Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Chat about just about anything else
User avatar
r-miller96
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by r-miller96 »

Jeff13 wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 4:34 pm
r-miller96 wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 1:57 pm
Finally switched back to Team Linux Mint
Welcome Home.
Looks like I'm slowly moving up the ranks (RMiller96)
If I had Money to throw away I'd buy a RTX 3070 when they're released but I'm so broke I can't even a afford to pay attention LOL, and if I did I'd probably be one of the unlucky ones that miss out on the first batch.

Question for anyone else Folding: Has your GPU been getting really small jobs that take less than an hour to complete? That seems to be all I've been getting since I set everything up on 19.3
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Processor
Ram: 16397MB
OS: Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia
DE: Cinnamon 4.4.8
GPU: GeForce GTX 970
Version : 4.6.0 NVIDIA 450.66
ATA Samsung SSD 860 500gbs
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2127
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

r-miller96 wrote:
Mon Sep 07, 2020 7:20 pm
Question for anyone else Folding: Has your GPU been getting really small jobs that take less than an hour to complete? That seems to be all I've been getting since I set everything up on 19.3
I've been running my Radeon R9 290 via Windows 10 (too much hassle to get it working on Linux and I really don't like AMD's Linux drivers) and it's been pretty random. Yesterday I only got small jobs; day before was (2) that took over 5 hours each to complete.
Mint 20 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-56-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
GTX 1070 w/8GB RAM [Folding]
GTX 1050Ti w/4GB RAM [Nvidia v450.80.02]
Image
tinca
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 587
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by tinca »

r-miller96.

For the past 4 days all of my work units have been small. I am down from 1000,000 points per day to 800,000 points a day. It is just the way it is. Hopefully all of our competitors are all getting the same type of units so that we do not fall further behind them.

I have just started a 14487 which is worth 88,142 points and will take 2 hours and 31 minutes to complete.

I have been waiting for weeks to overtake Hewlett Packerd team. Only 4.3 days to go.


Best Regards Keith
mr_raider
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1889
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by mr_raider »

r-miller96 wrote:
Mon Sep 07, 2020 7:20 pm
Jeff13 wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 4:34 pm
r-miller96 wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 1:57 pm
Finally switched back to Team Linux Mint
Welcome Home.
Looks like I'm slowly moving up the ranks (RMiller96)
If I had Money to throw away I'd buy a RTX 3070 when they're released but I'm so broke I can't even a afford to pay attention LOL, and if I did I'd probably be one of the unlucky ones that miss out on the first batch.

Question for anyone else Folding: Has your GPU been getting really small jobs that take less than an hour to complete? That seems to be all I've been getting since I set everything up on 19.3
In advanced settings change your priority from Covid to any. Or select cancer as an example. Some of teh covid units were tanking on AMD cards so I stopped.
Image
User avatar
r-miller96
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by r-miller96 »

mr_raider wrote:
Tue Sep 08, 2020 6:51 am
r-miller96 wrote:
Mon Sep 07, 2020 7:20 pm
Jeff13 wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 4:34 pm


Welcome Home.
Looks like I'm slowly moving up the ranks (RMiller96)
If I had Money to throw away I'd buy a RTX 3070 when they're released but I'm so broke I can't even a afford to pay attention LOL, and if I did I'd probably be one of the unlucky ones that miss out on the first batch.

Question for anyone else Folding: Has your GPU been getting really small jobs that take less than an hour to complete? That seems to be all I've been getting since I set everything up on 19.3
In advanced settings change your priority from Covid to any. Or select cancer as an example. Some of teh covid units were tanking on AMD cards so I stopped.
A few hours ago I changed it from Any to COVID-19 and looks like I just got a job that's going to take 9 hours.

Image
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Processor
Ram: 16397MB
OS: Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia
DE: Cinnamon 4.4.8
GPU: GeForce GTX 970
Version : 4.6.0 NVIDIA 450.66
ATA Samsung SSD 860 500gbs
User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

I need Help!!!! Alright here is the problem. I have spare stuff lying around and I was trying to put another Rig together to fold for Linux Mint 76140. Specs are as follows: Motherboard Biostar Racing X370GTN Bios is X37AKB20.BSS Nov 20 2019, CPU: Ryzen 5 1600, Ram:16 GB Corsair Vengance 3200Mhz, GPU: Asrock Phantom Gaming RX 5700 XT/ Sapphire RX 580(for trouble shooting purposes). I just want to get another Rig up and running regardless of what OS is running. I have tested Linux Mint 20.04, 19.3, 19.2. CentOS 7 & 8. Ubuntu 20.04.5 & 18.04. Plus Windows 10. with every setup of Linux I get this error: "Work Server Connection failed on port 8080 trying 80" I also get the same thing in Windows. it is the same with the 5700 xt and the 580(for trouble shooting purposes). I used this info https://foldingathome.org/support/faq/i ... des/linux/ and another over on LTT. I get no where and yes the correct drivers are downloaded for linux. I also set GPU to true and deleted the false one. Mind you it does see my CPU and starts folding immediately. :(
mr_raider
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1889
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by mr_raider »

battlenut wrote:
Sun Sep 27, 2020 5:40 am
I need Help!!!! Alright here is the problem. I have spare stuff lying around and I was trying to put another Rig together to fold for Linux Mint 76140. Specs are as follows: Motherboard Biostar Racing X370GTN Bios is X37AKB20.BSS Nov 20 2019, CPU: Ryzen 5 1600, Ram:16 GB Corsair Vengance 3200Mhz, GPU: Asrock Phantom Gaming RX 5700 XT/ Sapphire RX 580(for trouble shooting purposes). I just want to get another Rig up and running regardless of what OS is running. I have tested Linux Mint 20.04, 19.3, 19.2. CentOS 7 & 8. Ubuntu 20.04.5 & 18.04. Plus Windows 10. with every setup of Linux I get this error: "Work Server Connection failed on port 8080 trying 80" I also get the same thing in Windows. it is the same with the 5700 xt and the 580(for trouble shooting purposes). I used this info https://foldingathome.org/support/faq/i ... des/linux/ and another over on LTT. I get no where and yes the correct drivers are downloaded for linux. I also set GPU to true and deleted the false one. Mind you it does see my CPU and starts folding immediately. :(
I'm folding on the rx 5700. You need to:

1. install the OpenCL driver from the amdgpu-pro package on AMDs website. This requires a hack to make Mint look like Ubuntu

2. Resolve the permissions issue with OpenCL by converting the client to a systemd service

I suggest you follow this guide, it worked for me:

https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=33353


Start by troubleshooting your OpenCL.

Open a terminal and type the following two commands:

Code: Select all

clinfo

Code: Select all

sudo -u fahclient clinfo
Post the results.
Image
Kevin_Burton
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2020 6:12 am
Location: Harrogate, England
Contact:

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Kevin_Burton »

Hi Battlenut...

Have you got anywhere with this problem yet. I’m looking forward to seeing your next few billion for Team Linux Mint. I noticed that it’s only going to take me 16 years to catch you up lol. Hope you get it sorted.

Best wishes

Kevin
User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

still trying to get one more machine up. having issues.
User avatar
battlenut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Currently Yokosuka JAPAN

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by battlenut »

mr_raider wrote:
Sun Sep 27, 2020 1:02 pm
battlenut wrote:
Sun Sep 27, 2020 5:40 am
I need Help!!!! Alright here is the problem. I have spare stuff lying around and I was trying to put another Rig together to fold for Linux Mint 76140. Specs are as follows: Motherboard Biostar Racing X370GTN Bios is X37AKB20.BSS Nov 20 2019, CPU: Ryzen 5 1600, Ram:16 GB Corsair Vengance 3200Mhz, GPU: Asrock Phantom Gaming RX 5700 XT/ Sapphire RX 580(for trouble shooting purposes). I just want to get another Rig up and running regardless of what OS is running. I have tested Linux Mint 20.04, 19.3, 19.2. CentOS 7 & 8. Ubuntu 20.04.5 & 18.04. Plus Windows 10. with every setup of Linux I get this error: "Work Server Connection failed on port 8080 trying 80" I also get the same thing in Windows. it is the same with the 5700 xt and the 580(for trouble shooting purposes). I used this info https://foldingathome.org/support/faq/i ... des/linux/ and another over on LTT. I get no where and yes the correct drivers are downloaded for linux. I also set GPU to true and deleted the false one. Mind you it does see my CPU and starts folding immediately. :(
I'm folding on the rx 5700. You need to:

1. install the OpenCL driver from the amdgpu-pro package on AMDs website. This requires a hack to make Mint look like Ubuntu

2. Resolve the permissions issue with OpenCL by converting the client to a systemd service

I suggest you follow this guide, it worked for me:

https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=33353


Start by troubleshooting your OpenCL.

Open a terminal and type the following two commands:

Code: Select all

clinfo

Code: Select all

sudo -u fahclient clinfo
Post the results.
The CPU to fold but the GPU is still a no go.
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2127
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

This last reply finally pointed me in the right direction. After running clinfo as myself and as fahclient, I noticed a permissions problem. After adding the fahclient user to both the video and render groups, my AMD R9 290 is folding!!!

