Mint 8 Xfce - BUG ? Won't mount cd's.

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9059
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Mint 8 Xfce - BUG ? Won't mount cd's.

Post by richyrich »

Came across this post : here , and since I had just done a fresh install of Mint 8 Xfce, checked it out on my machine. SAME BUG ! :(
Any type of disk inserted, is NOT getting mounted.

saquerocl
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:01 pm

Re: Mint 8 Xfce - BUG ? Won't mount cd's.

Post by saquerocl »

I can't remember where, but I've see something like your problem. What I remember is solution involves /etc/fstab file.

Maybe this link can help you: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Fstab

Here is my fstab, just in case:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid -o value -s UUID' to print the universally unique identifier
# for a device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name
# devices that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# / was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=c105cdce-299b-4972-83a7-540d75acfb8c / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /home was on /dev/sda6 during installation
UUID=a28726f9-83ea-482c-8ff9-aa791f693762 /home ext4 defaults 0 2
# swap was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=fd6eb774-043b-4203-a797-a91f666989fa none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0

User avatar
vrkalak
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4408
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Mint 8 Xfce - BUG ? Won't mount cd's.

Post by vrkalak »

Unfortunately, the Xfce desktop doesn't mount anything by default.

Doesn't mount internal drives/partitions or USB or some CDs and DVDs.

I'd recommend you search the Ubuntu Forums or the Xfce Forums for the How-to on mounting in xfce.

Ubuntu Forums >> http://ubuntuforums.org
Xfce Forum >> http://forum.xfce.org/
Xfce Wiki pages >> http://wiki.xfce.org/

Both forums are very helpful.

What I did, as a work-around, in Mint-8 Xfce and Xubuntu 10.04 ... is install PCManFM as my file manager. Available in the Synaptic manager.
Open PCManFM as 'root' ... and mount all drives, USB and disks through there. Easy. Done.
Image
:: Debian-Sid (Xfce/Fluxbox) :: LinuxMint-18 (LTS) LXDE w/Openbox ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: My DeviantART Page

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2419
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Mint 8 Xfce - BUG ? Won't mount cd's.

Post by merlwiz79 »

It should mount the internal CDrom drive and external drives.
You can use Disk Utility to mount any other drives.
Image

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9059
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Mint 8 Xfce - BUG ? Won't mount cd's.

Post by richyrich »

Unfortunately, the Xfce desktop doesn't mount anything by default.
You are right . . so why have this installed "by default" . . ?
Screenshot-2.png
Screenshot-2.png (66.46 KiB) Viewed 1634 times
Screenshot-3.png
Screenshot-3.png (57.67 KiB) Viewed 1634 times

User avatar
vrkalak
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4408
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Mint 8 Xfce - BUG ? Won't mount cd's.

Post by vrkalak »

I am an Xfce desktop fanatic.

On my PC I presently, have 4 OS's installed.

LinuxMint-8 Xfce CE
Xubuntu Lucid 10.04 Beta2
Crunchbang-10 Xfce
and my self-built ... Debian Squeeze - Xfce

I use Xfce on my Debian Squeeze more than the others.
I like Debian 'testing' because it's very up-to-date but doesn't suffer from the stability issues you get with "desktop" distros like Ubuntu.

It's becoming obvious, that I don't use the Mint version of Xfce enough. :oops:

@richyrich: Thanks for setting me straight.
Image
:: Debian-Sid (Xfce/Fluxbox) :: LinuxMint-18 (LTS) LXDE w/Openbox ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: My DeviantART Page

Post Reply

Return to “Xfce”