Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Chat about just about anything else
User avatar
r-miller96
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by r-miller96 »

Is there a way to tell to program to only use X% of the GPU? The low/medium/full slider only seems to have an affect on the CPU.
CPU : 6x AMD Phenom™ II X6 1055T Processor
Memory : 16432MB
OS: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
DE: Cinnamon 3.6.7
GPU: GeForce GTX 970/PCIe/SSE2
Version : 4.6.0 NVIDIA 430.64
ATA Samsung SSD 840

Roadpower
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 6:13 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Roadpower »

Okay thanks anyway. If nobody here knows I will get around to asking over on the FAH forums. It is a confusing flag since the GPU is working. I'm just a bit reluctant to fool around with it unless I know what it is doing. :?

Roadpower
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 6:13 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Roadpower »

r-miller96 wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 9:38 pm
Is there a way to tell to program to only use X% of the GPU? The low/medium/full slider only seems to have an affect on the CPU.
I think I saw an answer to this recently on the FAH forums but I'm pretty sure the answer is no. I think that is an innate product of the GPU architecture unlike the CPU architecture. In fact I have been wondering how tricky it is for me to put back in my old RX480 card to use as my graphics card and dedicate the Nvidia card as the folding unit.

User avatar
berndinger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:23 am
Location: Straubing Germany

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by berndinger »

Roadpower wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:09 pm
berndinger wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 1:17 pm
What helped here: In expert mode, set client-type to advanced

cheers
Hi Bern, you are talking about this panel, yes?
Screen shot

Could you be more specific about what you are talking about please? :)
Yes thats the panel.

insert client-type
as value take
advanced

Other method:
In etc/fahclient/config.xml

at

<!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->

insert

<client-type v='advanced'/>


cheers
Bernd
Linux Mint, what else....

Roadpower
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 6:13 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Roadpower »

berndinger wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:23 am

cheers
Bernd
Thanks mate.

Roadpower
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 6:13 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Roadpower »

Just found this on the FAH forums via poster NoMoreQuarantine.

LINK

First three paragraphs of the article.
April 22, 2020

Around the world, supercomputing centers have spun up and opened their doors for COVID-19 research in what may be the most unified supercomputing effort in history. Now, a new competition from the Joint European Disruptive Initiative (JEDI) is poised to raise the bar even higher, aiming to recruit up to a hundred teams to crunch billions of molecules in the hunt for a COVID-19 therapeutic – and offering millions of euros in prizes. In an interview with HPCwire, JEDI’s founder, André Loesekrug-Pietri, spoke about the structure and goals of the ambitious, supercomputing-powered challenge.

JEDI, a foundation that aims to be the “European DARPA” and a “moonshot factory,” typically looks to the future, focusing on longer-term projects that are years away and haven’t received funding or scientific attention commensurate to their social impacts. But with the advent of COVID-19, JEDI found itself working distinctly in the present – and hunting for a way to create value added in a crowded research field.

“A couple of weeks ago, we brought together all those people who are involved in the broader healthcare sector, trying to understand: okay, what could be our added value in this global crisis?” Loesekrug-Pietri said. The experts indicated that research was focusing too much on individual molecules – such as hydroxychloroquine – and there, JEDI saw an opening.

User avatar
berndinger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:23 am
Location: Straubing Germany

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by berndinger »

Yes!
Crowdsourced computing powerhouse Folding@home is working closely with JEDI, helping to provide targets for researchers to assail with candidate molecules. “The more targets we have on which teams will be able to run their billion compounds,” Loesekrug-Pietri said, “the more combinations of keys and locks. You can imagine that these become numbers which are just absolutely massive.” Folding@home’s John Chodera has joined the challenge’s scientific committee, which also includes leaders from a wide range of universities, research institutes and supercomputing centers.

cheers,
Bernd
Linux Mint, what else....

