18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
knobby
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 1:26 pm

18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by knobby » Sat May 26, 2018 1:53 pm

Hi folks,

I'm running LM 18.3 with Mate desktop. My PC has an Intel i3 CPU, 8Gb RAM and a 1Gb Nvidea 210 graphics card. I'm using a 19" LCD monitor connected via VGA which is good for 1440 x 900 resolution, but the highest I can set is 1024 x 768. The PC picks up the screen as "Unknown" on VGA-1.
Any idea what I can do to increase the resolution?
TIA

User avatar
Schultz
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1361
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by Schultz » Sat May 26, 2018 1:59 pm

Have you tried clicking the "Detect monitors" button in the Monitor Preferences?
What monitor are you using?

solarbear
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2018 4:27 am

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by solarbear » Sat May 26, 2018 2:14 pm

This is a recurring theme, and also happened to my dual monitor setup. I had a dell 22 inch 1680 x 1050 that was showing up unknown and maxed out at 1024 x 768..I had to look up the monitor and find the refresh rate, both horizontal and vertical, which turned out to be kind of odd numbers..83 hz hor x 75 hz vertical. Then i had to open up the xorg located in /etc/.x11 as administrator and manually edit the refresh values for the monitor and save the file. Now the dell is showing up fine.

knobby
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 1:26 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by knobby » Sat May 26, 2018 2:17 pm

The monitor is a Delium LM1907. I've clicked the detect monitors but nothing happens.
Tried looking up info on the monitor but can't find anything.

User avatar
roblm
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by roblm » Sat May 26, 2018 7:15 pm

You need to provide some additional info by using these commands in the Terminal:

Code: Select all

1. inxi -Gx
2. xrandr --verbose
3. xed /etc/X11/xorg.conf			(this file may not be present)
Copy the output from each command. Don't save it to a file. Open the Mint Forum reply window and select “</>” in the menu. Press Ctrl+V to paste the copied lines into a code display window.

knobby
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 1:26 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by knobby » Sun May 27, 2018 3:37 am

Here you go:

Code: Select all

Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1024x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NVA8
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 8192 x 8192
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
	Identifier: 0x61
	Timestamp:  54481
	Subpixel:   unknown
	Clones:    
	CRTCs:      0 1
	Transform:  1.000000 0.000000 0.000000
	            0.000000 1.000000 0.000000
	            0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
	           filter: 
	dithering depth: auto 
		supported: auto, 6 bpc, 8 bpc
	dithering mode: auto 
		supported: auto, off, static 2x2, dynamic 2x2
	scaling mode: None 
		supported: None, Full, Center, Full aspect
	color vibrance: 150 
		range: (0, 200)
	vibrant hue: 90 
		range: (0, 180)
	underscan vborder: 0 
		range: (0, 128)
	underscan hborder: 0 
		range: (0, 128)
	underscan: off 
		supported: auto, off, on
	subconnector: Unknown 
		supported: Unknown, DVI-D, DVI-A
	link-status: Good 
		supported: Good, Bad
HDMI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
	Identifier: 0x62
	Timestamp:  54481
	Subpixel:   unknown
	Clones:    
	CRTCs:      0 1
	Transform:  1.000000 0.000000 0.000000
	            0.000000 1.000000 0.000000
	            0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
	           filter: 
	dithering depth: auto 
		supported: auto, 6 bpc, 8 bpc
	dithering mode: auto 
		supported: auto, off, static 2x2, dynamic 2x2
	scaling mode: None 
		supported: None, Full, Center, Full aspect
	color vibrance: 150 
		range: (0, 200)
	vibrant hue: 90 
		range: (0, 180)
	underscan vborder: 0 
		range: (0, 128)
	underscan hborder: 0 
		range: (0, 128)
	underscan: off 
		supported: auto, off, on
	link-status: Good 
		supported: Good, Bad
VGA-1 connected 1024x768+0+0 (0x65) normal (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
	Identifier: 0x63
	Timestamp:  54481
	Subpixel:   unknown
	Gamma:      1.0:1.0:1.0
	Brightness: 1.0
	Clones:    
	CRTC:       0
	CRTCs:      0 1
	Transform:  1.000000 0.000000 0.000000
	            0.000000 1.000000 0.000000
	            0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
	           filter: 
	scaling mode: None 
		supported: None, Full, Center, Full aspect
	color vibrance: 150 
		range: (0, 200)
	vibrant hue: 90 
		range: (0, 180)
	link-status: Good 
		supported: Good, Bad
  1024x768 (0x65) 65.000MHz -HSync -VSync *current
        h: width  1024 start 1048 end 1184 total 1344 skew    0 clock  48.36KHz
        v: height  768 start  771 end  777 total  806           clock  60.00Hz
  800x600 (0x66) 40.000MHz +HSync +VSync
        h: width   800 start  840 end  968 total 1056 skew    0 clock  37.88KHz
        v: height  600 start  601 end  605 total  628           clock  60.32Hz
  800x600 (0x67) 36.000MHz +HSync +VSync
        h: width   800 start  824 end  896 total 1024 skew    0 clock  35.16KHz
        v: height  600 start  601 end  603 total  625           clock  56.25Hz
  848x480 (0x68) 33.750MHz +HSync +VSync
        h: width   848 start  864 end  976 total 1088 skew    0 clock  31.02KHz
        v: height  480 start  486 end  494 total  517           clock  60.00Hz
  640x480 (0x69) 25.175MHz -HSync -VSync
        h: width   640 start  656 end  752 total  800 skew    0 clock  31.47KHz
        v: height  480 start  490 end  492 total  525           clock  59.94Hz
You were right in that the third option is not present.

