too old and needed updating which I did and it brought a bunch of packages with it.
Then I needed xfce dev tools, DBUS binding tools, GTK dev tools, and more stuff that I can't recall.

I worked again yesterday on it and am now stuck on exo-1, but I do have everything including the dev tools.

Here is the last error message:
*** The required package exo-1 was not found on your system.
*** Please install exo-1 (atleast version 0.7.0) or adjust
*** the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
*** installed the package in a nonstandard prefix so that
*** pkg-config is able to find it.

so maybe the path is wrong.

I tried one more time and deleted the patch I had downloaded and got the latest .tar.bz2
released 11/01/2013 that has the fix in it. Nope, same problem.

After numerous downloads and 8-10 hours spent over 3 weeks I give up.
I even applied the 4.12 ppa's to a Mint 15 install in VBox on my wife's desktop
this morning just for laughs and it now has the same problem.

I have spend too much time just to fix and annoyance, not a show stopper.

So my advice is to not use the 4.12 ppa's.
Just wait until 4.12 is released. (It's way overdue)

vger7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Third Stone From The Sun

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by vger7 »

Just an update here incase anyone is following this thread...

(if you have not read the above and jumped to here, be aware that this
only applies to those who have added the 4.12 ppa. If not, your ok)

Yesterday 'xfdektop4' and 'xfdesktop-4 data' were available to the 4.12 ppa users.
This did not fix the problem completely... the file names are still greyed out.
But i found the workaround and it's easly and it works.

I'll wait until I have time to give detailled instructions on how to do this.
Sorry, but that moment is not now, next weekend for sure.

Also please be aware that the 4.12 ppa will mess up 'suspend'.
Actually the machine will suspend... you just can't wake it up.

I hope this will help.

User avatar
MtnDewManiac
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:18 pm
Location: United States

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by MtnDewManiac »

vger7 wrote:only applies to those who have added the 4.12 ppa.
I have that.
vger7 wrote:Yesterday 'xfdektop4' and 'xfdesktop-4 data' were available to the 4.12 ppa users.
Yep.
vger7 wrote:This did not fix the problem completely... the file names are still greyed out.
Odd. Things are working fine here. Right-click on the desktop, select Desktop Settings, click on one of the small images and my desktop's background changes instantly. And the "pick a random image from the set I told XFCE to choose a background image from every couple minutes" thing is still working like a charm, changing my background image regularly for me. Seems like when I right-click on the desktop and select Desktop Settings, the small images populate/display much quicker than they were doing when I initially installed the distro, too, although I could be misremembering.

I do seem to remember that a while back (not a few days ago when we only got those two (XFCE) updates, but a couple weeks or so(?) ), after the update process I also ended up with that mouse mascot image. But I just blinked, scratched my head, and did the normal steps to change my background.

Speaking of the 4.12 PPA, you did add the 4.10 one first like we are instructed to do, right?

One thought: Have you tried changing the folder (in the drop-down list) from Desktop Backgrounds or wherever it is defaulting to on your system to a different directory, one that you know holds at least one image that could be used for a desktop background, and then trying to pick that image when it appears? And, if that works, then trying to change the folder to the directory that actually holds the images you're wanting to use for desktop backgrounds? Perhaps your system somehow got "confused" either during the update process or (coincidentally) for another reason, and just needs to be beaten into submission I mean re-shown where the images are? I haven't seen that with this, specifically, but I have experienced not being able to choose something that I knew for a fact was there (file dialog box, probably) and tried switching directories and then switching back (which worked for me at the time). My guess is that if you can get it to accept ANY image, you'll then be able to switch back to the directory you wish because things will be cleared at that point, so to speak.

Regards,
MDM

PS BtW, I haven't checked the suspend function (afraid to AtM, lol, have to wait until there's nothing running just in case). You have me somewhat concerned now :shock: .




Regards,
MDM
Mint 18 Xfce 4.12.

If guns kill people, then pencils misspell words, cars make people drive drunk, and spoons made Rosie O'Donnell fat.

vger7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Third Stone From The Sun

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by vger7 »

Thanks MDM for your response. I'm glad it works for you.
It definatly has to do with the directoy path.

This is what I had to do to fix it:
NOTE: These instructions are for ppa 4.12 users only.

Go to Menu-Settings-Setting Editor
Click on xfce4-desktop
Edit the line that is highlighted in the image below to the path/filename that you want to use.
[rimg]http://i41.tinypic.com/2u4o3ea.jpg[/rimg]

The image will be applied to the background immediately. (If it turns grey you made a typo)
Also what this does it makes all the images in this folder available to be used.
You can put your images there.
But you cannot choose another folder thru the gui.
See image below... this is what the desktop settings window looks like with the 4.12 ppa:
[rimg]http://i40.tinypic.com/1zftzr7.jpg[/rimg]

Notice the option to change folders... but good luck with that.
Whatever folder you navigate to, the images are greyed-out,
even the images in the folder selected in the Setting Editor are greyed-out
see this image:
[rimg]http://i44.tinypic.com/122dehk.jpg[/rimg]
This is not correct behavior.

MDM, did you try changing the backround thru Thunar?
The option is there, but doesn't work.
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Sorry it took so long to get this posted.
Hopefully this will help someone.
Thanks for your patience, and remember...
If you live on the bleeding edge, sometimes you get cut... or at least nicked.

vger7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Third Stone From The Sun

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by vger7 »

The tumbs in my above post are behaving strangely.
Sorry, I'll use another image host next time.

User avatar
gold_finger
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by gold_finger »

Don't know why settings changes not working with GUI, but you could probably have access to pictures in both directories by creating a sym-link between the two using the terminal.

If you've set /usr/share/backgrounds as the one you're defaulting to that holds your pictures and want access as well to the original Mint background pictures in /usr/share/xfce4/backdrops then:

Code: Select all

sudo ln -s /usr/share/xfce4/backdrops/* /usr/share/backgrounds
Or do the reverse if you have /usr/share/xfce4/backdrops set as default right now. Pictures in both locations should all now show up as a choice in the GUI.
Please add [SOLVED] to your thread if a solution is found. Go to your first post in the thread, hit "Edit" button and add [SOLVED] to the title of the post.

How To Format Your Forum Posts.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.

vger7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Third Stone From The Sun

Re: Can't change background image since update

Post by vger7 »

Thanks for the tip

Post Reply

Return to “Xfce”