Looking to run 3rd Monitor - any advice please?[SOLVED]

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
User avatar
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Donegal, Ireland

Looking to run 3rd Monitor - any advice please?[SOLVED]

Postby excollier » Tue Oct 10, 2017 6:55 am

Hi all, I am seeking to run a third monitor, is it possible to run it from the on-board graphics? The current two monotors run from a Nvidia GTX 560 Ti and very well too. Unfortunately my work is now dictating the need of a third monitor to be more efficient. Any tips gratefully accepted - maybe I just need a better card....the third monitor will be a VGA 15" Dell.

Code: Select all

ian@mint173 ~ $ inxi -Fzx
System:    Host: mint173 Kernel: 4.4.0-96-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.8.4) Desktop: Xfce 4.12.2 (Gtk 2.24.23)
           Distro: Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Machine:   Mobo: Gigabyte model: GA-78LMT-USB3 v: x.x Bios: Award v: FA date: 04/23/2013
CPU:       Quad core AMD FX-4350 (-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 33749
           clock speeds: max: 4200 MHz 1: 2800 MHz 2: 1400 MHz 3: 2800 MHz 4: 1400 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GF114 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.17.1 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1280x1024@60.0hz, 1920x1080@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 560 Ti/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 375.66 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA GF114 HDMI Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-96-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: ce00 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 870.2GB (27.4% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD2500BEVT size: 250.1GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: ST500LM012_HN size: 500.1GB ID-3: /dev/sdc model: SanDisk_SDSSDHII size: 120.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 55G used: 12G (22%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc1
           ID-2: /home size: 443G used: 211G (51%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb2
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 18.1C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:31C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 215 Uptime: 3:13 Memory: 1420.2/16029.4MB Init: Upstart runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.4
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.111) inxi: 2.2.28
 


Code: Select all

ian@mint173 ~ $ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3200 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
DVI-I-0 connected 1280x1024+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
   1280x1024      60.0*+   75.0 
   1152x864       75.0 
   1024x768       75.0     60.0 
   800x600        75.0     60.3 
   640x480        75.0     59.9 
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 598mm x 336mm
   1920x1080      60.0*+   59.9     50.0     60.1     60.0     50.0 
   1680x1050      60.0 
   1440x900       59.9 
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0 
   1280x960       60.0 
   1280x800       59.8 
   1280x720       60.0     59.9     50.0 
   1152x864       75.0 
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0 
   800x600        75.0     72.2     60.3     56.2 
   720x576        50.0 
   720x480        59.9 
   640x480        75.0     72.8     59.9     59.9 
DVI-I-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
Last edited by excollier on Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Registered Linux user #557695
Mint 17.3 XFCE &Debian 9.1 XFCE dual boot (desktop), Raspbian Jessie (Raspberry Pi)
Windows 10 VM (I know) so I can work from home.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3467
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Looking to run 3rd Monitor - any advice please?

Postby catweazel » Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am

excollier wrote:maybe I just need a better card

What is the brand and correct model name of your card?

The output you posted implies more than two ports on that card. If it has more than two then there's no reason why you can't hook up a third monitor to it; at worst you'd need to buy an active DisplayPort adapter.
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.

User avatar
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Donegal, Ireland

Re: Looking to run 3rd Monitor - any advice please?

Postby excollier » Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:12 am

The card is a Gigabyte GeForce GTX 560 Ti - it can run two of the 3 ports (one miniHDMI and two DVI) at any one time, I'm using a DVI and and the HDMI, the DVI is adapted to a VGA 19" monitor

https://www.geforce.co.uk/hardware/desk ... ifications
Registered Linux user #557695
Mint 17.3 XFCE &Debian 9.1 XFCE dual boot (desktop), Raspbian Jessie (Raspberry Pi)
Windows 10 VM (I know) so I can work from home.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3467
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Looking to run 3rd Monitor - any advice please?

Postby catweazel » Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:51 am

That link is for the GPU in your graphics card, not your graphics card. If you got the information about how many ports will work simultaneously from the manual or from the manufacturer's specifications then the answer to your question is self-evident. You will need a new video card. As for tips, I would stick with nVidia.
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.

User avatar
excollier
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Donegal, Ireland

Re: Looking to run 3rd Monitor - any advice please?

Postby excollier » Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:32 am

Yeah thanks, the manual (once I managed to find it in the house) seems to suggest combinations of two monitors, but no mention of three - new card then when I can afford one (Nvidia of course)

Card is a Gigabyte GV-N560UD-1GI

https://www.gigabyte.com/Graphics-Card/ ... -rev-10#ov
Registered Linux user #557695
Mint 17.3 XFCE &Debian 9.1 XFCE dual boot (desktop), Raspbian Jessie (Raspberry Pi)
Windows 10 VM (I know) so I can work from home.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3467
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Looking to run 3rd Monitor - any advice please?

Postby catweazel » Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:53 am

Ok, no worries. I did find this though:

A single GeForce GTX 560 Ti graphics card can support up to two displays per card in a multi-monitor configuration.


GEFORCe® GTX 560 Ti GRAPHICS CARD - page 10

Cheers.
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.


Return to “Graphic Cards & Monitors”