Intel HD Graphics 630 dual monitor

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
Faberix
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 6:14 am

Intel HD Graphics 630 dual monitor

Post by Faberix » Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:08 am

Hello

I recently bought a new laptop with an Intel Core i7-7700HQ (HD Graphics 630 onboard graphics card) and a GeForce GTX 1060. When I use it at home, I use a Dell 1440p Monitor as a second screen. When I use the GeForce card everything works fine, however, it has a noisy fan and is therefore unsuitable for everyday-work. I want to use my intel onboard graphics for non-gpu-intensive tasks. It works under Windows, but on Linux, the second monitor is not detected.
It has probably nothing to do with the desktop environment (DE) since xrandr doesn't list my monitor while the nVidia card is disabled. Furthermore, I have two DEs (Cinnamon and KDE Plasma) installed and the monitor is not detected in both and neither in the login screen.

This is the output of inxi -F when I have Intel Graphics activated:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: fabian-Aspire-VN7-793G Kernel: 4.8.0-58-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.7 Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya                   
Machine:   System: Acer (portable) product: Aspire VN7-793G v: V1.03                 
           Mobo: KBL model: Neptune_KLS v: V1.03                                     
           Bios: Insyde v: V1.03 date: 02/17/2017                                    
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-7700HQ (-HT-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB                  
           clock speeds: max: 3800 MHz 1: 799 MHz 2: 799 MHz 3: 825 MHz 4: 799 MHz   
           5: 2940 MHz 6: 3186 MHz 7: 1459 MHz 8: 3191 MHz                           
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Device 591b                                                 
           Card-2: NVIDIA Device 1c20                                                
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 3840x2160@60.02hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Kabylake GT2 GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 12.0.6
Audio:     Card Intel Device a171 driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.8.0-58-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath10k_pci
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: 58:00:e3:78:0a:cd
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169
           IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: 30:65:ec:bb:11:60
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (12.2% used)
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: N/A size: 512.1GB
           ID-2: /dev/sda model: ST1000LM035 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 113G used: 40G (37%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p5
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 34.24GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/nvme0n1p6
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 39.0C mobo: 31.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
With the GeForce card enabled it looks like this:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: fabian-Aspire-VN7-793G Kernel: 4.8.0-58-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.7 Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Machine:   System: Acer (portable) product: Aspire VN7-793G v: V1.03
           Mobo: KBL model: Neptune_KLS v: V1.03
           Bios: Insyde v: V1.03 date: 02/17/2017
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-7700HQ (-HT-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB 
           clock speeds: max: 3800 MHz 1: 3470 MHz 2: 3558 MHz 3: 3616 MHz
           4: 3588 MHz 5: 3611 MHz 6: 3608 MHz 7: 3435 MHz 8: 3574 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Device 591b
           Card-2: NVIDIA Device 1c20
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia
           Resolution: 2560x1440@59.95hz, 3840x2160@60.02hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 1060/PCIe/SSE2
           GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 375.66
Audio:     Card Intel Device a171 driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.8.0-58-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath10k_pci
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: 58:00:e3:78:0a:cd
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169
           IF: enp3s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 30:65:ec:bb:11:60
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (7.5% used)
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: N/A size: 512.1GB
           ID-2: /dev/sda model: ST1000LM035 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 113G used: 40G (37%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p5
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 34.24GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/nvme0n1p6
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 69.0C mobo: 37.0C gpu: 51C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 246 Uptime: 0 min Memory: 959.0/32060.1MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35 
And this is the output of xrandr with the GeForce enabled:

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 6400 x 2160, maximum 32767 x 32767
HDMI-0 connected 2560x1440+3840+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 527mm x 296mm
   2560x1440     59.95*+
   2048x1152     59.90  
   1920x1200     59.88  
   1920x1080     60.00    59.94    50.00    23.97    60.05    60.00    50.04  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1280x720      60.00    59.94    50.00  
   1152x864      75.00  
   1024x768      75.03    60.00  
   800x600       75.00    60.32  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       59.94  
   640x480       75.00    59.94    59.93  
eDP-1-1 connected primary 3840x2160+0+0 382mm x 214mm
   3840x2160     60.02*+
   2048x1536     60.00  
   1920x1440     60.00  
   1856x1392     60.01  
   1792x1344     60.01  
   1920x1200     59.95  
   1920x1080     59.93  
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1680x1050     59.95    59.88  
   1600x1024     60.17  
   1400x1050     59.98  
   1280x1024     60.02  
   1440x900      59.89  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1360x768      59.80    59.96  
   1152x864      60.00  
   1024x768      60.04    60.00  
   960x720       60.00  
   928x696       60.05  
   896x672       60.01  
   960x600       60.00  
   960x540       59.99  
   800x600       60.00    60.32    56.25  
   840x525       60.01    59.88  
   800x512       60.17  
   700x525       59.98  
   640x512       60.02  
   720x450       59.89  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
   680x384       59.80    59.96  
   576x432       60.06  
   512x384       60.00  
   400x300       60.32    56.34  
   320x240       60.05  
DP-1-1 disconnected
HDMI-1-1 disconnected
  1600x1200 (0x4d) 162.000MHz +HSync +VSync
        h: width  1600 start 1664 end 1856 total 2160 skew    0 clock  75.00KHz
        v: height 1200 start 1201 end 1204 total 1250           clock  60.00Hz
  1680x1050 (0x4e) 146.250MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  1680 start 1784 end 1960 total 2240 skew    0 clock  65.29KHz
        v: height 1050 start 1053 end 1059 total 1089           clock  59.95Hz
  1280x1024 (0x52) 108.000MHz +HSync +VSync
        h: width  1280 start 1328 end 1440 total 1688 skew    0 clock  63.98KHz
        v: height 1024 start 1025 end 1028 total 1066           clock  60.02Hz
  1024x768 (0x59) 65.000MHz -HSync -VSync
        h: width  1024 start 1048 end 1184 total 1344 skew    0 clock  48.36KHz
        v: height  768 start  771 end  777 total  806           clock  60.00Hz
  800x600 (0x60) 40.000MHz +HSync +VSync
        h: width   800 start  840 end  968 total 1056 skew    0 clock  37.88KHz
        v: height  600 start  601 end  605 total  628           clock  60.32Hz
  640x480 (0x69) 25.175MHz -HSync -VSync
        h: width   640 start  656 end  752 total  800 skew    0 clock  31.47KHz
        v: height  480 start  490 end  492 total  525           clock  59.94Hz
xrandr with Intel enabled:

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3840 x 2160, maximum 32767 x 32767
eDP1 connected primary 3840x2160+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 382mm x 214mm
   3840x2160     60.02*+
   3200x1800     60.00  
   2880x1620     60.00  
   2560x1440     60.00  
   2048x1536     60.00  
   1920x1440     60.00  
   1856x1392     60.01  
   1792x1344     60.01  
   2048x1152     60.00  
   1920x1200     59.95  
   1920x1080     60.00    59.93  
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1680x1050     59.95    59.88  
   1600x1024     60.17  
   1400x1050     59.98  
   1600x900      60.00  
   1280x1024     60.02  
   1440x900      59.89  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1368x768      60.00  
   1360x768      59.80    59.96  
   1152x864      60.00  
   1280x720      60.00  
   1024x768      60.00  
   1024x576      60.00  
   960x540       60.00  
   800x600       60.32    56.25  
   864x486       60.00  
   640x480       59.94  
   720x405       60.00  
   640x360       60.00  
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
Does anyone know how to fix that?

User avatar
roblm
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2825
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Intel HD Graphics 630 dual monitor

Post by roblm » Fri Jul 14, 2017 7:27 am

Start your laptop with the Intel GPU enabled. At the GRUB boot menu select the correct line but don’t press Enter. Press the “E” key to edit. If no menu shows, then hold down the shift key while starting. Use the Down arrow key to go down to the line that starts with: linux /boot/vmlinuz.............ro quiet splash $vt_handoff

Press the End key to go to the end of the line. Add a space and then add this kernel parameter: video=HDMI-1:e

Press F10 to start your laptop. Check in Displays and Monitors if the Dell monitor is now detected. If not, then repeat the process and add this parameter: video=DP-1:e

Faberix
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 6:14 am

Re: Intel HD Graphics 630 dual monitor

Post by Faberix » Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:16 pm

I tried both your suggestions, but none of them worked. The first changed nothing visible, the second added a Monitor "Unknown DP1" with awfully low resolutions. When I tried to activate it (in Cinnamon), I was shown the following error message:

Code: Select all

GDBus.Error:org.gtk.GDBus.UnmappedGError.Quark._gnome_2drr_2derror_2dquark.Code2:
Konfiguration für CRTC "64" konnte nicht angewendet werden
The second line is German and means something like 'Configuration for CRTC "64" could not be applied' in English.

