<SOLVED> Monitor re-positions on reboot. AMD Radeon HD 6670

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
lotharjade
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:43 pm
Location: Alaska

<SOLVED> Monitor re-positions on reboot. AMD Radeon HD 6670

Post by lotharjade »

I position my monitor with Catalyst Control Center (with a larger Samsung monitor on the right, and a smaller Dell monitor on the left), save my settings, but when I reboot the monitors re-position themselves to the wrong position. :?: I cleaned up my monitors.xml file, but that didn't fix anything. What is causing the monitors to switch places, and how do I fix that?

(I am not sure what info to post, so here goes)

monitors.xml

Code: Select all

<monitors version="1">
  <configuration>
      <clone>no</clone>
      <output name="HDMI-0">
          <vendor>SAM</vendor>
          <product>0x07d4</product>
          <serial>0x5a335552</serial>
          <width>1920</width>
          <height>1080</height>
          <rate>60</rate>
          <x>1280</x>
          <y>0</y>
          <rotation>normal</rotation>
          <reflect_x>no</reflect_x>
          <reflect_y>no</reflect_y>
          <primary>yes</primary>
      </output>
      <output name="DVI-0">
      </output>
      <output name="VGA-0">
          <vendor>DEL</vendor>
          <product>0xa00b</product>
          <serial>0x33564a53</serial>
          <width>1280</width>
          <height>1024</height>
          <rate>60</rate>
          <x>0</x>
          <y>56</y>
          <rotation>normal</rotation>
          <reflect_x>no</reflect_x>
          <reflect_y>no</reflect_y>
          <primary>no</primary>
      </output>
  </configuration>
</monitors>
inxi -Fxz

Code: Select all

$ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: ggggg Kernel: 3.16.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.8.2) 
           Desktop: Cinnamon 2.6.13  Distro: Linux Mint 17.2 Rafaela
Machine:   Mobo: TAR model: TF8200 A2+ Bios: American Megatrends version: 080015 date: 01/15/2010
CPU:       Dual core AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 svm) bmips: 4799.52 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1000.00 MHz 2: 1000.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Turks XT [Radeon HD 6670/7670] bus-ID: 02:00.0 
           X.Org: 1.15.1 driver: fglrx Resolution: 1920x1080@60.0hz, 1280x1024@75.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: AMD Radeon HD 6670 GLX Version: 4.4.13374 - CPC 15.20.1013 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Turks/Whistler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6000 Series] 
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 02:00.1 
           Card-2: Creative Labs SB Audigy driver: snd_emu10k1 port: cc00 bus-ID: 01:08.0 
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.16.0-38-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller 
           driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e800 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1060.2GB (52.6% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: OCZ size: 60.0GB 
           2: USB id: /dev/sdb model: 10EADS_External size: 1000.2GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 48G used: 28G (62%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 7.80GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 17.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 29.00C 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 190 Uptime: 8 min Memory: 1350.1/3953.0MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.4 
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.11) inxi: 1.9.17 
xrandr

Code: Select all

 xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3200 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
DFP1 connected primary 1920x1080+1280+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 509mm x 286mm
   1920x1080      60.0*+   50.0     59.9     50.0     60.1     60.0  
   1600x1200      60.0  
   1776x1000      50.0     59.9     50.0     60.0  
   1680x1050      60.0  
   1400x1050      60.0  
   1600x900       60.0  
   1360x1024      60.0  
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1440x900       75.0     59.9  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1280x900       60.0  
   1360x768       75.0     59.9  
   1280x800       59.8  
   1152x864       59.9     75.0  
   1280x768       59.8  
   1280x720       50.0     60.0     59.9  
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
   1152x648       50.0     59.9  
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
   720x576        59.9     50.0  
   848x480        75.0     70.1     60.0  
   720x480        60.0     59.9  
   640x480        72.8     75.0     66.6     59.9  
DFP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
CRT1 connected 1280x1024+0+56 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 338mm x 270mm
   1280x1024      75.0*+   60.0 +
   1280x960       75.0     60.0  
   1280x900       75.0     60.0  
   1280x800       75.0     60.0  
   1152x864       60.0     75.0  
   1280x768       75.0     60.0  
   1280x720       75.0     60.0  
   1024x768       75.0     60.0  
   800x600        75.0     60.3  
   848x480        75.0     60.0  
   720x480        75.0     60.3  
   640x480        75.0     59.9  
xorg.conf