Now, as far as the FAH forum link, I had no luck getting it to work. What I had to do was install the full AMDPRO drivers, like this (from the extracted tarball):

Code: Select all

./amdgpu-pro-install --opencl=pal,legacy
It's weird - when I tried adding the -y switch, it always failed, whether on Mint 19 or 20.

Almost forgot...I also had to install ocl-icd-opencl-dev.
Mint 20 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-56-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
GTX 1070 w/8GB RAM [Folding]
GTX 1050Ti w/4GB RAM [Nvidia v450.80.02]
Image
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2127
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

Been seeing a few of the dreaded "Particle coordinate is nan" errors since getting my R9 290 working; this happens on Windows as well. Has anyone else experienced this? As far as I can tell, my GPU is not overclocked. If it is, how can I change it? According to one site - https://www.maketecheasier.com/overclock-amd-gpu-linux/ - all I have to do is change a couple of files (both are already set at 0). Does this sound correct?
Mint 20 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-56-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
GTX 1070 w/8GB RAM [Folding]
GTX 1050Ti w/4GB RAM [Nvidia v450.80.02]
Image
Jeff13
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:25 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Jeff13 »

ajgringo619 wrote:
Sat Nov 07, 2020 10:22 pm
Been seeing a few of the dreaded "Particle coordinate is nan" errors since getting my R9 290 working; this happens on Windows as well. Has anyone else experienced this? As far as I can tell, my GPU is not overclocked. If it is, how can I change it? According to one site - https://www.maketecheasier.com/overclock-amd-gpu-linux/ - all I have to do is change a couple of files (both are already set at 0). Does this sound correct?
I'm afraid I have no idea. All the GPU's I fold with are Nvidia and honestly, most of them are underclocked for both heat and longevity reasons. The failures I've been getting are core has stopped working. Memory problems I suspect on a Win 7 machine. Good Folding.

Badsinger
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2127
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

I have a feeling it's hardware-related, although I was running the BOINC client (Linux/Windows) and never had any issues. I've adjusted the fan speeds to keep the temperature around 80c, so I don't think that's a problem either. Most of the complaints about this on the Folding forums all pointed to overclocking, which I don't do.
Mint 20 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-56-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
GTX 1070 w/8GB RAM [Folding]
GTX 1050Ti w/4GB RAM [Nvidia v450.80.02]
Image
User avatar
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2742
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by antikythera »

The card may be factory overclocked but even that shouldn't matter too much as the majority of cards on sale are. You will get some work units that chuck errors regardless of hardware health or configuration. Is it happening for every work unit downloaded or just the odd one or two?
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2127
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

It's been a regular occurrence for awhile now. Before I got the card working under Linux, I would reboot into Windows and let it run overnight. That, however, started to throw errors on every run, so I gave up and tried using BOINC, mainly just to see if there was something wrong with my setup. Since that worked flawlessly, I gave FAH another try. I did get (1) GPU WU to actually finish last night. The only thing I did different was change my disease preference to Alzheimer's.
Mint 20 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-56-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
GTX 1070 w/8GB RAM [Folding]
GTX 1050Ti w/4GB RAM [Nvidia v450.80.02]
Image
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2127
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

OK - completed 5-straight WUs on my R9 GPU. But all of them have been really small (< 10k points) and haven't really taxed my GPU at all (running about 15° C cooler than before). Also, my estimated PPD has dropped from 550k to 220k.
Mint 20 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-56-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
GTX 1070 w/8GB RAM [Folding]
GTX 1050Ti w/4GB RAM [Nvidia v450.80.02]
Image
Jeff13
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:25 am

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by Jeff13 »

Judging from recent totals it looks like Battlenut has got the stubborn GPU working. Congratulations.
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2127
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

Has anyone used this setting in FAH?

Code: Select all

gpu-usage<integer = 100>
GPU usage as a percent from 10-100
I'm trying to leave my GPU folding on all the time, but I'd like to scale it back a bit so my system stays snappy. I've tried it on (3) different GPUs, both Nvidia and AMD, and it just doesn't seem to make any difference.
Mint 20 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-56-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
GTX 1070 w/8GB RAM [Folding]
GTX 1050Ti w/4GB RAM [Nvidia v450.80.02]
Image
ajgringo619
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2127
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Folding@home-Team Linux Mint-76140

Post by ajgringo619 »

In researching this further, it sound like the setting I referenced does not work (seems to be disabled). I did, however, discover that throttling the maximum power that my Nvidia GPU can use does make a difference; not a lot, mind you, but my system is definitely more responsive than it was before.
Mint 20 XFCE [kernel 5.4.0-56-generic]
Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
GTX 1070 w/8GB RAM [Folding]
GTX 1050Ti w/4GB RAM [Nvidia v450.80.02]
Image
Post Reply

Return to “Open chat”