Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Chat about just about anything else
tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

battlenut

thank you for the advice. I will stick with what I have.

Best regards Keith

tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

Hi all,

I have managed to go over 1,000,000 points per day for two days running. I never thought that this GTX 1070 ftw would ever manage that very high score.

Long may it continue

Best regards Keith

ajgringo619
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1695
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

Welcome to #89, everyone!
Mint 19.3 XFCE
kernel 5.4.0-40-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290/390 w/4GB RAM
Image

tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

ajgringo619,

that seemed to take a long time coming. Still onwards and upwards.

The team is holding well together and if we stay that way we will still make steadily upwards progress.

Best regards keith

User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

PPD drops back a little over 100,000 for me not sure why.

tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

battlenut,
I have been getting more and more 0x21 units over the past few days, and that drops my points immediately.

Best regards Keith

User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

Yeah, apparently my kryptonite is the 0x22 units.

tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

Hi all,

I have just noticed that our folding team now has 19 contributors.

A warm welcome to all of the newer members. The teams overall performance is still going up, and long may it continue. Well done lads and lasses.

Best regards Keith

ajgringo619
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1695
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

Has something changed in the way points are awarded? I recently rebuilt my machine - still using Mint 19.3 XFCE, same hardware/software/drivers - and my points per day is about 25% of what it was before.
Mint 19.3 XFCE
kernel 5.4.0-40-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290/390 w/4GB RAM
Image

DisturbedDragon
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by DisturbedDragon »

I have five servers and desktops folding for a different team. I will however semi-dedicate this PC with Ryzen 3700x and RTX2080 GPU.

Edit: Up and running but refuses to use GPU so running CPU only.

Image
Last edited by DisturbedDragon on Sat Feb 22, 2020 7:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16C/32T | MSI x470 Gaming Pro | 1TB Crucial P1 NVMe | 1TB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe | 32GB DDR4 3200 | Nvidia RTX2080 OC | Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon

tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

ajgringo619

to the best of my knowledge nothing has changed. My points are down at the moment, but that is because the ox22 units are becoming scarcer. The 0x21 units do not give nowhere near as many points.

Best regards Keith

ajgringo619
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1695
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

Ahh, that explains it then; thanks for the info.
Mint 19.3 XFCE
kernel 5.4.0-40-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290/390 w/4GB RAM
Image

User avatar
BG405
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2205
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by BG405 »

The last few WUs have been practically worthless here too; only a few hundred points per WU rather than several thousand which has been occurring recently. I run FAH on-demand on this machine via Terminal (disabled when on battery and suspended prior to sleep) so I can see the "estimated" and actual results by checking this and the results on the FAH site. The other machine at home runs all the time and despite being rather underpowered, still has gotten me close to the top 50 on the Mint Team stats pages .. every little helps, I suppose! :wink:
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Lenovo T440 8GB - Manjaro KDE with Mint VMs
Toshiba NB250 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Two ROMS don't make a WRITE ...

ajgringo619
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1695
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

Thanks for that. I was mainly wondering because I had just done a complete reinstall and thought I might have configured the client differently than before. I used to run in 24/7, but it was hitting my spreadsheet/VM programs pretty hard. I can't run a CPU-only client, just not enough horsepower.
Mint 19.3 XFCE
kernel 5.4.0-40-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290/390 w/4GB RAM
Image

tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

DisturbedDragon ,

I think that battlenut uses AMD GPU's. He should be along any time soon, hopefully with some help for you.

Best regards Keith

DisturbedDragon
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by DisturbedDragon »

tinca

My GPU is Nvidia RTX2080. I did some reading on the subject. I was using the official 418 .run from Nvidia. This was not working so I installed the official 440 .run from Nvidia. This made my system very unhappy and failed to start my DM. Uninstalled and installed recommended in Driver Manager which is 435. Still no joy. Cannot add slot with default -1 and cannot add the slot selecting GPU0.

CPU seems to be chewing through work units quite nicely. Thanks for any advise that can be given but I am not terribly worried about it.
AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16C/32T | MSI x470 Gaming Pro | 1TB Crucial P1 NVMe | 1TB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe | 32GB DDR4 3200 | Nvidia RTX2080 OC | Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon

User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

When I set up folding on Linux I use this, I barely know the person who made this but it has worked for me several times. I hope it works for you. I know the settings inside linux are touchy sometimes.
https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/86 ... -on-linux/

DisturbedDragon
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by DisturbedDragon »

battlenut

I performed all those steps previously except the reboot after gpu=true. Tried that it did allow me to add the GPU slot. Sadly, it sits in ready never processing any work.Timer runs down to next attempt then just adds to the count and starts over, Tried setting folding power from medium to high with no affect on the GPU.

Thank you for the link. I will discover what is to be done from here.
AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16C/32T | MSI x470 Gaming Pro | 1TB Crucial P1 NVMe | 1TB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe | 32GB DDR4 3200 | Nvidia RTX2080 OC | Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon

tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

DisturbedDragon

I have just had a look at my GPU slot and it is just slightly different to the one given in the link that battlenut gave you.

GPU index = -1
Opencl index = -1 mine is set to 0
Cuda index = -1

extra slot options
Paused=false
Client type = Beta

I do not know if changing the Opencl index to 0 will help you but it is worth the try as you can soon change it back.

Best regards Keith

DisturbedDragon
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by DisturbedDragon »

tinca,

Thanks for the advice. I tried using all default again but no change.

Tried your suggestion of:
GPU index = -1
Opencl index = 0
Cuda index = -1

extra slot options
paused=false
client_type=beta

Then went to:

GPU index = 0
Opencl index = 0
Cuda index = 0

extra slot options
paused=false
client_type=beta

These settings got it running. Thanks again for your help tinca and battlenut
AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16C/32T | MSI x470 Gaming Pro | 1TB Crucial P1 NVMe | 1TB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe | 32GB DDR4 3200 | Nvidia RTX2080 OC | Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon

Post Reply

Return to “Open chat”