NVIDIA updated and lost display

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
User avatar
palo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:28 am
Location: Walking on sunshine

NVIDIA updated and lost display

Post by palo » Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:16 am

Hello.

Hoping for some help to get my display back. I ran MintUpdate today which installed nVidia 304 and 340 updates. I have a 8600 GT card and was using the 304 updates driver as I remember. After a reboot I get a shell only and with a STARTX command get some error displays:

NVIDIA:API mismatch: the NVIDIA kernel module has version 340.93 but this NVIDIA driver component has version 304.128. Please make sure that the kernel module and all NVIDIA driver components have the same version.

Fatal server error:
No screens found

I assume this problem happened as kernel modules built during the update. I rebooted right after the update.

Finding a similar case it was reported that a solution was to apt-get purge nvidia-* http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2205149
Before I try this I would like to know if it is the best solution and if so what the next steps might be.
Using Maya XFCE.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10995
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: NVIDIA updated and lost display

Post by Pjotr » Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:33 pm

Purging the current nvidia packages looks like a good idea. That should force your system to fall back on the nouveau driver. Afterwards, reboot.

Finally, install the legacy nvidia-304 again and *do not* change this ever again. Not the nvidia-304-updates either; just the legacy nvidia-304. Then reboot.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

User avatar
palo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:28 am
Location: Walking on sunshine

Re: NVIDIA updated and lost display

Post by palo » Tue Sep 29, 2015 4:11 pm

Thanks for your input Pjotr. That worked and I am back in business.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”