Page 1 of 1

Switching between work spaces

Posted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 7:19 am
by robgoss
Hello everyone, I was hoping someone could help me out this this question. I know you can switch between work spaces but it does not seem to be working with the latest version of Linux mint 19.2 am I missing something

Thanks so much guys

Re: Switching between work spaces

Posted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 7:47 am
by secureIT
Hi robgoss ,

Right click on free position of panel and :
Panel >add > workspace switcher
Then right click on Workspace switcher and choose >properties
In the next window you can adjust the number of workspaces.
Switching by click on the workspace fields of the workspace switcher.

Re: Switching between work spaces

Posted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:08 am
by Flemur
You can also set a keyboard shortcut to switch workspaces. (IIRC, it used to be set by default but now it's not).

Re: Switching between work spaces

Posted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:23 am
by robgoss
Sorry if I'm not making my question clear, I have attaching a screen shot of what I'm trying to do. I think it's probably called something else

I was under the impression it was some kind of windows switching

Thanks so much

Re: Switching between work spaces

Posted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 11:04 am
by Hoser Rob
That looks like Cinnamon Expo view, I haven't had Cinnamon installed for a while so I don't know if it's still built in or an applet you'd have to install nowadays. It's not available on other Mint DEs AFAIK.

Re: Switching between work spaces

Posted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 2:06 pm
by robgoss
Hoser Rob wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 11:04 am
That looks like Cinnamon Expo view, I haven't had Cinnamon installed for a while so I don't know if it's still built in or an applet you'd have to install nowadays. It's not available on other Mint DEs AFAIK.
Aw OK I was wondering what was wrong thanks so much for your help

Re: Switching between work spaces

Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:40 am
by MtnDewManiac
Flemur wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:08 am
You can also set a keyboard shortcut to switch workspaces. (IIRC, it used to be set by default but now it's not).
Pressing CTRL F1 , CTRL F2, et cetera is no longer enabled by default to switch among the various workspaces? I'm looking at upgrading my other installation (Mint 19 or 19.1) if/when I figure out how to copy(?) the printer configuration that I finally managed to get working. "Little changes" that aren't documented are often a problem for me. I have what, decades ago, in children would probably have been called a learning disability - although in my case, it stems from having a truck hit my car head-on when we were both traveling at approximately 50 miles per hour back in 1989. It might have something to do with cognitive function, I don't know. Learning new things is sometimes difficult, but "unlearning them" and replacing them with a different new thing seems to always be a tough hurdle.

Regards,
MDM