Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Chat about just about anything else
User avatar
michael louwe
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3297
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by michael louwe » Mon Aug 19, 2019 1:30 am

athi wrote:
Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:17 pm
michael louwe wrote:
CRT TVs have a screen resolution of 480p, which may be optimum for 24" displays(25".?) and for 15" CRT monitors(= 600p) for computers(= 3 feet viewing distance).

CRT displays are electrical-power hogs compared to modern LED displays.

In my case, I mostly watch Live TV on my Android tablet = local and international free-to-air TV stations like BBC News, FOX News, etc.
480p? My Sony KD-30XS955 and KD-36XS955 SFP CRT TV does a bit better than that and still have better pictures than the Panny TC-P50ST30 plasma or anything this side of an OLED.
.
AFAIK:

As an eg in USA, small screen CRT Analog TVs of 14" to 24" with screen resolutions of 480p during the 1990s were synonymous with Analog TV broadcasts which was also at 480p.
....... USA fully transitioned to Digital TV broadcasts in 2009. Large screen LCD/LED/Plasma Digital TVs of 32" to 39" with screen resolution of 720p/1080i(= HD-Ready) or 1080p(= Full-HD) during the late 2000s were synonymous with Digital TV broadcasts which was at 720p/1080i.

When USA transitioned to Digital TV broadcasts in 2009, Internet video streaming/casting(with Chromecast, Roku, Apple TV, computer, etc) and console gaming at 1080p/Full-HD were common, and Blu-ray movie discs in 1080p were starting.(DVD movie discs were 480p only) So, from 2009 onward, smart US consumers would opt to buy 1080p/Full-HD large screen LCD/LED/Plasma Digital TVs, instead of HD-Ready/720p/1080i ones.

During the transition period from Analog TV to Digital TV in 2009 or just prior, large screen 29" CRT TVs with screen resolution of 720p/1080i that can also receive Digital TV broadcasts via built-in adapters, filled a gap in market demand. Today, you can no longer buy new large 29" CRT Analog/Digital TVs.
....... Today, old small screen CRT Analog TVs can also receive Digital TV broadcasts by using an external adapter set-top box.
.
.
P S - Even though HD-Ready LCD/LED TVs can be set to 1080i (= interlaced scan), this setting is practically unviewable. So, they are normally set to 720p (= progressive scan) by default.
Last edited by michael louwe on Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:42 am, edited 3 times in total.

rene
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3687
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by rene » Mon Aug 19, 2019 4:03 am

rene wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 11:06 am
[ ... ] I've for example been impressed by my own Panasonic's upscaling from 720p (DVD) to 1080p.
Note, mistake; DVD is 720x480, not Hx720. Vertical 720 in facts also counts as HD in the nomenclature. As said, it's been a few years...

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3297
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by michael louwe » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:50 am

rene wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 4:03 am
rene wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 11:06 am
[ ... ] I've for example been impressed by my own Panasonic's upscaling from 720p (DVD) to 1080p.
Note, mistake; DVD is 720x480, not Hx720. Vertical 720 in facts also counts as HD in the nomenclature. As said, it's been a few years...
.
Yes, I just realized that DVD movie discs are 480p or SD only because of it's limited 4.7GB data capacity = can only fit 30 minutes of a 2 hour long 1080p/Full-HD movie. Only Blu-ray movie discs can be 1080p or Full-HD = 25GB data capacity.
....... OTOH, we can burn our own DVD video at 1080p = 30 minutes long only, eg home or family videos - America's Funniest Home Videos. :D
https://dvdcreator.wondershare.com/vide ... o-dvd.html - 3 Best and Free Ways to Transfer Phone Videos to DVD Directly on Windows/Mac

rene
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3687
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by rene » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:23 am

I by the way reviewed my own statements due to reading your above post, and you may wish to note that analogue television does not (really) have a horizontal resolution as such; only vertical in the sense of scanlines. Moreover, that it certainly wasn't "p" for either PAL or NTSC: all analogue broadcasting was (and usually in fact still is for digital TV broadcasting as well) interlaced; CRT decay times made progressive scan way too small of a gain to warrant the extra bandwidth. These days, digital TV's deinterlace before display...

User avatar
MurphCID
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 913
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:29 pm

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by MurphCID » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:26 am

Are you happy with it, and does it meet your needs? If so, then no, you did not make a mistake.

rene
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3687
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by rene » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:04 am

MurphCID wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:26 am
Are you happy with it, and does it meet your needs? If so, then no, you did not make a mistake.
Technological barbarians...

linux_rules
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:51 am
Contact:

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by linux_rules » Mon Aug 19, 2019 1:59 pm

rene wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 10:07 am
By the way, if you can set your set top box to 720p output its scaler might outperform your TV's built-in one.
Since both the set top box and the TV is new I didn't know that this is even an option,

After carefully studying the set top box's remote I found out how to set 720p.

