Google is playing God

Chat about just about anything else
powerhouse
Level 6
Level 6

Google is playing God

Post by powerhouse »

A couple of days ago I noticed a very disturbing news story: Google had banned people from Google accounts because they violated some Google purchase terms for Pixel phones. I couldn't believe what I read! Here is the source: http://www.dansdeals.com/archives/98444

Now, those people may or may not have violated the purchase terms of Google Pixel phones, but what the heck has that to do with banning those people from their email accounts, cloud storage, etc., etc.?

Without prior warning, those people lost access to their mail with no ability to retrieve vital mails or information.

I am no lawyer, but I sincerely hope that these very people file a class action suit against Google for misappropriation of personal data and proprietary information, as well as for all the damages they had to incur as a result of Google's inappropriate action.

This act of Google raises some important questions:

Who is the owner of emails (both emails received and sent)?

Does a service provider have the right to ban people from accessing their data (email, cloud storage, etc.) without a legal warrant issued by a duly appointed judge?

By banning users from accessing their own data, did Google commit a crime?

Even if the victims of "Google playing God" are not going to court, a state prosecutor should look into this. Google, in the meantime, could fire the responsible executive as well as legal council who approved this action, revert the action taken, and distance itself from this act by publicly denouncing the act and those behind it.

If things like that can happen without consequences for the perpetrators, we are in big trouble. I hope Google and its employees are sensitive enough to realize the damage they have done and make sure such a thing never happens again.