Code: Select all

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "amdcccle Layout"
	Screen      0  "amdcccle-Screen[2]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "0-DFP1"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "60"
	Option	    "Position" "1280 0"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "0-CRT1"
	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
	Option	    "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
	Option	    "TargetRefresh" "75"
	Option	    "Position" "0 56"
	Option	    "Rotate" "normal"
	Option	    "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "amdcccle-Device[2]-0"
	Driver      "fglrx"
	Option	    "Monitor-DFP1" "0-DFP1"
	Option	    "Monitor-CRT1" "0-CRT1"
	BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[2]-0"
	Device     "amdcccle-Device[2]-0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection
Last edited by lotharjade on Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Have you tried turning it off and on again, then hitting it repeatedly? :/

lotharjade
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:43 pm
Location: Alaska

Re: Monitor re-positions on reboot. AMD Radeon HD 6670

Post by lotharjade »

I tried posting my Xorg.0.log file on here as well, but Linux Mint Forums keeps having a problem with it. If I try to preview, it deletes the message and says "Your message contains too few characters". odd.
Have you tried turning it off and on again, then hitting it repeatedly? :/

User avatar
roblm
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3824
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Monitor re-positions on reboot. AMD Radeon HD 6670

Post by roblm »

The only problem I see is that the refresh rate in the monitors.xml file for the Dell monitor shows 60, but the xrandr output and xorg.conf file show 75. Is the
Dell monitor an actual CRT (cathode ray tube), and not a flat panel monitor? If it is, then 75 should be used. Change the value from 60 to 75 in the last line
below in the monitors.xml file:

Code: Select all

<output name="VGA-0">
          <vendor>DEL</vendor>
          <product>0xa00b</product>
          <serial>0x33564a53</serial>
          <width>1280</width>
          <height>1024</height>
          <rate>60</rate>
If that doesn't solve the problem, then rename the monitors.xml file to monitors.xml.old

If that doesn't work, then open System Settings > Display, and manually arrange the screens correctly. Be sure the box
next to Mirror Displays is not checked. Press Apply.

However, if the Dell monitor is an actual flat panel monitor, then remove the xorg.conf file with this command:

Code: Select all

sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
If that doesn't work, then delete the monitors.xml file, open Display and arrange the screens as stated above.

lotharjade
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:43 pm
Location: Alaska

Re: Monitor re-positions on reboot. AMD Radeon HD 6670

Post by lotharjade »

roblm wrote:The only problem I see is that the refresh rate in the monitors.xml file for the Dell monitor shows 60, but the xrandr output and xorg.conf file show 75. Is the
Dell monitor an actual CRT (cathode ray tube), and not a flat panel monitor? If it is, then 75 should be used. Change the value from 60 to 75 in the last line
below in the monitors.xml file:

...

If that doesn't solve the problem, then rename the monitors.xml file to monitors.xml.old

...

However, if the Dell monitor is an actual flat panel monitor, then remove the xorg.conf file with this command:

Code: Select all

sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
If that doesn't work, then delete the monitors.xml file, open Display and arrange the screens as stated above.

After removing any of those files or renaming them, are you supposed to reboot or anything?? Also, it is a flat panel monitor.
Have you tried turning it off and on again, then hitting it repeatedly? :/

User avatar
roblm
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3824
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Monitor re-positions on reboot. AMD Radeon HD 6670

Post by roblm »

lotharjade wrote:After removing any of those files or renaming them, are you supposed to reboot or anything?
You should Log out and back in or reboot.

lotharjade
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:43 pm
Location: Alaska

<SOLVED> Re: Monitor re-positions on reboot. AMD Radeon HD 6

Post by lotharjade »

If that doesn't work, then open System Settings > Display, and manually arrange the screens correctly. Be sure the box
next to Mirror Displays is not checked. Press Apply.
This seems to have solved the problem. Odd that worked, and not the Catalyst Program. You would think it would be the other way around.
Have you tried turning it off and on again, then hitting it repeatedly? :/

User avatar
roblm
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3824
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: <SOLVED> Monitor re-positions on reboot. AMD Radeon HD 6

Post by roblm »

You also should be able to use the Catalyst Control Center to set the monitor positions and save that setting, but you should first open Display and be sure the
box next to Mirror Displays is not checked, and then rename the monitors.xml file, to inactivate it, or the settings in that file may conflict with the CCC. Then open
CCC and make the changes.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”