[SOLVED] How re-activate graphic accelerator for ATI [RADEON HD 6750/7570/8550] ?]

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
User avatar
vuott
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 9:02 am

[SOLVED] How re-activate graphic accelerator for ATI [RADEON HD 6750/7570/8550] ?]

Post by vuott »

Hello,

in my computer the video device "Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD / ATI]: Turks PRO [Radeon HD 6750]" used the driver "xserver-xorg-video-ati (recommended) (open-source)" (this is the appellation shown by the Driver Manager).

As a test, I set the driver named "fglrx". The result was very bad: Cinnamon crashed.

So, I set the previous driver "xserver-xorg-video-ati".

But now, when I start the computer, I get a notice that tells me that it is not substantially activated the graphics accelerator. And in fact the graphics, although similar to the original, is very low and with deformed appearance quality of the displayed elements. :(

The question is simple: how to restore everything as in the beginning? How can I re-activate the graphics accelerator ?

Thanks


Here info about my system:
OperatingSystem=Linux
Kernel=4.4.0-22-generic
Architecture=x86_64
Distribution=Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Desktop=GNOME
Theme=Cleanlooks
Memory=3952M
Video-card= Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD / ATI]: Turks PRO [Radeon HD 6750/7570/8550] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Last edited by vuott on Fri May 13, 2016 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Laurent85
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6984
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 10:11 am

Re: How re-activate graphic accelerator for ATI [RADEON HD 6750/7570/8550] ?]

Post by Laurent85 »

Boot in Recovery, select the Recovery entry from the Grub menu, hold down the shift key if the grub menu does not automatically appear when powering on:

- select root, Drop to root shell prompt
- remount filesystem read/write:

Code: Select all

mount -o remount,rw /
- purge fglrx packages:

Code: Select all

apt purge fglrx-*
- reboot:

Code: Select all

reboot
Image
User avatar
vuott
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 9:02 am

Re: [SOLVED] How re-activate graphic accelerator for ATI [RADEON HD 6750/7570/8550] ?]

Post by vuott »

Yes, it works !!! :D

Thank you so much much much, Laurent85 !!!

Grazie, Merci
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”