Quad Monitor Set Up

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
david.perez.1967
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 11:14 pm
Contact:

Quad Monitor Set Up

Postby david.perez.1967 » Fri Apr 26, 2013 11:31 pm

I have just installed Linux Mint on my box and I am loving it. However, I have been unable to get it to display on my other two monitors. It works great with two, it will see both of my video cards but displays only two. If I switch the monitor from one card to the other and reboot, it will display on that card without any issues. Please help. :-)

General Grievous
David Perez
E-Mail: generalgrievousv@gmail.com

User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1649
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Quad Monitor Set Up

Postby catweazel » Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:48 am

david.perez.1967 wrote:I have just installed Linux Mint on my box and I am loving it. However, I have been unable to get it to display on my other two monitors. It works great with two, it will see both of my video cards but displays only two. If I switch the monitor from one card to the other and reboot, it will display on that card without any issues. Please help. :-)

What edition and version of Mint? What video card? What driver are you using?
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.14.2, custom preemptive kernel 3.16.5,
Intel i7 4820K @ 4.7GHz, 32GB Corsair Vengeance Pro
3122MHz XMP, 4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in
RAID0, 6TB HW RAID10, 3 x 24" Samsung UlHD,
Dual R290X

david.perez.1967
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 11:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Quad Monitor Set Up

Postby david.perez.1967 » Sun Apr 28, 2013 2:47 am

What edition and version of Mint?
[] Linux Mint 14 Nadia

What video card?
[] HIS Radeon HD 5450 512MB PCIe2.1

What driver are you using?
[] XORG
David Perez
E-Mail: generalgrievousv@gmail.com

User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1649
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Quad Monitor Set Up

Postby catweazel » Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:14 am

Ok, it's highly likely you'll have to install the binary driver. I am assuming here that you have two HIS Radeon HD 5450s. I base that on your previous posts. If you have some card other than a second Radeon, don't do this:

Code: Select all

$ sudo apt-get remove --purge xserver-xorg-video-ati xserver-xorg-video-radeon
$ sudo reboot
$ sudo apt-get install fglrx-amdcccle-updates
$ sudo aticonfig --initial
$ sudo reboot

Note that there are two reboots in that list of commands.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.14.2, custom preemptive kernel 3.16.5,
Intel i7 4820K @ 4.7GHz, 32GB Corsair Vengeance Pro
3122MHz XMP, 4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in
RAID0, 6TB HW RAID10, 3 x 24" Samsung UlHD,
Dual R290X


Return to “Graphic Cards & Monitors”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests