Will Firefox Become Chrome 2.0?

Chat about just about anything else
KBD47
Level 7
Level 7

Will Firefox Become Chrome 2.0?

Post by KBD47 » Mon Aug 24, 2015 4:20 pm

Curious what you guys think about this. My feeling is Firefox should get over its Chrome envy and do its own thing. Firefox is turning add-on developers against them, which seems a very bad idea
http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/new ... hrome-copy

xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Will Firefox Become Chrome 2.0?

Post by xenopeek » Mon Aug 24, 2015 5:32 pm

Here is the announcement from Mozilla itself: https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2015/08 ... x-add-ons/

I'm not an extension developer but it reads like something I want. Better protection against malware, shorter time to review extensions, faster browser (multi process), and easier for developers to port their extensions between browsers (the new extensions API is close to Blink used by Chrome / Opera / Vivaldi).

Signed extensions: Firefox 41, due in 4 weeks, will not run unsigned extensions unless you toggle an option. Firefox 42, due in 10 weeks, won't run unsigned extensions at all. Taking a look at my extensions, all but one are already signed. But then extensions signing was introduced back in February this year so not really a surprise most work on this is probably already done.

New extensions API: The new extensions API won't be in Firefox till Firefox 43, due in 4 months. For 6 months after than date (10 months from today) there will be wrappers and shims to enable extensions that haven't migrated to the new extensions API yet to continue to work. Today 1 in 5 extensions are already working with the new extensions API or can be shimmed: http://arewee10syet.com/. Yes Adblock Plus isn't compatible, but uBlock Origin is. As if I needed another reason to use uBlock Origin :lol: