Screen resolution limited

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
carlitador
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:36 am

Screen resolution limited

Post by carlitador » Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:18 am

Hello everyone,

I recently bought a new monitor with 2560x1440 max resolution.
However, I can only display 1920x1080 maximum with it. I tried using VGA and HDMI and the problem is the same. Right now the monitor is plugged with HDMI.

I tried this procedure:

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode "2560x1440_60.00"  312.25  2560 2752 3024 3488  1440 1443 1448 1493 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode HDMI-0 2560x1440_60.00
But i have this error:

Code: Select all

X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  140 (RANDR)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  18 (RRAddOutputMode)
  Serial number of failed request:  38
For information, xrandr result:

Code: Select all

charles@charles-N56VM ~ $ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3286 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
HDMI-0 connected 1920x1080+1366+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 598mm x 336mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+  59.94    50.00    60.05    60.00    50.04  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1600x900      60.00  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1280x720      60.00    59.94    50.00  
   1024x768      75.03    60.00  
   800x600       75.00    60.32  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       59.94  
   640x480       75.00    59.94    59.93  
LVDS-1-1 connected primary 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 193mm
   1366x768      60.03*+
   1360x768      59.80    59.96  
   1280x720      60.00    59.99    59.86    59.74  
   1024x768      60.04    60.00  
   960x720       60.00  
   928x696       60.05  
   896x672       60.01  
   1024x576      59.95    59.96    59.90    59.82  
   960x600       59.93    60.00  
   960x540       59.96    59.99    59.63    59.82  
   800x600       60.00    60.32    56.25  
   840x525       60.01    59.88  
   864x486       59.92    59.57  
   800x512       60.17  
   700x525       59.98  
   800x450       59.95    59.82  
   640x512       60.02  
   720x450       59.89  
   700x450       59.96    59.88  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
   720x405       59.51    58.99  
   684x384       59.88    59.85  
   680x384       59.80    59.96  
   640x400       59.88    59.98  
   576x432       60.06  
   640x360       59.86    59.83    59.84    59.32  
   512x384       60.00  
   512x288       60.00    59.92  
   480x270       59.63    59.82  
   400x300       60.32    56.34  
   432x243       59.92    59.57  
   320x240       60.05  
   360x202       59.51    59.13  
   320x180       59.84    59.32  
VGA-1-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
  2560x1440_60.00 (0x368) 312.250MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  2560 start 2752 end 3024 total 3488 skew    0 clock  89.52KHz
        v: height 1440 start 1443 end 1448 total 1493           clock  59.96Hz
  1024x768 (0x4d) 65.000MHz -HSync -VSync
        h: width  1024 start 1048 end 1184 total 1344 skew    0 clock  48.36KHz
        v: height  768 start  771 end  777 total  806           clock  60.00Hz
  800x600 (0x5c) 40.000MHz +HSync +VSync
        h: width   800 start  840 end  968 total 1056 skew    0 clock  37.88KHz
        v: height  600 start  601 end  605 total  628           clock  60.32Hz
  640x480 (0x6b) 25.175MHz -HSync -VSync
        h: width   640 start  656 end  752 total  800 skew    0 clock  31.47KHz
        v: height  480 start  490 end  492 total  525           clock  59.94Hz

Does anybody know how I can fix that?
Thank you very much

gittiest personITW
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 619
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by gittiest personITW » Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:47 am

Hi,
Can you post the output to

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
and

Code: Select all

aplay -l
Last edited by gittiest personITW on Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

athi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:15 am
Location: USA

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by athi » Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:53 am

It could be the VGA or HDMI hardware version on your machine or the cables. Until recently, HDMI is limited to 1080p and VGA resolution depends on the version. Do you have DVI-D or DP output/input on the machine or monitor? Not really sure how to output VGA or HDMI version in Linux but may be able to from the output requested by gittiest personITW. Also, what is the make/model of your new monitor.

When I got my Dell 3007 (2560x1600 with only DVI-D), it took a bit of doing to get the monitor to work at 2560x1600.
Mint Mate 19.1. Main rig is HP 800G2 I5 6500 16GB ram, 120GB boot drive, 2x3TB, 1x4TB data drives. Oldest rig is Mate 18.3 on Dell D620 with 32bits core duo.

athi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:15 am
Location: USA

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by athi » Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:16 pm

Looking at your xrandr output, HDMI is max out at 1080p but VGA can support 2560x1440 but will need a high resolution cable. Be warned that even if the cable supported the resolution, there could still be ghosting.

