Working with thunar in other disk it stops

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Pelzian
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:42 am

Working with thunar in other disk it stops

Postby Pelzian » Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:56 am

Hi there,
I have a problem with Thunar. In my system there are two version of Linux (Linux Mint and Debian with Xfce4). These two version are in different disks and sometime I need to work with one of them, but when I try to work deeply in Debian I notice that Thunar stops to work. I can't understand why, because I find everything right, disk is mounted and I don't get any error.
Does anybody give an help?

Thanks

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3497
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Working with thunar in other disk it stops

Postby catweazel » Sat Sep 02, 2017 6:02 am

Are you talking about LMDE (debian) or some other distro?
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.

Pelzian
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:42 am

Re: Working with thunar in other disk it stops

Postby Pelzian » Sat Sep 02, 2017 11:32 am

catweazel wrote:Are you talking about LMDE (debian) or some other distro?

Hi, in Debian I am using XFCE4 and in Mint 18 XFCE

User avatar
MrEen
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Working with thunar in other disk it stops

Postby MrEen » Sat Sep 02, 2017 11:41 am

Not understanding what is meant by "stops to work" I'll take a stab and offer this:

In the Thunar menu, click View > Show Hidden Files

Pelzian
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:42 am

Re: Working with thunar in other disk it stops

Postby Pelzian » Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:07 pm

MrEen wrote:Not understanding what is meant by "stops to work"

Well, I mean that when I try to search deep in the position where is stored the second OS (Debian XFCE installed in other disk) if I search some files, for instance in a
Home--->Photos--->cities--->place---> and then I try to click on the file called "magellano.png" thunar in that moment doesn't work. It stops. Therefore I have to close it and then reopen again. Sometime it works in this way but many other not.
I hope you can understand what I mean.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Working with thunar in other disk it stops

Postby MrEen » Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:40 pm

I think I understand what you are experiencing now, but I have no idea why.

Hopefully that is enough information for someone with more knowledge than myself to offer assistance.

Good luck.

User avatar
MtnDewManiac
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1249
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:18 pm
Location: United States

Re: Working with thunar in other disk it stops

Postby MtnDewManiac » Sat Sep 02, 2017 3:24 pm

Since you're dealing with two different distros, you might want to ask this question on https://forum.xfce.org/ . Especially since at least one member (T0Z) has been known to delve into the source code and, once, even install an additional distro just to help someone with their issue.

Don't get me wrong, there are lots of helpful people here, too :P . But Thunar has been having some... issues in recent versions, and the member I mentioned - I think - knows about patches and nightly(?) git builds and the like, so he may be able to recall an applicable bug in whatever version it is that you're running.

Regards,
MDM
Mint 18 Xfce 4.12.

If guns kill people, then pencils misspell words, cars make people drive drunk, and spoons made Rosie O'Donnell fat.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3497
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Working with thunar in other disk it stops

Postby catweazel » Sat Sep 02, 2017 6:59 pm

Pelzian wrote:
catweazel wrote:Are you talking about LMDE (debian) or some other distro?

Hi, in Debian I am using XFCE4 and in Mint 18 XFCE

Ok, well, it's got nothing to do with Mint if it's happening in Debian.
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.

Pelzian
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:42 am

Re: Working with thunar in other disk it stops

Postby Pelzian » Sun Sep 03, 2017 4:38 am

catweazel wrote:...Ok, well, it's got nothing to do with Mint if it's happening in Debian.

No, this happen when I am using Thunar in Mint and not in Debian. Maybe the question is shared between Thunar and Mint, just I try to suppose. But I will write to XFCE forum for more explanation.

Thanks


Return to “XFCE”