My second monitor remained blank all the while.

User avatar
roblm
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2825
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Intel HD Graphics 630 dual monitor

Post by roblm » Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:47 pm

After looking at the specifications of your laptop, I don't think your setup will work in Linux with the Intel GPU selected, because the HDMI output is usually physically hard-wired to the Nvidia GPU, unless you use the default nouveau driver instead of the Nvidia driver. There is no VGA output, which is usually connected to the Intel GPU. You can test installing kernel 4.10 in Update Manager > View > Linux kernels because your hardware is very new.

Faberix
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 6:14 am

Re: Intel HD Graphics 630 dual monitor

Post by Faberix » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:09 am

None of your suggestions did work. Instead, one of them seems to have somehow broken my NVIDIA Prime. I can't switch to my GeForce card anymore and the Prime Tray on the taskbar shows a cross and says

Code: Select all

Active graphics card: unknown
when I put the cursor on it. I can't tell which of the changes caused this problem, but I think I remember the icon was still correct after my kernel upgrade though I am not sure. I have uninstalled the new kernel versions and returned to version 4.8.0-58. I also reactivated the proprietary NVIDIA driver. However, the problem is still there.
I am not even sure if I did what you meant with the nouveau driver. Did you mean to activate nouveau and use the GeForce or the Intel card? It seems to me that nouveau shouldn't affect the Intel card since it is the driver for the GeForce, but the question is how to work on two monitors without the GeForce.

Just for curiosity: If it is hard-wired, why does a second monitor under windows with GeForce disabled work?

User avatar
roblm
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2825
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Intel HD Graphics 630 dual monitor

Post by roblm » Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:54 pm

Faberix wrote:None of your suggestions did work. Instead, one of them seems to have somehow broken my NVIDIA Prime.
I hope you thoroughly read the warning message that pops up when upgrading the kernel and made your decision accordingly. This can sometimes break something else in your system and at the top is graphics. If reverting to the previous kernel does not solve the problem, then just reinstall the Nvidia driver.
Faberix wrote:I am not even sure if I did what you meant with the nouveau driver.

You can try removing the Nvidia driver, which will then revert back to the nouveau driver. This may allow detection of the monitor.
Faberix wrote:Just for curiosity: If it is hard-wired, why does a second monitor under windows with GeForce disabled work?
I was referring to operation in Linux. Monitor detection and configuration and other technologies don't always work the same or as well in Linux as it does in Windows, which most hardware was designed to run. A good example is Optimus technology, which automatically switches GPUs in Windows depending on the graphics processing needs. In Linux, nvidia-prime and Bumblebee attempt to give a similar performance but there is manual interaction involved.

User avatar
TheBlackHole
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:28 am

Re: Intel HD Graphics 630 dual monitor

Post by TheBlackHole » Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:14 am

Hello,

Sorry to resurrect this post. I have the same issue on my new HP Omen 17. The second screen (HDMI) only works when I choose the Nvidia gpu in PRIME settings.
I've tried your grub method with HDMI-1, HDMI-1-1, HDMI1, DP-1, DP-1-1, DP1 and with nomodset too. I also tried the nouveau driver and installing Mate.

It works perfectly on Windows and on my other laptop (same linux mint version but with older gpus : intel graphic 4000 + nvidia gt650m)

Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon
iGPU : Intel HD Graphics 630 (Intel Kabylake HD Graphics GT2)
GPU : Nvidia GTX 1050 Mobile (NVIDIA Corporation GP107M)
Nvidia driver : 384.90
Xorg : 1.18.4

Faberix
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 6:14 am

Re: Intel HD Graphics 630 dual monitor

Post by Faberix » Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:08 pm

I finally managed to reduce the fan noise at least. The trick was to reduce the GPU frequency, as it was done on http://realnc.blogspot.ch/2016/01/guide ... -with.html. I chose the "balanced" mode (0x2) and I hardly hear the fan anymore. This solution will, of course, reduce the GPU performance, I cannot watch full HD videos fullscreen without flickering on my 4K monitor anymore, but it works fine for everything less GPU-intensive. For GPU-intensive tasks, this setting can be undone in order to regain the full GPU performance.
It still does not work with the Intel GPU, but at least I don't get an earache after I have worked for some time.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”