XFCE compositors

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
mr_raider
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1317
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

XFCE compositors

Postby mr_raider » Sat Sep 09, 2017 10:14 am

Does anyone know what the options xfwm4+compositing and xfwm4+compton do? I guess they are both compositors vs xfwm4 alone which is no compositor. I know compiz from old ubuntu days.

FWIW I'm using and AMD CPU/APU and I run full screen apps like kodi and games so I don't need the compositor interfering.
Image

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 21643
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: XFCE compositors

Postby xenopeek » Sat Sep 09, 2017 3:34 pm

xfwm4+compositing enables Xfwm's own compositing. It may cause issues with video tearing.

Compton is a standalone lightweight compositor that you can use with different window managers.
Image

User avatar
richyrich
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8677
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: XFCE compositors

Postby richyrich » Sat Sep 09, 2017 3:49 pm

xfwm4 + compositing uses the Window Manager Tweaks program (others do not), where you can still use the other tweaks available, and turn off compositing in the Compositor tab.

mr_raider
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1317
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: XFCE compositors

Postby mr_raider » Sat Sep 09, 2017 6:28 pm

Is their anyway to suspend the compositor? For games and such?

KDE had alt shift f12
Image

User avatar
richyrich
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8677
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: XFCE compositors

Postby richyrich » Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:26 pm

The only easy way that I know is the single checkbox in Window Manager Tweaks.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 21643
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: XFCE compositors

Postby xenopeek » Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:14 am

mr_raider wrote:Is their anyway to suspend the compositor? For games and such?

KDE had alt shift f12

Do you still need to do that? I thought compositors were smart and disabled themselves when a program went fullscreen.
Image

mr_raider
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1317
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: XFCE compositors

Postby mr_raider » Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:03 am

xenopeek wrote:
mr_raider wrote:Is their anyway to suspend the compositor? For games and such?

KDE had alt shift f12

Do you still need to do that? I thought compositors were smart and disabled themselves when a program went fullscreen.


Thats explicitly stated in KDE, with a disable in fullscreen option. I can't find the option in XFCE.
Image

User avatar
richyrich
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8677
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: XFCE compositors

Postby richyrich » Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:02 am

In the Window Manager Tweaks, have you tested the Compositor setting "Display full screen overlay windows directly" ?

mr_raider
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1317
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: XFCE compositors

Postby mr_raider » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:11 am

richyrich wrote:In the Window Manager Tweaks, have you tested the Compositor setting "Display full screen overlay windows directly" ?


Aha. That's an obscure option but looks like it's right.

Does Compton have a similar option?
Image

User avatar
richyrich
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8677
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: XFCE compositors

Postby richyrich » Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:47 am

AFAIK , Compton does not have a GUI (have you googled for Compton settings?). Window Manager Tweaks is only for the Xfce Compositor.

mr_raider
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1317
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: XFCE compositors

Postby mr_raider » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:15 pm

richyrich wrote:AFAIK , Compton does not have a GUI (have you googled for Compton settings?). Window Manager Tweaks is only for the Xfce Compositor.


I found a package called compton-conf in the Ubuntu repo that seems to be able to modify some settings. Unfortunately you need to log out and in to make changes take effect. Still seems like a WIP.

Sticking to xfwm4 for now. Seems to do the job OK.
Image


Return to “XFCE”