What about Opera's new and free VPN service? Too good to be true?

Chat about just about anything else
carum carvi
Level 6
Level 6

What about Opera's new and free VPN service? Too good to be true?

Post by carum carvi »

I got excited about Opera's new browser which offered unlimited VPN service. Wow. And that with only one click in your browser. For free. To good to be true?

What I have read is that Opera's VPN is not a true VPN service, but a proxy. I am not technically inclined, that's the reason why I post this question on this forum: is it too good to be true? And is the information below correct?

An additional link to a review that made me question how truly effective this free VPN service is? https://proprivacy.com/privacy-service/review/operavpn

The most important quote from the review link above:
OperaVPN is proxy, not a VPN service. Connections are secured using HTTPS, the encryption scheme which protects sensitive websites, making OperaVPN an HTTPS proxy. Because it is based on Chromium, the Opera browser supports TLS 1.3. This is the latest version of the protocol, and it is reasonable to assume that the VPN also uses TLS 1.3.
fstjohn
Level 3
Level 3

Re: What about Opera's new and free VPN service? Too good to be true?

Post by fstjohn »

Here's a pretty good review of the Opera Free VPN. All depends on what you're looking for in a VPN. From the review, looks like it'd be pretty good to protect you in a coffee shop or airport to access your bank or webmail but it only protects the Opera browser, not other things (like Thunderbird) and there's no smartphone version.
https://tech.co/vpn/opera-vpn-review
Vladimir00
Level 3
Level 3

Post by Vladimir00 »

I like opera vpn. If you need real privacy it is better not to use vpn. Tor browser best privacy tool.Unfortunately some sites not friendly for tor users.
hydrurga
Level 5
Level 5

Post by hydrurga »