GMA 3600 works under Mint 14 Cinnamon Live, not installed

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Kruno
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 8:48 pm

GMA 3600 works under Mint 14 Cinnamon Live, not installed

Postby Kruno » Wed Nov 28, 2012 9:03 pm

I have a realy strange situation.

Booted live Mint 14 Cinnamon edition on Acer Aspire One D270 (Atom N2600, GMA 3600) and X11 was working fine.

After install X11 fails with:
Fatal server error:
no screens found


Is there a way to get running xorg config from live cd? Does live cd have support for GMA 3600 and regular does not?

User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1359
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: GMA 3600 works under Mint 14 Cinnamon Live, not installe

Postby mank_in » Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:00 am

LM 14 Cinnamon live cd ( not a new 14.1 ISO ) use gallium llvmpipe software rendering , but after installed will use Mesa DRI rendering. see : http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2234
I don't know if 14.1 ISO will correcting your problem. I didn't have intel GMA 3600 to try.
You can try add nomodeset to force software rendering .
while booting, hold shift keys until grub option appeared . press "e" to edit.
insert line : nomodeset after quiet splash
press ctrl + x to boot

update : i read a lot of people cannot boot aspire one D270 to ubuntu 12.10 ( LM 14 parent ), but boot with software rendering to ubuntu 12.04 ( LM 13 ). see : http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2074161
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.


Return to “Graphic Cards & Monitors”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest