18.1 XFCE Lost Panel Separator

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
oldgaz

18.1 XFCE Lost Panel Separator

Post by oldgaz »

I recently loaded Mint 18.1 XFCE onto a (newbie - window convert) mate's PC. He now says that the icons on the Panel (task bar?) are all at the left hand end. As he lives far away I have been using Team Viewer to help him with his issues. I cannot right click anywhere on the Panel and get the Separator window/menu. I feel that he might have accidently accessed the Separator menu and clicked Delete.
This being the case, how might I restore it? I have been using Linux for many years and feel confident using the Terminal but I am probably in the category of "a little knowledge is dangerous!". Does anyone have an easy to follow solution?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
shengchieh

Re: 18.1 XFCE Lost Panel Separator

Post by shengchieh »

I would do a fresh install if you want to use XFCE. Overlaying desktops can be problematic.

Sheng-Chieh
trytip
Level 14
Level 14

Post by trytip »

hard to tell which panel you have, but if you willing to try you may boot into MATE session and rename .config/xfce4/panel folder to .config/xfce4/panelOLD then logOFF/ON XFCE this will bring panel defaults ... if things go bad undo (delete the new panel folder and rename from OLD
oldgaz

Post by oldgaz »