IE

Chat about just about anything else
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 30 days after creation.
jpervect

IE

Post by jpervect »

What exactly do I need to do to get IE (any version) set up and running using Wine? I would like to be able to use plug-ins from third parties with IE as well, so if you know of any special configurations for that, please include them. Keep in mind that I am a total NEWBIE and don't know much about Linux, so please put it on a very simple level. Thanks in advance for your help.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 07, 2022 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 30 days after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14

Re: IE

Post by tdockery97 »

You'll never have it work well because it is certainly not meant to. That said, here is the method from WineHQ: http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?versionId=469.
Mint Cinnamon 20.1
jesica

Post by jesica »

so what is a plug-in and what do you use it for
Dave68

Post by Dave68 »

jesica wrote:so what is a plug-in and what do you use it for
In computing, a plug-in (or plugin) is a set of software components that adds specific capabilities to a larger software application. If supported, plug-ins enable customizing the functionality of an application. For example, plug-ins are commonly used in web browsers to play video, scan for viruses, and display new file types. Well-known plug-ins examples include Adobe Flash Player and QuickTime.
This being the case, why would you not just use Firefox? It has a large number of Plug-ins available, but I'm not exactly sure what type of plug-in you are trying to use?

Good Luck,
Dave
gn2

Post by gn2 »

Sometimes the Firefox User Agent Switcher add-on can be useful.....
craig10x

Post by craig10x »