Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Post by jbaerbock »

So I am using Main Edition and Gnome seems to not like me because it always seems laggy instead of snappy. I've been waiting for the XFCE Daryna to come out but since it is delayed any way I could install the Beta and be safe upgrading to the final once it comes out? Would it be safe to do?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Post by Husse »

There are some issues with this beta that the developer still has not solved. There is a totally unexpected memory leak in Firefox and few other things
Maybe, but just maybe, this makes upgrading hard
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Re: Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Post by jbaerbock »

Ok thanks for the advice.

rootkowski
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Wirral, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Post by rootkowski »

Husse wrote:There are some issues with this beta that the developer still has not solved. There is a totally unexpected memory leak in Firefox and few other things
Maybe, but just maybe, this makes upgrading hard
After some problems on my laptop (if you're interested: http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 66&p=55563) I decided to install XFCE. I did it through Synaptic. Sessions work fine etc but Firefox just doesn't. The system goes completely nuts! So I installed Opera and everything works great (except for thunar hanging when I try to open ntfs partitions and use the drop down menu). So maybe it's not a bug in mint XFCE edition but either in FF or in xfce itself (since i have daryna gnome just with additional xfce packages)?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Can I upgrade from Daryna XFCE CE Beta to Final?

Post by Husse »

Thanks rootkowski
This is a valuable input. We for sure saw FF eating resources and that this is the case in your config limits the scope somewhat
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Post Reply

Return to “Xfce”