Intel HD Graphics 530 not listed in lspci

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
hwocurse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:24 pm

Intel HD Graphics 530 not listed in lspci

Post by hwocurse » Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:55 pm

Hi Linux Mint,
I want to switch between my NVIDIA GTX 1070 and the Intel HD 530 on my Skylake i7 6700K desktop system. The system is up and running smooth with propritary NVIDA drivers.

My system is:

Code: Select all

$ lsb_release -a
No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID:	LinuxMint
Description:	Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Release:	18.2
Codename:	sonya

$ uname -a
Linux Hal 4.10.0-32-generic #36~16.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Wed Aug 9 09:19:02 UTC 2017 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

$ inxi -CG
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-6700K (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB 
           clock speeds: max: 4200 MHz 1: 1417 MHz 2: 1164 MHz 3: 1586 MHz 4: 1132 MHz 5: 1666 MHz 6: 899 MHz
           7: 902 MHz 8: 899 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA Device 1b81
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia Resolution: 3840x2160@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 1070/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 375.66
Now I installed nvidia-prime to switch between graphics cards with Prime Indicator Plus. But I can not find the PRIME panel in the NVIDIA X Server Settings. The reason for this might be that the Intel HD is not installed, since it is not listed in lspci

Code: Select all

$ sudo lspci -k | grep -EA2 'VGA|3D'
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
	Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. [MSI] Device 3302
	Kernel driver in use: nvidia
I can also not find a error in the dmesg indicating that it could not be loaded.

Code: Select all

$ dmesg -k | grep -E 'VGA|3D|intel|HD'
[    0.216779] pci 0000:01:00.0: vgaarb: setting as boot VGA device
[    0.216779] pci 0000:01:00.0: vgaarb: VGA device added: decodes=io+mem,owns=io+mem,locks=none
[    0.644661] fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device
[    0.644667] intel_idle: MWAIT substates: 0x142120
[    0.644667] intel_idle: v0.4.1 model 0x5E
[    0.644885] intel_idle: lapic_timer_reliable_states 0xffffffff
[    0.869163] intel_pstate: Intel P-state driver initializing
[    0.869737] intel_pstate: HWP enabled
[    2.347961] scsi 6:0:0:0: Direct-Access     SAMSUNG  HD103SI               PQ: 0 ANSI: 2 CCS
[    3.396906] Btrfs loaded, crc32c=crc32c-intel
[    3.770435] nct6775: Found NCT6793D or compatible chip at 0x2e:0x290
[    3.905242] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Disabling MSI
[    3.905245] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Handle vga_switcheroo audio client
[    3.929959] input: HDA Intel PCH Front Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input12
[    3.929997] input: HDA Intel PCH Rear Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input13
[    3.930036] input: HDA Intel PCH Line as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input14
[    3.930073] input: HDA Intel PCH Line Out Front as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input15
[    3.930108] input: HDA Intel PCH Line Out Surround as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input16
[    3.930148] input: HDA Intel PCH Line Out CLFE as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input17
[    3.930184] input: HDA Intel PCH Front Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input18
[    3.955646] nvidia 0000:01:00.0: vgaarb: changed VGA decodes: olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=none:owns=io+mem
[    3.968331] intel_rapl: Found RAPL domain package
[    3.968332] intel_rapl: Found RAPL domain core
[    3.968333] intel_rapl: Found RAPL domain dram
[    4.727597] NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console
[    4.727598] NVRM: on the primary VGA device. The NVIDIA Linux graphics driver
[    4.727598] NVRM: requires the use of a text-mode VGA console. Use of other console
[    4.790001] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input20
[    4.790031] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=7 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input21
[    4.790055] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=8 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input22
[    4.790079] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=9 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input23
How can I force activate the Intel HD 530 drivers, so that I am able to switch between the GPU with NVIDIA PRIME. The idea is to render with the GTX 1070 and prevent the system from stuttering during that by using the internal graphics.

Best wishes,
hwocurse

hwocurse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:24 pm

Re: Intel HD Graphics 530 not listed in lspci

Post by hwocurse » Mon Aug 28, 2017 3:03 pm

Furthermore I can not find any modprobe blacklist. I did also run the intel-graphics-update tool without any changes. The NVIDIA drivers were installed manualy at first, but than changed to driver manger update.
Is there some other thing I can try?

Hoser Rob
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3184
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Intel HD Graphics 530 not listed in lspci

Post by Hoser Rob » Mon Aug 28, 2017 3:14 pm

Do you have the nomodeset boot parameter enabled? Intel video cards require kernel modesetting and nomodeset will break them.

hwocurse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:24 pm

Re: Intel HD Graphics 530 not listed in lspci

Post by hwocurse » Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:00 pm

Not that I know. Since I am running a ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming I did modify the the acpi setting in order to be able to read the board sensors. But this should not influence the diver - or?

Code: Select all

$ subl /etc/default/grub
GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
GRUB_TIMEOUT=10
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="acpi_enforce_resources=lax"

emersonivo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:08 am

Re: Intel HD Graphics 530 not listed in lspci

Post by emersonivo » Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:11 am

Hi,

Did you get a solution for this issue?
I am facing the same problem with my Dell Desktop.
I have an onboard Intel HD 530 and a NVIDIA GT 730, but Mint does not load the first.

Thanks.

hwocurse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:24 pm

Re: Intel HD Graphics 530 not listed in lspci

Post by hwocurse » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:25 pm

Sadly not. Since there are no suggestions here I am stuck...

Post Reply

Return to “Graphic Cards & Monitors”