Linux & Mint compatible web cam for recording music videos?

Chat about just about anything else
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 30 days after creation.
frodopogo

Linux & Mint compatible web cam for recording music videos?

Post by frodopogo »

I am running Linux Mint Isadora, but will probably upgrade to some flavor of May soon.

My question is this:

I am a musician, and want to make music videos.

Is there software available for Linux Mint/Ubuntu that would allow me to use a webcam and a USB recording interface for making music videos?
Does "video capture" software do this, including sound recording?
Or is there some way of splicing a sound recording done at the same time into a video?

If so, which webcam should I buy, including both best resolution and what I guess used to be called "frame rate" (jerky video won't cut it!), and WHICH one is (or ones are) the most Linux Mint compatible. I am presuming that Maya will give me a higher likelihood of compatibility.

Note, I don't have an iphone or Android phone, yeah I know they do video pretty well, but I'd have a hard time affording the phone itself, let alone the higher monthly service costs.

Or is there some other flavor of Linux that would be better for this than Linux Mint???
Ubuntu Studio???

If there is some other forum I should be posting this in, please let me know.
But hardware is definitely a factor- I don't want to buy a camera and then find out it's not compatible with Linux or Linux Mint!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 07, 2022 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 30 days after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
homerscousin

Re: Linux & Mint compatible web cam for recording music vid

Post by homerscousin »