Black Desktop - No Icons; Linux Mint 17.3 xfce [SOLVED]

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Z_L
Level 1
Level 1

Black Desktop - No Icons; Linux Mint 17.3 xfce [SOLVED]

Post by Z_L »

Linux Mint 17.3 xfce is running in a small 20GB partition (dual boot) on Dell Inspiron 1501 laptop, and I like it. It was working fine for a while, but then could not resume sessions from stand by mode. The HDD gave periodic 'sick' noises and nothing worked until restarting. To fix the problem followed these instructions:

https://tutorialforlinux.com/2015/12/11 ... asy-guide/

Now the session is resumed after standby, but the desktop is black without any icons. When I try to change wallpapers, it does not work. I am not a Linux expert, so in the past I just used to reinstall the partition when such problems appeared, but it would be nice to fix the problem or installation without spending that much time and effort.

Can anyone suggest how to fix this problem?

Thanks.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
kc1di
Level 18
Level 18

Re: Black Desktop - No Icons; Linux Mint 17.3 xfce

Post by kc1di »

There could be many reasons for this.
Lets start with an overview of your system that may shed some light on the problem.
please go to a terminal and type this command and post the output here (please use code tags to enclose the output when posting)

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Easy tips : https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.com/ Pjotr's Great Linux projects page.
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608
Z_L
Level 1
Level 1

Post by Z_L »

Thanks for taking a look at this thing. :) Here is the output:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: my-PC Kernel: 4.4.0-112-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.8.4)