Thanks a lot.
Mint 18.1
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-6100 CPU
Ram 4GB
GeForce GTX 650

rene
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3687
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by rene » Mon Aug 19, 2019 2:18 pm

Mind you, if the source when it enters the set top box is indeed 1080, i.e., if scaling is needed in the first place, it is not a given that the set top box's scaler will be better than the TV's built-in one. You'd carefully compare...

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1135
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by absque fenestris » Mon Aug 19, 2019 2:41 pm

I watch my DVD's on a B&O cathode ray tube...
Quality - well yes! Can you argue about that... Either the movies are bad - or not.

In any case, the sound is better than on any flat monster... :mrgreen:
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa (Mate) 64-bit - MacBook Pro 15" (Intel Core2 Duo, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD) - with some separation difficulties...

ColdBootII
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:19 am

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by ColdBootII » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:06 pm

^This seems to be an equally old model... :mrgreen: No HDMI or USB and not present on displayspecifications Panasonic listing (2014-now). That explains HD Ready resolution on the screen of that size. It must have been very cheap, though...

The only thing I really miss from CRT era is the unlimited contrast. Now, THAT makes a difference (particularly in the infamous dark scenes in the last season of GoT :mrgreen: ) Ok, OLED is quite close to that ideal, but overpriced and having that nasty burn-in.

linux_rules
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:51 am
Contact:

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by linux_rules » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:07 pm

rene wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 2:18 pm
Mind you, if the source when it enters the set top box is indeed 1080, i.e., if scaling is needed in the first place, it is not a given that the set top box's scaler will be better than the TV's built-in one. You'd carefully compare...
Frankly I don't see much of a difference. The picture is good in both cases.
Mint 18.1
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-6100 CPU
Ram 4GB
GeForce GTX 650

rene
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3687
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by rene » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:13 pm

OK. If at least some of your channels are delivered to you as 720 (some are for me) then keeping the set top box outputting at 720p will be best, deinterlacing only taking place in that case.

[EDIT] Looking closer at the specification sheet for your TV it seems you in fact have a 1366x768 panel (moreover, that this is standard for "HD-Ready"). As far as I can judge this would mean that your TV scales anything. Oh well...

athi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1292
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:15 am
Location: USA

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by athi » Mon Aug 19, 2019 4:44 pm

ColdBootII wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:06 pm
^This seems to be an equally old model... :mrgreen: No HDMI or USB and not present on displayspecifications Panasonic listing (2014-now). That explains HD Ready resolution on the screen of that size. It must have been very cheap, though...

The only thing I really miss from CRT era is the unlimited contrast. Now, THAT makes a difference (particularly in the infamous dark scenes in the last season of GoT :mrgreen: ) Ok, OLED is quite close to that ideal, but overpriced and having that nasty burn-in.
For that you need to find a used plasma.
Mint Mate 19.1. Main rig is HP 800G2 I5 6500 16GB ram, 120GB boot drive, 2x3TB, 1x4TB data drives. Oldest rig is Mate 18.3 on Dell D620 with 32bits core duo.

User avatar
MurphCID
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 913
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:29 pm

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by MurphCID » Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:58 am

rene wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:04 am
MurphCID wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:26 am
Are you happy with it, and does it meet your needs? If so, then no, you did not make a mistake.
Technological barbarians...
Completely. Or cheap barbarian maybe?

User avatar
vansloneker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 527
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 6:10 am

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by vansloneker » Sat Aug 31, 2019 3:12 pm

1080i is in fact just the same as 720p. Only 1080p gives you true FHD tv. Cable providers compromise on quality to save on bandwidth even if it is fooling the customer. For best TV quality use a satellite receiver. However often the FHD channels are subscription only.
Unless stated otherwise Mint 18.3-64 XFCE

===============================================================================================================================Image

User avatar
Portreve
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2007
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:03 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by Portreve » Sat Aug 31, 2019 4:24 pm

linux_rules wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 7:14 am
Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?
Yep.
I'm so down wit' dat', yo, dass ich unter dem Beton bin.

Presently rocking LinuxMint 19.2 Cinnamon.

Remember to mark your fixed problem [SOLVED].

All in all, you're just another brick in the wall.

rene
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3687
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Do you I think I have made a big mistake by buying a 720p TV ?

Post by rene » Sat Aug 31, 2019 11:54 pm

vansloneker wrote:
Sat Aug 31, 2019 3:12 pm
1080i is in fact just the same as 720p.
That is complete nonsense. 720p gets you a 1280x720 resolution, 1080i 1920x1080. It's only the bandwidth that's comparable what with the latter essentially halving framerate: 1920x1080 / (1280x720) = 2.25.

Post Reply

Return to “Open chat”