Installing NVIDIA 310.14 on Linux Mint Mate?

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
djt

Installing NVIDIA 310.14 on Linux Mint Mate?

Post by djt »

I'm trying to install the latest Nvidia 310.14 drivers on a fresh reformat with Linux Mint Mate 64-bit and was wondering if someone here could give me the exact install process using the terminal?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Jamesc359

Re: Installing NVIDIA 310.14 on Linux Mint Mate?

Post by Jamesc359 »

I'm not an expert, but this is what I did;
Download the installer from NVidia
sudo init 1
Wait until you're prompted for the root password. Normally this will be the same as yours (unless you've configured it differently.)
cd to the directory where you downloaded the installer.
sh <Installer>
When it yells at you for running at runlevel 1, ignore it and tell it No (you want to continue.)
Accept the agreement.
If it prompts you to uninstall another driver tell it yes.
Continue past the warning about the pre-install script failing.
The next two options are upto you. I chose yes to both.
When it prompts you to run nvidia-xconfig do so.
Now run shutdown -r now
bassic

Post by bassic »

Jamesc359 wrote:I'm not an expert, but this is what I did;
Download the installer from NVidia
sudo init 1
Wait until you're prompted for the root password. Normally this will be the same as yours (unless you've configured it differently.)
cd to the directory where you downloaded the installer.
sh <Installer>
When it yells at you for running at runlevel 1, ignore it and tell it No (you want to continue.)
Accept the agreement.
If it prompts you to uninstall another driver tell it yes.
Continue past the warning about the pre-install script failing.
The next two options are upto you. I chose yes to both.