Screen freezes every few seconds [SOLVED]

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
uvlt
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:36 pm

Screen freezes every few seconds [SOLVED]

Postby uvlt » Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:22 pm

Hallo
I've just installed LM14 cinammon x64, on my PC (Core2Quad 8200/Nvidia Geforce 440 1G GDDR5/Asus p5W DH/WD Sata2 320).
The problem is that my desktop freezes for about half second, every 5-6 minutes. I've installed the 313.09 Nvidia drivers.
I removed nouneau drivers, (http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=191&p=557800). but i couldn not remove libdrm-nouveau1a because of broken packages, but i have no such packages, according to synaptic... Anyway, no luck :(
I don't want to start a new installation, i prefer to solve the problem, but i don't know how.
My PC is dual boot. Checked with windows7, there is no problem at all. The same (no problem) was with my previews Mint Installations. (11,13...). There was of course older nvidia drivers (304...)
Any idea?
Thanks
Last edited by uvlt on Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19380
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Screen freezes every few seconds

Postby xenopeek » Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:51 am

Moved here as it is most likely your graphics card or driver. But it could be something else; please share the output of the following command run from the terminal. This may provide information for others here to help you. If this is a laptop, please also share the make & model of it. You can copy text to/from the terminal, see its Edit menu.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Image

uvlt
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:36 pm

Re: Screen freezes every few seconds

Postby uvlt » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:18 am

OK, thanks..
Here's the output of the inxi-Fxz command

Code: Select all

System:    Host: Underground Kernel: 3.7.0-7-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.7.2) Desktop: Gnome Distro: Linux Mint 14 Nadia
Machine:   System: ASUSTEK product: P5W DH Deluxe
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P5W DH Deluxe version: Rev 1.xx Bios: American Megatrends version: 3001 date: 10/22/2009
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 ssse3) bmips: 19624
           Clock Speeds: 1: 2453.007 MHz 2: 2453.007 MHz 3: 2453.007 MHz 4: 2453.007 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 440] bus-ID: 06:00.0 X.Org: 1.13.1.901 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1920x1080@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GT 440/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 313.09 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1: NVIDIA GF108 High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 06:00.1
           Card-2: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-3: Texas Instruments Japan PCM2900 Audio Codec driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 08bb:2900
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.7.0-7-generic
Network:   Card-1: Marvell 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: sky2 ver: 1.30 port: a800 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: eth1 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Marvell 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: sky2 ver: 1.30 port: b800 bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-3: Realtek RTL8187 Wireless Adapter driver: rtl8187 usb-ID: 0bda:8187
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1484.2GB (76.9% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD1600AAJS size: 160.0GB
           2: id: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD1600AVJS size: 160.0GB 3: id: /dev/sdc model: Maxtor_6Y160M0 size: 163.9GB
           4: id: /dev/sdd model: HDS721010CLA332 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID: / size: 20G used: 5.1G (28%) fs: ext4 ID: /home size: 114G used: 47G (43%) fs: ext4
           ID: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 20.0C mobo: 31.0C gpu: 0.0:42C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 0 psu: 0 sys-1: 0 sys-2: 0
Info:      Processes: 187 Uptime: 5 min Memory: 867.5/3953.9MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.7.2 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4

.... :?

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19380
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Screen freezes every few seconds

Postby xenopeek » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:45 am

Aside from the upgraded kernel, there isn't anything jumping out for me that could be the cause of this. After the next freeze is over, try opening the /var/log/syslog file (its a plain text file). Go to the end, see if any errors or warnings are given around the time of the freeze?
Image

uvlt
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:36 pm

Re: Screen freezes every few seconds

Postby uvlt » Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:30 pm

Thanks for the reply
I just checked the syslog file, but nothing about an error for the last 20 minutes is recorded (but i keep having the problem...)

uvlt
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:36 pm

Re: Screen freezes every few seconds [SOLVED]

Postby uvlt » Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:20 pm

Finally i found the solution. It was just an applet in cinnamon panel, but i don't remember exactly the name of the applet, as it is about a month ago. :oops:
I think it was something with CPU temperature monitor...

timjam
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:31 pm

Re: Screen freezes every few seconds [SOLVED]

Postby timjam » Wed Dec 30, 2015 3:57 pm

THANK YOU for posting the follow up message with the fix!!!

I had the same problem and uninstaling the CPU Temperature Indicator 1.0 applet fixed the problem.

Sadly it looks like that applet is no longer in active development.


Return to “Graphic Cards & Monitors”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests