Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Chat about just about anything else
User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

Okay this is what I have folding now. 1 Radeon VII, 1 1080ti, 1 980ti, 1 2070. I hope they hurry up and Set F@H to utilize AMD GPUs better, this way I can get rid of some of these Nvidia cards.
tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 582
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

Hi all,

Yesterday I managed to destroy my Mint 19.2 Mate. I have re-installed it and everything is running ok except my Folding at Home.

It launches alright but then throws an error. I have purged folding 3 times and re-installed but with the same result.

Code: Select all

I am unable to get folding to run. It downloads a file to 100% and then throws an error

20:20:19:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463 from 128.252.203.10
20:20:19:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 128.252.203.10:8080
20:20:20:WU01:FS01:Downloading 78.65MiB
20:20:26:WU01:FS01:Download 17.32%
20:20:32:WU01:FS01:Download 39.89%
20:20:38:WU01:FS01:Download 48.95%
20:20:44:WU01:FS01:Download 55.86%
20:20:50:WU01:FS01:Download 64.13%
20:20:56:WU01:FS01:Download 76.29%
20:21:02:WU01:FS01:Download 85.42%
20:21:08:WU01:FS01:Download 92.50%
20:21:14:WU01:FS01:Download 98.38%
20:21:15:WU01:FS01:Download complete
20:21:15:WU01:FS01:Received Unit: id:01 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:14275 run:0 clone:21 gen:18 core:0x21 unit:0x0000001280fccb0a5d98ab578b791b31
20:21:15:WU01:FS01:Starting
20:21:15:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: /usr/bin/FAHCoreWrapper /var/lib/fahclient/cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Linux/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21 -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 1242 -checkpoint 15 -gpu-vendor nvidia -opencl-device 0 -cuda-device 0 -gpu 0
20:21:15:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 4519
20:21:15:WU01:FS01:Core PID:4523
20:21:15:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
20:21:15:WARNING:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned: WU_STALLED (127 = 0x7f)
20:21:16:WU01:FS01:Starting
20:21:16:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: /usr/bin/FAHCoreWrapper /var/lib/fahclient/cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Linux/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21 -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 1242 -checkpoint 15 -gpu-vendor nvidia -opencl-device 0 -cuda-device 0 -gpu 0
20:21:16:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 4524
20:21:16:WU01:FS01:Core PID:4528
20:21:16:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
20:21:16:WARNING:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned: WU_STALLED (127 = 0x7f)
any help would be appreciated

Best regards Keith
User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

Did you try changing kernel? you might need to update it with the new drivers. I am still trying to learn how all this linux stuff works. it has to break for me to fix it to learn.
tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 582
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

Hi battlenut,

I am running

kernel 4.15.0-64201910022001

Nvidia driver 430.26-0ubuntu0.18.04.2

If I can't get it running I might try to install Mint 19 Mate, and see if I can get it running in that.

Best regards Keith
User avatar
greerd
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1056
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by greerd »

Hi tinca,

I haven't seen this problem before, usually the GPU isn't recognized at the start. I don't see Nvidia 430.26 available on my 19.2, only 430.50 (I'm using it now) and 435.21(haven't tried yet) as the latest drivers.

Did you add the drivers ppa?
tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 582
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

Hi greerd,

No I do not install from outside ppa,s. I used /menu/system tools/system monitor and wrote it down from there. The driver I must have installed from the driver option.

Yesterday I made my first "timeshift" image and put it on a USB pen drive. I thought that all I had to do was to plug in the pen drive and re-install from it. It did not work. Using a terminal I dug down until I could reach the usb timeshift snapshot and although I could not re-install from it I thought that I could copy over my working Fahclient, which I did. It still showed the same error.

I decided to wipe the hard drive and to install Mint 18.3 Mate. I set up folding as per my written notes and after a few restarts I have finally managed to get it up and running.

Thank for your help, it is very much appreciated.

Best regards Keith
tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 582
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

Hi all,

since I managed to ruin my Mint 19.2 installation a week ago, the protein folding seems to be slower. I am currently running Mint 18.3 Mate 64 bit.

I have looked at the stats page a few times and we are not making much, if any progress up the leader board. We are still stuck at 90.

I have decided to start folding on the i7 4970 CPU to see what points it can generate. I have only just started it so I will have to wait and see how it does, and if it has any detrimental effect on the GTX 1070. Normally I do not run a cpu when folding with the GTX 1070.

I have even had a look at the computer I gave my wife some years ago and I think that it has a Intel Q6600 CPU. I have started it folding and we will have to wait and see how it goes.

We could badly do with a few more users who have decent graphic cards to join the team, that would certainly give it a boost.

Other than that everything is good.

I have a Samsung S4 10.5 inch Tablet, and I wonder if I can fold on that. Sony have brought out a folding program, but it seems to be only for Xperia phones. Anyone now if this would be possible???

Best regards Keith
User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

As for 90th place Ill take that. I did get another 980 ti running that i had previously lost. I have an experia phone an XZ to be exact. I think that would only produce like 50 PPD a day. Honestly not sure if it is worth it to kill a phone.
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2095
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

I'm getting ready to buy a laptop, dedicate my current system to Folding. With the specs of my machine (see my sig), would it be better to use the GPU over the CPU, or can I use both?

Dropped to 91st, btw...
Mint 19.3 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-52-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290 w/4GB RAM
Image
User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

A 960 should net between 150,00 and 200k PPD, the CPU not so much. Your call, all help is welcome. You can fold on both at the same time.
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2095
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

Can I fold with the GPU while I'm using the machine? I experimented with that when I first installed the client and it wouldn't run.

UPDATE: got it working; can't believe how much more I get out of the GPU.
Mint 19.3 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-52-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290 w/4GB RAM
Image
User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

I am currently typing on my machine thats Folding with my Radeon VII. So to answer your question. Yes you can. You have to set the slider to full, if it is not in Full when you start to do something else, it tends to pause it. If set on medium or low it usually only folds when system is idle.
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2095
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

I do notice a little bit of pausing @ full when switching between workspaces, but it's really not that noticeable.
Mint 19.3 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-52-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290 w/4GB RAM
Image
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2095
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

Been noticing that my FAHClient gives me the following error after I come out of suspend: state:SEND error:FAULTY project. I tried pausing the client before suspending, but that did nothing. Restarting the client also has no effect; rebooting fixes the problem. Is there a file(s) that I can remove so I don't run into this problem again?
Mint 19.3 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-52-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290 w/4GB RAM
Image
User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

Non that I know of. I am not saying there isn't a fix for this, just I do not know what it is. I will dig around a little if I find something I will post it.
tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 582
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

Hi all,

I have managed to pick up a few FahCore 0x22 units over the past couple of days, and that has pushed the daily points up.

Best regards Keith
User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

Looks like an extra 50k. a day, I hope ya keep getting them. mines up an average og about 50k a day also.
User avatar
BG405
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2382
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by BG405 »

Looks like a bit of a wait to check the stats:
stats.foldingathome.org uses an invalid security certificate.
The certificate expired on January 2, 2020, 9:06 PM. The current time is January 3, 2020, 3:56 AM.
Error code: SEC_ERROR_EXPIRED_CERTIFICATE
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Lenovo T440 8GB - Manjaro KDE with Mint VMs
Toshiba NB250 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Two ROMS don't make a WRITE ...
tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 582
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

Hi all,

I am currently running Mint 18.3 with the Mate desktop. Would there be any improvement to my points being scored if I switched to the latest XFCE 19.3 as it is reported to be lighter on resources.

Best regards Keith
User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

To be honest, I do not think it would actually affect the folding on a GPU. Nothing really knocks a GPU back except entering a game. At least thats the way I understand it. I could be wrong, would not be the first time and most def will not be the last.
Post Reply

Return to “Open chat”