How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
arboon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 10:18 am

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by arboon » Wed Aug 19, 2009 4:13 am

Hi Reda
I have not found any solution to this problem. In my case, the res was stuck at 800x600 max. When I started the Live CD in my laptop instead of desktop (where I installed Mint), it did gave a max res of 1024x720. When I installed the proper driver for this card, it got even worse, 640x400 max....This considering, I think it has something to do with the proper detection of the monitor (which in my case did not work, I have really no clue why). However, strangely enough, I can not force Mint to a higher resolution (in startup options or xconfig.org e.g.), which everyone ususally states is THE solution. In the other forums which I have read, comparable problems persist wityh older NVidia cards and ATI cards.
For me, my solution was to change to another distro (Open Suse, which I had installed earlier, but this is a personal choice which may not apply to you). Although I also really like Mint, probably this is something "they" have not yet solved and I think will not solve. Our graphic cards are simply not compatible, but again, why, I have no idea. My advice would be to change to another distro instead of wasting much time on (not) finding a solution.

In Windows, my minimum res is 800x600!!! I can go much higher than 1024x720. So it is not the monitor (of course it is not), it is the driver in combination with the program. Maybe someone did find a solution, but I did not find it. Changing software for the X-screen never worked in my case anyway.

Best luck.
Arjen

reda
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:09 am

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by reda » Fri Aug 21, 2009 7:28 am

hi arjent.
i think your solution is the best.but for me i ll try to change my card because my friend who use the same os and a new card all resolution can display .so i think(iam sure )that the SOLUTION IS CHANGE YOUR CARD AND ENJOY .
thanks

gcampton
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 7:59 pm

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by gcampton » Fri Sep 18, 2009 6:28 am

you may want to add that after install, deleting you config file and rebooting the OS can fix resolution problems that persist past driver upgrade.

may want to suggest simply moving the config from /etc/X11/ to home folder to check if it works. and or renaming the file.

kurmanah
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 12:11 am

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by kurmanah » Sun Sep 20, 2009 12:38 am

None of this options worked for me :( I did everything exactly the same. This is my xorg:

Code: Select all

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
System change screen resolution hasn't worked and also when I put gksu nvidia-settings under root, I get information: "You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run `nvidia-xconfig` as root), and restart the X server." So what should I change?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by Husse » Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am

You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver.
Maybe you are using the open source driver nv
This is valid only after you have installed the restricted nvidia drivers
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

kurmanah
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 12:11 am

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by kurmanah » Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:05 pm

I get information: You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run `nvidia-xconfig` as root), and restart the X server.
I have nvidia-glx-180 installed. Is that right driver?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by Husse » Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:32 am

Is that right driver?
Please check with nvidia - list of cards here
The first section is for the 18x driver
I need to know which card you have to be able to answer
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

kurmanah
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 12:11 am

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by kurmanah » Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:45 am

Husse wrote: Please check with nvidia - list of cards here
The first section is for the 18x driver
I need to know which card you have to be able to answer
Presario V6500 Notebook PC
NVIDIA GeForce 7150M / nForce 630M

kurmanah
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 12:11 am

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by kurmanah » Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:53 am

I have no problems with resolution under Ubuntu. Now I try Mint on usb pendrive maybe that's why I have the problem....?

professormoog
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by professormoog » Fri May 07, 2010 7:19 pm

Hello!
I have recently installed Linux mint 8 (dual booted with Vista) and generally it's good.
I still use Vista most while I'm getting used to Mint. I prefer Mint to Ubuntu, PC Linux, and Mandriva as mostly everything works out of the box with mint, there was too much to do with the other distros to get stuff to work.

My system is - Acer Aspire T671. Dual core 2.8ghz processors x 2; 2GB Ram; 250GB hd; 1GB Nvidia GeForce 8600 GT Graphics card.

I'm having problems with setting the resolution. I have downloaded the drivers reccommended by Mint - NVIDIA-Linux-x86-185.36.15.pkg1.run
I seem to be running the 185.18.36-0ubuntu9 version according to EnvyNG.

