Be more active in life..not just computer science

Chat about just about anything else
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 30 days after creation.
lortech

Be more active in life..not just computer science

Post by lortech »

I look back when I first started learning how do do Basic in 1983 on a TRS-80 computer.It was a highschool class. I never got into "programming" and after graduation joined the USAF. I was a helicopter mechanic for the US Air-force Special Operation Command. We did some fun ass things on the flight line and did some nice missions sorties. When I was off duty went to the comisarry and lined up on shelves were 286s and 386s. I did not buy after seeing the price. I separated from the service and it took nearly eight more years before I went to collage for IT services. I started to learn linux in 1997. It was mind blowing at a time when windows would crash often with the blue screen of death. I was lucky to be employed at Microsoft on the Windows 2000 dev team as a tester. It was a great paying cush job and the fun part was the food, and going down to the beta room to wait for the next beta CD to be burned on the 100 CDROM burner box. Every time the burner box would burn CD, the Disco Ball would light up the room "I thought that was funny and cute" so once it shut off we got our new CDS. I also got to meet Bill Gates and Steve Balmer and sat down with Army Pilots in the Cafeteria who flew in a General and Secretary of Defence on a Chinook helicopter onto the Microsoft Campus.