Best choice for a used/refurbed Linux friendly laptop?

Chat about just about anything else
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 30 days after creation.
borg101

Best choice for a used/refurbed Linux friendly laptop?

Post by borg101 »

Up until this point I have been giving my 13 year old son a few 5-7 year old laptops to play with. I've been emphasizing Linux and open source for a few years now. Now he wants to venture into video editing and 3d modeling. I'm looking for ideas for something in the $400-$500 (USD) price range and nothing seems to be good specs for the price. I've never bought hardware off eBay before nor looked into refurbed laptops. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 07, 2022 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 30 days after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21

Re: Best choice for a used/refurbed Linux friendly laptop?

Post by AndyMH »

You can't go wrong with a Thinkpad!
Thinkcentre M720Q - LM21.3 cinnamon, 4 x T430 - LM21.3 cinnamon, Homebrew desktop i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0
tenfoot
Level 6
Level 6

Post by tenfoot »

+1 for Thinkpads. Bought an ex-lease T450s several years ago and it hasn't missed a beat!
tenfoot
"Light thinks it travels faster than anything but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds darkness always got there first, and is waiting for it." Terry Pratchett (Reaper Man)
borg101

Post by borg101 »

tenfoot wrote: Tue Jul 24, 2018 3:39 pm +1 for Thinkpads. Bought an ex-lease T450s several years ago and it hasn't missed a beat!
Holy crap! I'm looking at some of the buy it now prices for the specs....seems almost too good to be true. I bought my wife a Lenovo Yogabook 3 or 4 years ago and I am still impressed with the performance as "dated" as it is. Thanks for the tip guys!
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21

Post by AndyMH »