Acronis True Image

Chat about just about anything else
AllanPen
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:33 pm
Location: Nanoose Bay, B.C., Canada

Acronis True Image

Postby AllanPen » Sun Jun 15, 2014 5:45 pm

I can't get Acronis True Image in Windows 8.1 to backup a Mint 17 Mate Image. It worked with 16 and prior. I get the same results on my laptop and PC. I wonder if anyone else here has that problem.

Thanks, Allan
Last edited by karlchen on Mon Jun 16, 2014 5:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: "Acronis True Image on Windows 8.1", this is not really a Linux Mint topc, but a Windows topic => moved to "Open Chat"

User avatar
karlchen
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6571
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am

Re: Acronis True Image

Postby karlchen » Mon Jun 16, 2014 5:37 am

Hello, Allan.

I cannot tell you why Acronis on Windows 8.1 was able to do an image backup of your Mint 16 partition and why it refuses to do an image backup of your Mint 17 partition.
I use Windows 7, not 8.1. I do not use Acronis at all.
But I do use Mint 16 and Mint 17. So I can assure you both use ext4 disk partitions by default, unless you instructed them to do something different. So from a formal point of view a Mint 16 partition and a Mint 17 partition must look absolutely identical to Windows 8.1. It does not understand either of the 2 without resorting to third party driver software.
No idea why Acronis recognized your Mint 16 partition, but does not recognize your Mint 17 partition.

Guess you may have to wait for some Linux Mint user who uses Windows plus Acronis to offer his help ...

Kind regards,
Karl
Image

User avatar
MartyMint
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 879
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:50 pm

Re: Acronis True Image

Postby MartyMint » Mon Jun 16, 2014 5:37 pm

You can always use the Acronis Recsue Disk to make and restore your backups outside of the OS.

I've been doing that for over 8 years.

User avatar
Cobber
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 5:15 am
Location: Australia

Re: Acronis True Image

Postby Cobber » Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:31 pm

MartyMint wrote:You can always use the Acronis Recsue Disc to make and restore your backups outside of the OS.


I agree. I never run Acronis from within Windows. Create a rescue disc, with the Full Acronis Version on it and boot your computer from that disc.

You will be able to see ALL your partitions, including hidden system ones and Linux (including Swap).

The drive letters won't match though, so you need to ensure your partitions have a volume label (description) first, so you know which ones are which.
PC: Mint 17.3, 64-Bit KDE - Dual boot Mint / Windows7 Professional
Laptop: PCLinuxOS, 64-Bit KDE (No systemd!) - Dual boot PCLOS / Windows7 Home Premium

Image PC Rights Take back control of your data.

AllanPen
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:33 pm
Location: Nanoose Bay, B.C., Canada

Re: Acronis True Image

Postby AllanPen » Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:23 pm

Use the rescue cd, hmm never thought of that; thanks guys


Return to “Open chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests