Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Chat about just about anything else
Jeff13
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:25 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Jeff13 »

ajgringo619 wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:16 pm
I used to do something similar, cutting off folding during peak energy-use times. Here are the relevant crontab entries that you could use:

Thank for the help. This is my 10th post, but I'm far less knowledgeable than that! I found and installed crontab, and ran it in terminal with the command

crontab 00 02 * * * /usr/bin/FAHClient --send-unpause > /dev/null

terminal responded

crontab: invalid option -- "-"
crontab usage error: unrecognized option

What did I screw up? Thanks

ajgringo619
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1699
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

Sorry, didn't realize you hadn't used the crontab command before. Run crontab without anything else, then add the entries you want as required. At the top of the screen, you'll see some documentation on what each entry means (for more info, run man 5 crontab).
Mint 19.3 XFCE
kernel 5.4.0-40-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290/390 w/4GB RAM
Image

Jeff13
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:25 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Jeff13 »

I suspect my install didn't go well. Crontab in the terminal returns nothing.

ajgringo619
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1699
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

You should not have had to install crontab separately. If running "crontab" in the terminal returns nothing, then I don't know what to tell you. What about testing the FAH commands I gave you? Does /usr/bin/FAHClient --send-pause actually pause the client?
Mint 19.3 XFCE
kernel 5.4.0-40-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290/390 w/4GB RAM
Image

Jeff13
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:25 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Jeff13 »

The command does connect. The problem is that the client was paused before and I'm reluctant to unpause it. The project has been assigning bigger and bigger tasks and I'm a newb enough that that I dont want to get a dl started and have to pause it. Does that hurt anything?

ajgringo619
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1699
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

You can't pause a job if it hasn't already been downloaded.
Mint 19.3 XFCE
kernel 5.4.0-40-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290/390 w/4GB RAM
Image

Jeff13
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:25 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Jeff13 »

I just tried unpause commands. The reply to the 2 tries was command not found. I suspect I'm messing the syntax up somehow. Ty for the help. I will work on it again tomorrow. Thank you again.

Baldi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 10:11 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Baldi »

berndinger wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:53 am
Hi,

check, wether your gpu is in the gpu.txt file. You will find it here: var/lib/fahclient


if not, follow the instructions here (scroll down)
https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?t=26208

Hope this helps,
cheers Bernd


addendum: follow this brand new thread, maybe it helps ... https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=34917

addendum 2: if its a integrated gpu, chances are that it wont work with fah, sorry
Hello,

thanks to all, who helped me here. And sorry to Citizen229 for misspelling you in my last post.

So long story short: It is complicated.
The discussion About Mint and amdgpu Drivers started 3 years ago and is still ongoing. Thread: "Mint 17 and 18 and now 19 AMD GPU drivers! Look here before doing anything!"
I learned a lot of Things About Linux (and Mint).
It is not a hardware problem or folding problem. I did a quick Windows 10 installation on an old harddisk and FAH works there with GPU and CPU.
I will fold on the CPU only and hope for an end of the amdgpu storry. Maybe with the next Driver or the next Mint.

Thanks,

Baldi

Citizen229
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: NW Ohio

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Citizen229 »

Baldi wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 9:05 am
berndinger wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:53 am
Hi,

check, wether your gpu is in the gpu.txt file. You will find it here: var/lib/fahclient


if not, follow the instructions here (scroll down)
https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?t=26208

Hope this helps,
cheers Bernd


addendum: follow this brand new thread, maybe it helps ... https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=34917

addendum 2: if its a integrated gpu, chances are that it wont work with fah, sorry
Hello,

thanks to all, who helped me here. And sorry to Citizen229 for misspelling you in my last post.

So long story short: It is complicated.
The discussion About Mint and amdgpu Drivers started 3 years ago and is still ongoing. Thread: "Mint 17 and 18 and now 19 AMD GPU drivers! Look here before doing anything!"
I learned a lot of Things About Linux (and Mint).
It is not a hardware problem or folding problem. I did a quick Windows 10 installation on an old harddisk and FAH works there with GPU and CPU.
I will fold on the CPU only and hope for an end of the amdgpu storry. Maybe with the next Driver or the next Mint.

Thanks,

Baldi
I created the sticky in the Video card section.
I have not had an AMD card since the driver fiasco.
Which i why i suggested asking in there. I have not looked into it in a while, but i see the have some drivers in the kernal. I do not know if the amdgpu drivers can have open CL added. Or if one must be able to run the amd pro drivers to have the functionality. People wiser than me are the ones to ask. Which is again why i recommended asking in the sticky.
Folding@home Project
Team Linux Mint-76140
PM for info on how you can help. Or visit viewtopic.php?f=58&t=243792
Seeking GPU's, i5/7/9's , Ryzens.

daibak
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:19 pm

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by daibak »

busdriver12 wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 1:03 am
I installed folding@home today, and after getting everything set up I looked at what effect it was having on my hardware as I have it set the Folding Power slider set to Light (lowest setting). What I did notice was a sharp spike in CPU temperature. It went from it's normal ~30 degC to 72 when running. I then paused it and monitored how much the temp dropped for approx 1 minute (see below)

Code: Select all

phil@Home-PC:~$ date;inxi -s
Sat 25 Apr 12:57:00 AWST 2020
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: radeon temp: 48 C 
Sat 25 Apr 12:58:09 AWST 2020
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 67.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: radeon temp: 48 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 0 
Is this normal when running fahclient? My PC is not new and I don't want to prematurely cook my CPU.

TIA
FY general interest,
March 18 2020 I resuscitated a 2011-edition ASUS K53SJ Notebook dead-in-the-water unable to cope with last Windows 10 HE update bloat, discarded by one of my sons who'd bought a new PC, by installing Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia XFCE 64-bit so I could join a team folding proteins for Folding@home. This old ASUS rig running LM has performed flawlessly, dedicated to folding 24/7 since two months ago, and racking up 170 CPU-only WUs approaching score of 500,000 F@h points for the team (not LM F@h team I knew nothing about in March).
Please note how this PC does get mighty hot most of the time. Temps today per

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxzd
output in terminal:

Code: Select all

Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu 92.0 C  mobo N/A   gpu nvidia 70 C  Fan speeds (RPM) N/A
This ASUS Notebook's specs I've set to fold from day one only on FULL POWER is shown by the FAHControl log as
CPU Intel Core i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30 GHz
CPU ID GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 4 Stepping 7
CPUs 4
Memory 7.69GiB
OS Version 5.3

Not running any NVIDIA GeForce GT 520M CUDA 1GB F@h work assignments because this graphics card only meets OpenCL specification 1.1 not 1.2.
Many will think it's mad to run a PC at this temp, especially in ambient room temperature over these two months ranging mostly 20C - 30C, but am prepared to run risk having already smoked a HP PC in the past. FOLDING@home is a great cause - and it would otherwise just be yet another discarded Windows PC.

User avatar
berndinger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:23 am
Location: Straubing Germany

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by berndinger »

Hi,

check the cpu slot. Reduce the number of cores to 2 or even to 1.

So it wont go so hot anymore, but you will need more time for a WU...

cheers,
Bernd
Linux Mint, what else....

Citizen229
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: NW Ohio

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Citizen229 »

Feel the bottom for a hotspot. Is thee a removable panel near there? if yes remove it.
The end with the hot spot, prop that end up with something giving it 1/2 inch (12-13 mm) clearance. Especially if this makes your fan out point slightly upward.
Folding@home Project
Team Linux Mint-76140
PM for info on how you can help. Or visit viewtopic.php?f=58&t=243792
Seeking GPU's, i5/7/9's , Ryzens.

daibak
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:19 pm

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by daibak »

Thanks for the bottom ASUS PC casing hotspot tip, Citizen229, which I've tried over past 36 hours but of little benefit.
I perched laptop atop (adding free airflow of base off tabletop 3/4") cork table-mats at each rear corner well clear of air vents but, with room temperatures here in Spain varying 22C - 30C during this interval, this only brought excessive temperatures down to cpu 90.0C and gpu 67C from 93C and 70C respectively.

Next week I'll try out berndinger's suggestion to reduce the CPU 4 cores to 2 cores but I want to be able to measure the WU time-completion when doing so.
Should this bring about a dramatic reduction in temperature I'll report back to this forum as I'm sure it will be of interest to many F@h overheating concerns.

Again, thanks to berndinger and Citizen229 for your prompt advice.

mr_raider
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by mr_raider »

Holy Frak!
Screenshot_20200527_215503.png
Image

Citizen229
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: NW Ohio

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Citizen229 »

mr_raider wrote:
Wed May 27, 2020 9:57 pm
Holy Frak!

Am i reading that right?
Folding@home Project
Team Linux Mint-76140
PM for info on how you can help. Or visit viewtopic.php?f=58&t=243792
Seeking GPU's, i5/7/9's , Ryzens.

ajgringo619
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1699
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

Trying to setup FAH again on a new install of LMDE4. I've basically copied over all of the previous configs, installed OpenCL and Cuda, but I'm stuck with this message:

Code: Select all

OpenCL: Not detected: clGetPlatformIDs() returned -1001
Is there something else that needs to be done to get this client to work? I'm running the Nvidia 418.113 client.
Mint 19.3 XFCE
kernel 5.4.0-40-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290/390 w/4GB RAM
Image

User avatar
berndinger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:23 am
Location: Straubing Germany

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by berndinger »

Hi,

try this:

sudo apt install ocl-icd-opencl-dev


this is the way it worked here... but i have a ubuntu base, not lmde....

cheers,
Bernd
Linux Mint, what else....

ajgringo619
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1699
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

That was exactly how I got it to work on Mint 19, but this is not working on LMDE4. I'm going to have to create a post on the FAH forum, because this error isn't showing up there either.

UPDATE: ended going back to Mint 19.3 XFCE, mainly for other reasons but this was one of them. I can be patient until v20 comes out.
Mint 19.3 XFCE
kernel 5.4.0-40-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290/390 w/4GB RAM
Image

Citizen229
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: NW Ohio

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Citizen229 »

ajgringo619 wrote:
Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:56 am
Trying to setup FAH again on a new install of LMDE4. I've basically copied over all of the previous configs, installed OpenCL and Cuda, but I'm stuck with this message:

Code: Select all

OpenCL: Not detected: clGetPlatformIDs() returned -1001
Is there something else that needs to be done to get this client to work? I'm running the Nvidia 418.113 client.
the download from the site is a debian package it installs the same. After installation of nvidia drivers... all you have to do is make your open CL index a 0 instead of -1 on your slot configuration. You should not have had to install anything else.
Folding@home Project
Team Linux Mint-76140
PM for info on how you can help. Or visit viewtopic.php?f=58&t=243792
Seeking GPU's, i5/7/9's , Ryzens.

mr_raider
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by mr_raider »

Citizen229 wrote:
Tue Jun 02, 2020 5:46 am
mr_raider wrote:
Wed May 27, 2020 9:57 pm
Holy Frak!

Am i reading that right?
rx 5700. Took some work to configure, but got it working.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Open chat”