your opininons about pirated/illegally downloaded material

Chat about just about anything else
yigit
Level 1
Level 1

your opininons about pirated/illegally downloaded material

Post by yigit » Mon Sep 29, 2014 11:08 am

before i migrated to Linux, i can say that i have lived an enlightenment and i ... i have erased all my pirated/illegally downloaded mp 3 files which amounts over 700 GB and all movies downloaded from torrent... and installed Linux mint 17... now i have been using Linux mint 17 nearly 4 months and for 4 months, i have no pirated material on my hard drive...now i am listening to radio, and it is odd but i feel more " quietude"
Linux Mint 17.1 KDE 32 Bit / KDE 4.14.2 / Kernel: 3.13.0-37-generic

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13

Re: your opininons about pirated/illegally downloaded materi

Post by Habitual » Mon Sep 29, 2014 11:21 am

I commend your character.

DrHu
Level 17
Level 17

Post by DrHu » Mon Sep 29, 2014 1:35 pm

Opinion: it is wrong to do so (use pirated or hacked games or other products); as it deprives the artists of revenues
--even if it is mostly the companies that benefit

Knowing its is wrong, or perhaps believing it is somehow OK, doesn't stop anyone from doing so
--I understand in the share all/connect all/social site/advertising world we all inhabit: the idea of of private data seems somehow anathema to those who just want to get it NOW..

WrathOfFire
Level 1
Level 1

Post by WrathOfFire » Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:52 am

I'm not saying that piracy is a good thing, but most pirates probably weren't going to buy whatever they illegally downloaded anyways.

Pierre
Level 19
Level 19

Post by Pierre » Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:49 am

it's a major issue in this country:
- there is a thing colloquially called "Australia Tax"

- where foreign companies charge,
what is significantly more for the same product,
- that is sold in either the US / CA market

prompting the end consumer - to get that product "by other means".