How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?

Chat about just about anything else
Post Reply
linux_rules
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:51 am
Contact:

How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?

Post by linux_rules » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:42 am

I have purchased a HD LED TV but due to a tight budget I am stuck with a SD set top box. Where I live the price of HD set top boxes and the monthly fees for a HD signal is quite high.

How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?
How many of you are still stuck with SD ?
Mint 18.1
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-6100 CPU
Ram 4GB
GeForce GTX 650

User avatar
coffee412
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 823
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:38 pm
Location: Indiana, USA
Contact:

Re: How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?

Post by coffee412 » Tue Jun 26, 2018 6:01 pm

Were I live its expensive too.

I run Mythtv on an aging AMD 6core I had here. I have a GTX 650 in it hooked to the TV. I also have a Amazon firestick and another Android like box all with network connections to my main storage server. Im stuck with comcast HD set top box but its my GF that uses it most. I would prefer to just cut the cord actually.

Everything I mostly watch is streamed from the internet or downloaded from various sources. My Mythtv box has a ceton 6 port card in it. Therefore I can record 6 shows at once. Nice since once again the GF tends to abuse poor Mythtv :) lol..
Ryzen x1800 Asus Prime x370-Pro 32 gigs Ram RX480 graphics
IceWarp * Samba AD * Mint 18.1 * RAID 1/5 * OpenVPN * Linux since kernel 2.0.36

User avatar
greerd
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 964
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?

Post by greerd » Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:08 pm

Mythtv, wow, haven't heard that name in a few years. I used to use Mythtv before Mythbuntu came out (or before I knew it was out), then switched to Mytbuntu using mostly a firewire connection from my cable box. I don't have a need for it now that my cable box is a DVR with On Demand so Myth went the way of the Dodo in my house. Still it brings back fond memories of priming the firewire and all the frustration I went through getting it setup just so, well maybe not all my memories are so fond!

Now a days I have an Asus chromebox (2014 model) rooted with Mint 18.3 hooked up to the main tv (full hdtv). A 16 GB ssd for my slash directory and an external usb drive for my /home. I've installed PIA, kodi and smplayer, use my old BB Player bluetooth keyboard/mousepad, works pretty darn good considering the hardware.

Cheers

User avatar
Moem
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6233
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?

Post by Moem » Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:07 pm

linux_rules wrote:
Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:42 am
How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?
How many of you are still stuck with SD ?
Neither.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
alexa9
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:55 pm

Re: How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?

Post by alexa9 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:23 am

You might consider an antenna or YoutubeTV.
I know many people that have cut the cord and just gone with Amazon/Netflix.
The prices for cable are outrageous. HD is just another way to milk it. Just wait until they offer 4K HDR.
2 x Intel NUC / Dell Inspiron 3567 Laptop

linux_rules
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:51 am
Contact:

Re: How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?

Post by linux_rules » Tue Jul 03, 2018 11:09 am

alexa9 wrote:
Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:23 am
You might consider an antenna or YoutubeTV.
What is Youtube TV ? I have a Raspberry Pi but the problem is when I ON/OFF an electrical switch in the house the display of the Raspberry Pi "flickers".
Mint 18.1
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-6100 CPU
Ram 4GB
GeForce GTX 650

User avatar
Portreve
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1202
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:03 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?

Post by Portreve » Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:45 pm

linux_rules wrote:
Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:42 am
I have purchased a HD LED TV but due to a tight budget I am stuck with a SD set top box. Where I live the price of HD set top boxes and the monthly fees for a HD signal is quite high.
So, edify my curiosity: why would you need a set-top box in the first place, and why would you have a monthly fee? In my area, one can pick up HD broadcasts with a decent antenna, and there are no fees. You might have to spend $10 - $50 (~ €8.50 - €43) for an antenna, depending on needs and installation, but that'd be about it. If you're connecting to cable, then you wouldn't really need anything, so far a I am aware anyhow.

Bear in mind, I don't watch TV, so I'm just looking at this situation from the sidelines. Kind of, I guess, like Moem above.
Everything is in hand. With this tapestry... and with patience, there is nothing one cannot achieve.

No hamsters were harmed in the authoring of this post.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2022
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?

Post by AZgl1500 » Tue Jul 03, 2018 9:21 pm

I for one, will NOT watch commercials.

so, watching a local "off the air" station just is not going to happen.

DTV is just considered part of our entertainment budget, quit worrying about that a long time ago.

we record what we are interested in, and then play it back, at a time of Our Choosing, and Fast Forward at 4x speed and skip the commercials. the commercials are paid for with the exorbitant fees to DTV so they are not missing a thing.

the TV can also watch Netflix, and we enjoy that because it never has commercials.

never heard of myth tv.

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: How many of you have installed HD set top boxes ?

Post by lsemmens » Tue Jul 03, 2018 9:58 pm

IMO the only time you need HD is for sports. Heck I even watch videos recorded last century in Black and White. The story line is still conveyed more than adequately without seeing every DNA strand!

I just use a computer (running Mint) attached to my TV. It is set up as a dual monitor with TV as one monitor and a real monitor next to may armchair. Any videos on my home network or the internet in whatever resolution you so desire can be watched.
index.jpeg
index.jpeg (4.34 KiB) Viewed 102 times
Kernel: 4.15.0-24-generic x86_64 bits: 64
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.7
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop T4500 Dualcore 4Gb RAM
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
Out of my mind - please leave a message

Post Reply

Return to “Open chat”