I am currently using, 1280x1024 resolution while in Vista but when I'm using Mint 8, I open NVIDIA X Server Settings I don't have that resolution as an option. the nearest I can get is - 1152x864 which makes everything a little thinner, although it is a better resolution than the 1024x768 it keeps re-setting to.
Also when I click on Save to X configuration file I get this - Failed to parse existing X config file '/etc/X11/xorg.cong'!
My question is! - How do I get the resolution I need (1280x1024) and then how do I get it to stay please?

I have tried almost everything I've read to make it work but it doesn't seem to. I am a total beginner. I can't seem to get anything to work in the command line either! So GUI type stuff only please!

Thank you in advance - Matt :roll:
I'm alright, if you like that sort of thing, which prsonally I don't...

User avatar
distro hopper
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:06 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by distro hopper » Fri May 07, 2010 9:55 pm

First, run this from a terminal window:

Code: Select all

sudo nvidia-xconfig
This will clear your xorg.conf file (well, make it ready for nvidia stuff to be used). Then, As root, change your settings with:

Code: Select all

sudo nvidia-settings
It's important to run nvidia-settings as root, so you can save the information to the root-owned xorg.conf file. It's odd that you can't get the full resolution you want, I wish I could help you with that problem.
Distrohopper
Image

professormoog
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by professormoog » Mon May 10, 2010 3:24 pm

Hi Thanks for info

I cut n paste the bits you out and for some reason I can't get sound on anything at all!

Any help appreciated! :?
I'm alright, if you like that sort of thing, which prsonally I don't...

professormoog
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by professormoog » Tue May 18, 2010 8:24 pm

professormoog wrote:Hi Thanks for info

I cut n paste the bits you out and for some reason I can't get sound on anything at all!

Any help appreciated! :?
Hello can anybody help please?

I followed the instructions as above to fix my screen resolution (this worked - thank you) but now I have no sound for anything in Linux Mint. my Vista installation still works perfectly so i know the hardware is ok. I guess something in the software got knocked out when I changed the resolution settings...

Any help would be appreciated. I don't know how to reverse what I've done. So I can't see if it rectifies itself..

Thanks muchly :?

Matt
I'm alright, if you like that sort of thing, which prsonally I don't...

User avatar
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2719
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by dawgdoc » Tue May 18, 2010 9:03 pm

Professormoog,

I do not have an answer to your sound problems, but to help you should post a little additional info about your system. Enter these commands into a terminal and paste the results.

Code: Select all

lspci | grep Audio
this begins with a lower case L

and

Code: Select all

inxi -A
If you do not get an answer in a reasonable time, you might want to make a post to here saying that you are starting a new topic. In the new topic restate what was done and what happened. Sometimes when you post at the end of an old topic, people do not notice that something new has been added.
Image

SYSTEM: Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon
READING: Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

professormoog
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by professormoog » Wed May 19, 2010 6:47 am

Hello

Thanks for reply, here's what came up -

~ $ lspci | grep Audio
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)

~ $ inxi -A
Audio: Card ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver HDA Intel
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.20


Any ideas what next? Thank you :oops:
I'm alright, if you like that sort of thing, which prsonally I don't...

User avatar
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2719
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by dawgdoc » Wed May 19, 2010 8:35 am

Any ideas what next? Thank you
Unfortunately, no. I had in mind that you may have had an NVidia chipset and the nvidia-xconfig may have cleared more than the monitor settings. If you have checked all sound settings using the applet in the panel, control center, and preferences utility, and any speaker connections; I do not know.

You could always, using Package Manager/Synaptic, completely remove and then re-install the packages relating to sound (PulseAudio, ALSA, etc). If you follow this route note that there is a difference between Remove and Completely Remove. The second removes the package and any related config files. Otherwise when you re-install you will have the same configuration.
Image

SYSTEM: Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon
READING: Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

trampintransit
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:31 pm

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by trampintransit » Mon Jun 14, 2010 6:22 am

on mint 9, i can get the nvidia settings dialogue up no probs, but it just isn't offering me anything above 1360x768 and i need 1920 x 1080. pain is that i know it can be done EASILY. I have another 'puter in the house with mint8 and i remember having the same problems and it ws fixed really easily by writing in the increased resolution somewhere in a 'screen' setting in a terminal. The increased res then appeared in the nvidia settings box. If only i can find that solution again, it's worth it. Once i fixed mt other 'puter to run 1920x1080, my OTHER XP box just site and gathers dust!

