Rx560 No HDMI sound

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Tonyprzit

Rx560 No HDMI sound

Post by Tonyprzit »

Hi I am new to linux. I installed mint 18.3 on a computer i built. amd 7 1700x. asrock 370, 16gb ram. Radeon Rx 560.
I installed windows 10, mint 18.3 and Kali 2017.3. I cant get any sound out of the HDMI connected to a tv. The sound comes out fine on windows 10. I have removed and reinstall the gpu drivers but nothing. Could someone help me?
Thank you
Tony
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Citizen229

Re: Rx560 No HDMI sound

Post by Citizen229 »

sound icon on task bar>click settings>click output devices>change to HDMI
Tonyprzit

Post by Tonyprzit »

I did, Output is set to Hdmi. but no sound.
Citizen229

Post by Citizen229 »

Also in the sound settings you will get an output device for each software that uses sound. Firefox, media player, VLC, etc. They will each have their own independant hdmi selector. It will only be available with the software running.
Tonyprzit

Post by Tonyprzit »

Thank you for the reply.
I looked at the application tab in the sound settings. I see the application at 100% sound but no options for output.
am I missing software?
jumanji

Post by jumanji »

Hi all...

I have an Radeon RX 560, no sound on HDMI no matter what, I also have a old Radeon HD 5770 and sound works over hdmi without problems.. (This is on Linux Mint 18.0 to 18.3, Ubuntu 16.04.x...)
RudeViper

Post by RudeViper »