Code: Select all

HDMI-0 connected 1920x1080+1366+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 598mm x 336mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+  59.94    50.00    60.05    60.00    50.04  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1600x900      60.00  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1280x720      60.00    59.94    50.00  
   1024x768      75.03    60.00  
   800x600       75.00    60.32  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       59.94  
   640x480       75.00    59.94    59.93 
   
   VGA-1-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
  2560x1440_60.00 (0x368) 312.250MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  2560 start 2752 end 3024 total 3488 skew    0 clock  89.52KHz
        v: height 1440 start 1443 end 1448 total 1493           clock  59.96Hz 
Mint Mate 19.1. Main rig is HP 800G2 I5 6500 16GB ram, 120GB boot drive, 2x3TB, 1x4TB data drives. Oldest rig is Mate 18.3 on Dell D620 with 32bits core duo.

carlitador
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by carlitador » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:04 pm

gittiest personITW wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:47 am
Hi,
Can you post the output to

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
and

Code: Select all

aplay -l
Hi,
Here it is:

Code: Select all

charles@charles-N56VM ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: charles-N56VM Kernel: 5.0.0-31-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.4.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu4) Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: laptop System: ASUSTeK product: N56VM v: 1.0 serial: N/A
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: N56VM v: 1.0 serial: N/A UEFI: American Megatrends v: N56VM.214 date: 08/28/2012
Battery    BAT0: charge: 22.6 Wh 98.9% condition: 22.9/57.2 Wh (40%) model: ASUSTeK N56--52 status: N/A
           hidpp__0: charge: N/A condition: NA/NA Wh
           model: Logitech Wireless Mouse MX Master 2S status: Discharging
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-3610QM (-MT-MCP-) arch: Ivy Bridge rev.9 cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 18359
           clock speeds: max: 3300 MHz 1: 1295 MHz 2: 1322 MHz 3: 1426 MHz 4: 1391 MHz 5: 1326 MHz 6: 1466 MHz
           7: 1307 MHz 8: 1615 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA GF108M [GeForce GT 620M/630M/635M/640M LE] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) drivers: modesetting,nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1366x768@60.03hz
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 630M/PCIe/SSE2 version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.116 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA GF108 High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Card-2 Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k5.0.0-31-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel Centrino Wireless-N 2230 driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR8161 Gigabit Ethernet driver: alx port: d000 bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 878.2GB (78.9% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: MTFDBAK128MAG size: 128.0GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: Hitachi_HTS54757 size: 750.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 109G used: 82G (79%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 8.47GB used: 0.78GB (9%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 65.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:89C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 3500
Info:      Processes: 289 Uptime: 2:12 Memory: 11035.9/11891.2MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.201) inxi: 2.3.56 
And

Code: Select all

charles@charles-N56VM ~ $ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC663 Analog [ALC663 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC663 Digital [ALC663 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Thank you

carlitador
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by carlitador » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:04 pm

athi wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:16 pm
Looking at your xrandr output, HDMI is max out at 1080p but VGA can support 2560x1440 but will need a high resolution cable. Be warned that even if the cable supported the resolution, there could still be ghosting.

Code: Select all

HDMI-0 connected 1920x1080+1366+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 598mm x 336mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+  59.94    50.00    60.05    60.00    50.04  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1600x900      60.00  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1280x720      60.00    59.94    50.00  
   1024x768      75.03    60.00  
   800x600       75.00    60.32  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       59.94  
   640x480       75.00    59.94    59.93 
   
   VGA-1-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
  2560x1440_60.00 (0x368) 312.250MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  2560 start 2752 end 3024 total 3488 skew    0 clock  89.52KHz
        v: height 1440 start 1443 end 1448 total 1493           clock  59.96Hz 
Thats why I tried with VGA. But it didnt solve the problem unfortunately.
Thank you

athi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:15 am
Location: USA

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by athi » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:18 pm

Your laptop only has HDMI and VGA output, so DVI or DP is not an option. Do you have any good high resolution VGA cable to try? These tends to be shorter, thick cable (shielded) with ferrite core at both ends and would support higher resolutions. Link to a high resolution VGA cable:
https://www.amazon.com/KabelDirekt-Comp ... 86&sr=8-14
Mint Mate 19.1. Main rig is HP 800G2 I5 6500 16GB ram, 120GB boot drive, 2x3TB, 1x4TB data drives. Oldest rig is Mate 18.3 on Dell D620 with 32bits core duo.

carlitador
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by carlitador » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:45 pm

athi wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:18 pm
Your laptop only has HDMI and VGA output, so DVI or DP is not an option. Do you have any good high resolution VGA cable to try? These tends to be shorter, thick cable (shielded) with ferrite core at both ends and would support higher resolutions. Link to a high resolution VGA cable:
https://www.amazon.com/KabelDirekt-Comp ... 86&sr=8-14
Nope, I dont any other cable.
I dont really understand why the cables supplied by the monitor provider are not sufficient?...

athi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:15 am
Location: USA

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by athi » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:52 pm

carlitador wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:45 pm
Nope, I dont any other cable.
I dont really understand why the cables supplied by the monitor provider are not sufficient?...
In any sane world, cable supplied with monitors should be sufficient to drive monitor at max. resolution. Does the VGA cable have ferrite cores at all?
Mint Mate 19.1. Main rig is HP 800G2 I5 6500 16GB ram, 120GB boot drive, 2x3TB, 1x4TB data drives. Oldest rig is Mate 18.3 on Dell D620 with 32bits core duo.

carlitador
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by carlitador » Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:12 pm

athi wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:52 pm
carlitador wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:45 pm
Nope, I dont any other cable.
I dont really understand why the cables supplied by the monitor provider are not sufficient?...
In any sane world, cable supplied with monitors should be sufficient to drive monitor at max. resolution. Does the VGA cable have ferrite cores at all?
I am not sure to understand what you talk about. Where and what should I look for ?
Another question: HDMI is not supporting max resolution ? :?: :|
Thank you

athi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:15 am
Location: USA

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by athi » Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:32 pm

carlitador wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:12 pm
I am not sure to understand what you talk about. Where and what should I look for ?
Another question: HDMI is not supporting max resolution ? :?: :|
Thank you
Ferrite cores are the cylindrical things on both ends of the cable in below pictures for filtering out interference.
vga.jpeg
vga.jpeg (34.74 KiB) Viewed 176 times
HDMI was geared for consumers displays (TV, monitor), so for many years were limited to 1080p x 60hz. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI
Mint Mate 19.1. Main rig is HP 800G2 I5 6500 16GB ram, 120GB boot drive, 2x3TB, 1x4TB data drives. Oldest rig is Mate 18.3 on Dell D620 with 32bits core duo.

carlitador
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by carlitador » Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:49 pm

athi wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:32 pm
carlitador wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:12 pm
I am not sure to understand what you talk about. Where and what should I look for ?
Another question: HDMI is not supporting max resolution ? :?: :|
Thank you
Ferrite cores are the cylindrical things on both ends of the cable in below pictures for filtering out interference.
vga.jpeg

HDMI was geared for consumers displays (TV, monitor), so for many years were limited to 1080p x 60hz. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI
Okay. Yes there are these ferrite cores.

carlitador
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by carlitador » Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:54 pm

Hmmm...
Strange. I just tried these commands "addmode" and it worked with VGA. But when I try to apply it on my screen, it displays "Out of range!"
Any idea?

athi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:15 am
Location: USA

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by athi » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:00 pm

What is the max. resolution you get with VGA connection? Not really sure how VGA works, if the standard is built into the hardware like HDMI or is it in the drivers. Never even tried to use VGA for 1080p or higher resolution.
Mint Mate 19.1. Main rig is HP 800G2 I5 6500 16GB ram, 120GB boot drive, 2x3TB, 1x4TB data drives. Oldest rig is Mate 18.3 on Dell D620 with 32bits core duo.

carlitador
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by carlitador » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:03 pm

athi wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:00 pm
What is the max. resolution you get with VGA connection? Not really sure how VGA works, if the standard is built into the hardware like HDMI or is it in the drivers. Never even tried to use VGA for 1080p or higher resolution.
So... What should I use for QHD then? VGA or HDMI?!
I am just saying that I was able to add a new resolution in VGA mode. But when I select it, the screen displays "out of range !"
Thank you

athi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:15 am
Location: USA

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by athi » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:11 pm

carlitador wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:03 pm

So... What should I use for QHD then? VGA or HDMI?!
I am just saying that I was able to add a new resolution in VGA mode. But when I select it, the screen displays "out of range !"
Thank you
Your laptop HDMI port does not support 2560x1440, so that is out. This is a hardware limit on the HDMI chip on your laptop.

You say that you added a VGA resolution. What is the resolution that you added, was it the 2560x1440 @60hz?
Mint Mate 19.1. Main rig is HP 800G2 I5 6500 16GB ram, 120GB boot drive, 2x3TB, 1x4TB data drives. Oldest rig is Mate 18.3 on Dell D620 with 32bits core duo.

carlitador
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by carlitador » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:22 pm

athi wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:11 pm
carlitador wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:03 pm

So... What should I use for QHD then? VGA or HDMI?!
I am just saying that I was able to add a new resolution in VGA mode. But when I select it, the screen displays "out of range !"
Thank you
Your laptop HDMI port does not support 2560x1440, so that is out. This is a hardware limit on the HDMI chip on your laptop.

You say that you added a VGA resolution. What is the resolution that you added, was it the 2560x1440 @60hz?
Yes. I added this modeline:

Code: Select all

Modeline "2560x1440_60.00"  312.25  2560 2752 3024 3488  1440 1443 1448 1493 -hsync +vsync
Thank you

athi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:15 am
Location: USA

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by athi » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:33 pm

carlitador wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:22 pm

Yes. I added this modeline:

Code: Select all

Modeline "2560x1440_60.00"  312.25  2560 2752 3024 3488  1440 1443 1448 1493 -hsync +vsync
Thank you
OK, looks like the max native resolution supported by your current VGA port is 1024x768. This could be the kernel VGA drivers limitation or hardware, so upgrading the cable might not matter. Not an expert on how VGA works, maybe MrEn have some input on this.

Code: Select all

VGA-1-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
  1024x768 (0x4d) 65.000MHz -HSync -VSync
        h: width  1024 start 1048 end 1184 total 1344 skew    0 clock  48.36KHz
        v: height  768 start  771 end  777 total  806           clock  60.00Hz
Mint Mate 19.1. Main rig is HP 800G2 I5 6500 16GB ram, 120GB boot drive, 2x3TB, 1x4TB data drives. Oldest rig is Mate 18.3 on Dell D620 with 32bits core duo.

carlitador
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:36 am

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by carlitador » Thu Oct 10, 2019 4:26 pm

athi wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:33 pm
carlitador wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:22 pm

Yes. I added this modeline:

Code: Select all

Modeline "2560x1440_60.00"  312.25  2560 2752 3024 3488  1440 1443 1448 1493 -hsync +vsync
Thank you
OK, looks like the max native resolution supported by your current VGA port is 1024x768. This could be the kernel VGA drivers limitation or hardware, so upgrading the cable might not matter. Not an expert on how VGA works, maybe MrEn have some input on this.

Code: Select all

VGA-1-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
  1024x768 (0x4d) 65.000MHz -HSync -VSync
        h: width  1024 start 1048 end 1184 total 1344 skew    0 clock  48.36KHz
        v: height  768 start  771 end  777 total  806           clock  60.00Hz
Okay. Thanks.
By the way, here is the new result of xrandr with VGA plugged in:

Code: Select all

xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3286 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
LVDS-1-1 connected primary 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 193mm
   1366x768      60.03*+
   1360x768      59.80    59.96  
   1280x720      60.00    59.99    59.86    59.74  
   1024x768      60.04    60.00  
   960x720       60.00  
   928x696       60.05  
   896x672       60.01  
   1024x576      59.95    59.96    59.90    59.82  
   960x600       59.93    60.00  
   960x540       59.96    59.99    59.63    59.82  
   800x600       60.00    60.32    56.25  
   840x525       60.01    59.88  
   864x486       59.92    59.57  
   800x512       60.17  
   700x525       59.98  
   800x450       59.95    59.82  
   640x512       60.02  
   720x450       59.89  
   700x450       59.96    59.88  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
   720x405       59.51    58.99  
   684x384       59.88    59.85  
   680x384       59.80    59.96  
   640x400       59.88    59.98  
   576x432       60.06  
   640x360       59.86    59.83    59.84    59.32  
   512x384       60.00  
   512x288       60.00    59.92  
   480x270       59.63    59.82  
   400x300       60.32    56.34  
   432x243       59.92    59.57  
   320x240       60.05  
   360x202       59.51    59.13  
   320x180       59.84    59.32  
VGA-1-1 connected 1920x1080+1366+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 597mm x 336mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1600x900      60.00  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1152x864      75.00  
   1280x720      60.00  
   1024x768      75.03    60.00  
   832x624       74.55  
   800x600       75.00    60.32  
   640x480       75.00    59.94  
   720x400       70.08  
   2560x1440_60.00  59.96  
  2560x1440_60.00 (0x44c) 312.250MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  2560 start 2752 end 3024 total 3488 skew    0 clock  89.52KHz
        v: height 1440 start 1443 end 1448 total 1493           clock  59.96Hz

athi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:15 am
Location: USA

Re: Screen resolution limited

Post by athi » Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:02 pm

Getting 1080p with VGA, that is better. All I can think of at this point is to create a snapshot, so you can go back, and upgrade to the latest supported kernel and see if that give you more options for drivers and maybe higher resolutions.
Mint Mate 19.1. Main rig is HP 800G2 I5 6500 16GB ram, 120GB boot drive, 2x3TB, 1x4TB data drives. Oldest rig is Mate 18.3 on Dell D620 with 32bits core duo.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”