User avatar
KittyCat
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:01 am
Location: In the bar.

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by KittyCat » Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:06 pm

That was all I needed to do, just open it with gksu? :shock: GAH! Days of changing my resolution on log-in could have been avoided! :x

Thanks for posting that! I wish I had been smart enough to look in this forum sooner, instead of the hardware forum. :)

EDIT:
I spoke too soon. I have tried both the gksu and sudo solutions posted in this thread, but my resolution keeps reverting back to 1280x1024 as soon as I reboot. The first thing I do after logging in is inevitably to set my resolution back to the wide screen proportions of my monitor.

Not amused here. :( Now what?
Learning Mint, in Julia, on a desktop with 3.0GHz Pentium 4, GeForce 7800GS, 2GB RAM, and Belkin F5D8053. :)
The world ends with you. If you want to enjoy life, expand your world. You gotta push your horizons out as far as they’ll go. -- TWEWY

User avatar
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2719
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by dawgdoc » Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:44 am

@Kittycat

a starting point would be to paste the output of the following two terminal commands

Code: Select all

inxi -G
xrandr
the first will indicate your graphics chipset and driver in use, the second will show resolutions possible with your current setup.

You are using the Gnome edition of Mint?
Image

SYSTEM: Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon
READING: Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

User avatar
KittyCat
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:01 am
Location: In the bar.

Re: How to get Nvidia Cards Reolution set

Post by KittyCat » Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:52 pm

Yes, I'm using the Gnome edition of Gloria Universal. When I used Ubuntu several years ago it was with Gnome, so I'm sticking with what I am (vaguely) familiar with.

Output from the commands:

Code: Select all

mimsy@mint ~ $ inxi -G
Graphics:  Card nVidia G70 [GeForce 7800 GS] X.Org 1.6.0 Res 1440x900@50.0hz
           GLX Renderer GeForce 7800 GS/AGP/SSE2 GLX Version 2.1.2 NVIDIA 180.44
and

Code: Select all

mimsy@mint ~ $ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1440 x 900, maximum 1440 x 900
default connected 1440x900+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1440x900       50.0*    51.0  
   1360x768       52.0     53.0  
   1152x864       54.0     55.0     56.0     57.0  
   1024x768       58.0     59.0     60.0  
   960x600        61.0  
   960x540        62.0  
   840x525        63.0     64.0     65.0  
   832x624        66.0  
   800x600        67.0     68.0     69.0     70.0     71.0     72.0  
   800x512        73.0  
   720x450        74.0  
   680x384        75.0     76.0  
   640x512        77.0     78.0  
   640x480        79.0     80.0     81.0     82.0  
   576x432        83.0     84.0     85.0     86.0  
   512x384        87.0     88.0     89.0  
   416x312        90.0  
   400x300        91.0     92.0     93.0     94.0  
   320x240        95.0     96.0     97.0  
When I logged in the resolution was at 1280x1024, and I manually changed it by typing in "sudo nvidia-xconfig" in a terminal and using the nVidia settings box that came up. When I did that yesterday it changed back to 1280x1024 the next time I logged in. Since that is blurry and makes my eyes hurt, I changed it back to where I want it.

Before you say anything, I know 1208x1024 isn't in the list from xrandr, but its in the list that the nVidia config window gives me. :)

Oh, also, 1280x1024 was the maximum resolution of my old monitor, that I had connected when I installed Mint. Does that matter?
Learning Mint, in Julia, on a desktop with 3.0GHz Pentium 4, GeForce 7800GS, 2GB RAM, and Belkin F5D8053. :)
The world ends with you. If you want to enjoy life, expand your world. You gotta push your horizons out as far as they’ll go. -- TWEWY

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”