User avatar
busdriver12
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:34 am
Location: Perth WA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by busdriver12 »

I installed folding@home today, and after getting everything set up I looked at what effect it was having on my hardware as I have it set the Folding Power slider set to Light (lowest setting). What I did notice was a sharp spike in CPU temperature. It went from it's normal ~30 degC to 72 when running. I then paused it and monitored how much the temp dropped for approx 1 minute (see below)

Code: Select all

phil@Home-PC:~$ date;inxi -s
Sat 25 Apr 12:45:43 AWST 2020
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 72.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: radeon temp: 48 C 
phil@Home-PC:~$ date;inxi -s
Sat 25 Apr 12:47:01 AWST 2020
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 35.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: radeon temp: 48 C 
 
After leaving it for about 10 minutes to cool down, I then restarted it and took 2 readings:

Code: Select all

phil@Home-PC:~$ date;inxi -s
Sat 25 Apr 12:57:00 AWST 2020
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: radeon temp: 48 C 
Sat 25 Apr 12:58:09 AWST 2020
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 67.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: radeon temp: 48 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 0 
Is this normal when running fahclient? My PC is not new and I don't want to prematurely cook my CPU.

TIA
Phil

Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon 4.4.8

User avatar
berndinger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:23 am
Location: Straubing Germany

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by berndinger »

Hi Busdriver,

Your temps are normal, even not too bad ...

Temps here are: CPU between 72 and 80
Graphics between 76 and 78

Because of this, i use only 4 cpu cores, with each core more the temps get unbearable...

And i use a cooling pad, without that, the fans would be so loud, that i would get real problems with my wife .... :?

cheers
Bernd
Linux Mint, what else....

Citizen229
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: NW Ohio

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Citizen229 »

Ok so i went and took a peek at Arch Linux active users. A year or so ago we were catching up to them. Today they have 4 pages of active users. 3 pages are purple in color, so they are ryzen 5/7 equivalent cpus.

That is just impressive...

They are the last Linux based team to pass. The prospects look grim.
Folding@home Project
Team Linux Mint-76140
PM for info on how you can help. Or visit viewtopic.php?f=58&t=243792
Seeking GPU's, i5/7/9's , Ryzens.

Roadpower
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 6:13 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Roadpower »

Agree with Bern, 72c is fine for a CPU under heavy load. You should still have plenty of thermal overhead.

User avatar
busdriver12
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:34 am
Location: Perth WA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by busdriver12 »

berndinger wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 2:27 am

Your temps are normal, even not too bad ...

Temps here are: CPU between 72 and 80
Graphics between 76 and 78
cheers
Bernd
Thanks Bernd :)
Phil

Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon 4.4.8

User avatar
r-miller96
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by r-miller96 »

Hi folks I want to thank those who have helped me with the issues I've been having with getting my GPU fold.

I'm curious when and how you guys learned about Folding@Home or other crowed computing programs like this. I know a lot of people jumped on the band wagon with the COVID outbreak. So how about you guys that have been doing it for years?
CPU : 6x AMD Phenom™ II X6 1055T Processor
Memory : 16432MB
OS: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
DE: Cinnamon 3.6.7
GPU: GeForce GTX 970/PCIe/SSE2
Version : 4.6.0 NVIDIA 430.64
ATA Samsung SSD 840

Citizen229
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: NW Ohio

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Citizen229 »

r-miller96 wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 12:34 pm
Hi folks I want to thank those who have helped me with the issues I've been having with getting my GPU fold.

I'm curious when and how you guys learned about Folding@Home or other crowed computing programs like this. I know a lot of people jumped on the band wagon with the COVID outbreak. So how about you guys that have been doing it for years?
I spent a few years grinding for SETI@home. This was in the way back era. When GPU's started being utilized, i was done. A GPU out did my years work with a 1.2 thunderbird in 3 weeks. I thought then and still do now, the credit system is broken. It favors video cards who process faster . Then they get heavy bonus on top of that.

Then i came here and found ! man folding for the team by himself. A look at the stats and he had been folding for over a year alone. so i stated to help him.
Folding@home Project
Team Linux Mint-76140
PM for info on how you can help. Or visit viewtopic.php?f=58&t=243792
Seeking GPU's, i5/7/9's , Ryzens.

User avatar
berndinger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:23 am
Location: Straubing Germany

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by berndinger »

Hi,

I started 1998 with seti on a win 95 pc. It worked as a screensaver.
Then when covid 19 broke out in china, I found boinc by chance. So I started folding with rosetta@home.
It started good, but I had more and more problems to start boinc.
Then I found folding@home and it worked great. I even managed to activate the gpu....

cheers
Bernd
Linux Mint, what else....

User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1107
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by 900i »

I started this team in 2007. I started Team Micromart, can’t remember when. That shut down when the magazine and forum closed. I also started the Crunchbang Linux team, alas that no longer exists either. Folding on and off for years.
Core i7 Dual GTX 960 Linux Mint 19.3 F@H Team Linux Mint 76140

STAY SAFE

User avatar
r-miller96
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by r-miller96 »

Citizen229 wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 1:05 pm
r-miller96 wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 12:34 pm
Hi folks I want to thank those who have helped me with the issues I've been having with getting my GPU fold.

I'm curious when and how you guys learned about Folding@Home or other crowed computing programs like this. I know a lot of people jumped on the band wagon with the COVID outbreak. So how about you guys that have been doing it for years?
I spent a few years grinding for SETI@home. This was in the way back era. When GPU's started being utilized, i was done. A GPU out did my years work with a 1.2 thunderbird in 3 weeks. I thought then and still do now, the credit system is broken. It favors video cards who process faster . Then they get heavy bonus on top of that.

Then i came here and found ! man folding for the team by himself. A look at the stats and he had been folding for over a year alone. so i stated to help him.
It's strange to me I'd been Folding for a few weeks now with 2 CPUs *only* and my stats were just trickling along. I had multiple reasons to pick up a GPU so I got myself a GTX 960 (recommended from a PC building group I'm part of on FB) off of eBay for $125 USD. Now that it's been working for a few days my points have been going up much faster.

I'm not quite sure how the WorkUnits work. My GPU had a job yesterday that said it would take 16 hours to complete. Then this morning I checked my stats and it looked like I had gotten more WUs done than me "3 workers bees" (PC#1 stats in signature, PC#2 i5 3470) could have done. So I guess this has turned into me asking a question. Does a "Job" have have more than 1 WU, at least GPU "Jobs" anyway?
CPU : 6x AMD Phenom™ II X6 1055T Processor
Memory : 16432MB
OS: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
DE: Cinnamon 3.6.7
GPU: GeForce GTX 970/PCIe/SSE2
Version : 4.6.0 NVIDIA 430.64
ATA Samsung SSD 840

Citizen229
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:09 pm
Location: NW Ohio

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Citizen229 »

A work unit is a work unit. they are rated for there size and complexity for a base score. CPU's being lighter score for limited capability. GPU get the harder work units. Which makes the WU higher base points.
What name are you folding under?
Folding@home Project
Team Linux Mint-76140
PM for info on how you can help. Or visit viewtopic.php?f=58&t=243792
Seeking GPU's, i5/7/9's , Ryzens.

User avatar
r-miller96
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by r-miller96 »

Citizen229 wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 8:21 pm
A work unit is a work unit. they are rated for there size and complexity for a base score. CPU's being lighter score for limited capability. GPU get the harder work units. Which makes the WU higher base points.
What name are you folding under?
RMiller96
CPU : 6x AMD Phenom™ II X6 1055T Processor
Memory : 16432MB
OS: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
DE: Cinnamon 3.6.7
GPU: GeForce GTX 970/PCIe/SSE2
Version : 4.6.0 NVIDIA 430.64
ATA Samsung SSD 840

Jeff13
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:25 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Jeff13 »

Hi Folks;
I've downloaded the client on 2 machines. One running mint 19.3 and one running win 10. Both are seeing my GPUs at least if not using them. I do have a couple of newb questions for the folks here though.
1. I'm guessing it's ok to join the 76140 team with the win 10 machine. I hope you folks aren't bothered. and
2. Do I put the same passkey on both machines? I'm running without a passkey on the win 10 machine right now.

Thanks

Post Reply

Return to “Open chat”