Any Carpenters by trade?

Chat about just about anything else
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 30 days after creation.
Citizen229

Any Carpenters by trade?

Post by Citizen229 »

Any US based carpenters? Seeking some advice on span tables.

Im going to be redoing some pre-1940's sections of my house floor. They are actual 2x8's 18" on center. To replace these floors and use 2x8(16" centers) will put me at the limit of 40 loads for span. Sooo.. Im, going to have to cut down 2x10's to 8" width. With the extra 3/4" inch over a 2x8, is there a span table that show the span for going outside of standard dimensional lumber? I would prefer not to assume the extras 3/4 inch thickness will put me well under the limit of my span.

I am guessing they knew when they built this house the floors were not correct. The 2 front room have large limestone rocks, chiseled flat on top, with block laid on top.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 07, 2022 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 30 days after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
stormryder

Re: Any Carpenters by trade?

Post by stormryder »

Citizen229 wrote:Im, going to have to cut down 2x10's to 8" width.
The extra 3/4 would make the joists stronger but you may find it easer to use normal 7 and 1/4 2x8s and use 3/4 shims (use 1x4) under the joists where they sit on the foundation/beams. Getting a full 8" joist under the exterior walls may be nearly impossible especially if the joists you are replacing are rotted or even just slightly soft. Joists tend to crush a little between the walls and the foundation sill.
If the old joists are sound you could just add new lumber to strengthen the floor to desired load capacity.
Ripping out the old joists is really an ambitious project and expensive.