[SOLVED] Wrong monitor size + display doesn't fit TV screen

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
polo199

[SOLVED] Wrong monitor size + display doesn't fit TV screen

Post by polo199 »

Hi,

I'm new to Mint (and a newbie on Linux). Anyways... I have a display issue with my Linux Mint 17.1 which is running on my new Intel NUC DN2820. I've connected it over HDMI to an old Panasonic 37" HD-ready plasma TV.

After a couple of tries, I managed to get the NUC connected over HDMI to the TV. However, the image is a bit cropped. Every side of it is just a bit too large to fit the screen. For example, I can just see the top 1/3rd of the taskbar.

I've checked the display properties and I can see that Mint does detect that I have a Panasonic TV but it detects a 32" screen whereas my TV is 37". I don't know how to change that.

I've tried several resolutions but the image never fits my the screen perfectly.

I've used the usual trick to install the Intel Graphics driver and it improved the situation a little (image is fitting the screen a tad better and colours looks better too). However, it is still not OK.
I've connected my PC to a normal PC LCD screen and it works perfectly fine with the image fitting the screen perfectly.

- Is there any way i can force a 37" monitor info in the display properties?
- Would a resolution fit the screen (or is it always "interpreting" and I will not be able to get a good image on that old plasma TV)?

My problem looks quite similar to this one:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=174417
Except that (unfortunately) I have no ATI card. I have an Intel embedded chipset.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Paul
Last edited by polo199 on Fri Dec 05, 2014 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
roblm
Level 15
Level 15

Re: Wrong monitor size + display doesn't fit TV screen

Post by roblm »