Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
sam33
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:42 pm

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by sam33 »

I have the same device as "Theo81" and same problem. my optimus nvidia doesn't work at all!
Is someone working on this problem?

User avatar
Theo81
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 11:50 am
Location: Italy

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by Theo81 »

mint-me wrote:Strange? Since Bumblebee 3 and Mint 12/13 i reckon 99% of the time it works fine - there are a few notebook models that require special fix. I have few basic fixes up my sleeve, but beyond that, I recommend putting the issue forward on the development github https://github.com/Bumblebee-Project/Bumblebee and of course sending in the bug reports. Lekensteyn is the dev with great experience on Ubuntu/Mint Bumblebee, and you WILL get it done with a little patience. I managed to get it working good in Debian Squeeze and Wheezy too. In 6 months we may have David Airlie's Prime which will give Optimus support out-of-the-box.
Let us know how you go...
Sorry for the delay with the answer; thanks for the help, i'm going to post the issue on launchpad. I will tell in this forum if there will be some news.
I'm a really common case of PEBKAC using Linux Mint 13 with Cinnamon
Image

User avatar
tany3450
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:29 am

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by tany3450 »

mint-me wrote: sudo add-apt-repository ppa:bumblebee/stable
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install bumblebee bumblebee-nvidia
I've installed it with these codes. now how can i check if it is working or not ? thanks !

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6714
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by AlbertP »

Please run these commands in terminal and post the output:

Code: Select all

inxi -Gx
optirun inxi -Gx
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

User avatar
tany3450
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:29 am

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by tany3450 »

Code: Select all

Graphics:  Card-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0 
           Card-2: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 540M] bus-ID: 01:00.0 
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: vesa,fbdev) Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Mobile GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 8.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes



Graphics:  Card-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0 
           Card-2: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 540M] bus-ID: 01:00.0 
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: vesa,fbdev) Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GT 540M/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 4.2.0 NVIDIA 295.40 Direct Rendering: Yes

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6714
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by AlbertP »

Right. Without optirun it's using the Intel GPU and it switches to NVIDIA when requested with optirun. That's working.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

User avatar
tany3450
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:29 am

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by tany3450 »

thats good. thank you.

User avatar
tany3450
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:29 am

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by tany3450 »

AlbertP wrote:it switches to NVIDIA when requested with optirun.
hi again. how can i do that ? thanks ! and if i switches to NVIDIA with optirun and then restart my computer it will run with INTEL or NVIDIA ? if INTEL than its ok

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6714
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by AlbertP »

You can put optirun before a command to run that on NVIDIA graphics. If the program you want to run is in the menu, then you can right-click the menu button > Edit, to edit the command and add optirun at the start.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

sam33
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:42 pm

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by sam33 »

Take a look at this:
http://askubuntu.com/questions/159767/n ... untu-12-04
It solved my optimus nvidia GeForce 520M finally. :D
problem was at 'bumblebee.conf'

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf
which should have these stuff, find them and add if necessary:
  • ...
    [bumblebeed]
    Driver=nvidia
    ...
    [driver-nvidia]
    KernelDriver=nvidia-current
    Module=nvidia
    ...
and then write:

Code: Select all

sudo service bumblebeed restart
when you try:

Code: Select all

optirun glxgears
you'll see those beautifull gears! and hopefully you're becoming the happiest person ever! :)

Let me know, if this was helpful, or just add [solved] to the topic.
Last edited by sam33 on Thu May 09, 2013 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6714
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by AlbertP »

To the people who are getting error messages when doing optirun, you can solve that by re-installing Bumblebee:

Code: Select all

apt install --reinstall bumblebee
Users of Ubuntu may have to install linux-headers from the repository first. This is suggested in a number of how-to's on the web. But on Linux Mint this is already installed.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

LinuxN00bTM
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:24 am

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by LinuxN00bTM »

2 weeks later,4 mint distros and still can't get the nvidia driver to work!

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6714
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Linux 13 and nVidia Optimus

Post by AlbertP »

@ LinuxN00bTM: Please open your own topic, and in that topic please describe what NVIDIA card you have and which drivers failed for you.

You can run this command in terminal to get some useful information about your computer's graphics:

Code: Select all

inxi -Gx
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”