User avatar
roblm
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by roblm » Sun May 27, 2018 7:24 am

You are using the nouveau video driver and it is not reading the monitor's EDID completely. Did you want to continue using that driver or try installing the recommended Nvidia driver in the Driver Manager program, which may have more success reading the EDID?
Last edited by roblm on Sun May 27, 2018 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

knobby
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 1:26 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by knobby » Sun May 27, 2018 7:30 am

Strange! According to driver manager I am using the recommended Nvidia driver! See attached screenshot.
Screenshot.png

User avatar
roblm
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by roblm » Sun May 27, 2018 7:43 am

Sometimes the Nvidia driver is installed but not configured correctly, so it will still show as being installed in Driver Manager but is not actually the loaded driver. Use this command to verify which video driver is actually loaded:

Code: Select all

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log |egrep -i "nvidia|nouveau"

knobby
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 1:26 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by knobby » Sun May 27, 2018 7:46 am

Thanks. Looks like the Nvidia driver isn't there or not being loaded.

Code: Select all

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log |egrep -i "nvidia|nouveau"
[    51.706] (==) Matched nvidia as autoconfigured driver 0
[    51.706] (==) Matched nouveau as autoconfigured driver 1
[    51.706] (==) Matched nvidia as autoconfigured driver 2
[    51.706] (==) Matched nouveau as autoconfigured driver 3
[    51.706] (II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
[    51.740] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module nvidia
[    51.740] (II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
[    51.740] (II) Unloading nvidia
[    51.740] (EE) Failed to load module "nvidia" (module does not exist, 0)
[    51.740] (II) LoadModule: "nouveau"
[    51.740] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/nouveau_drv.so
[    51.903] (II) Module nouveau: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    51.986] (==) Matched nvidia as autoconfigured driver 0
[    51.986] (==) Matched nouveau as autoconfigured driver 1
[    51.986] (==) Matched nvidia as autoconfigured driver 2
[    51.986] (==) Matched nouveau as autoconfigured driver 3
[    51.986] (II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
[    51.987] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module nvidia
[    51.987] (II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
[    51.987] (II) Unloading nvidia
[    51.987] (EE) Failed to load module "nvidia" (module does not exist, 0)
[    51.987] (II) LoadModule: "nouveau"
[    51.987] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/nouveau_drv.so
[    51.987] (II) Module nouveau: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    51.987] (II) UnloadModule: "nouveau"
[    51.987] (II) Unloading nouveau
[    51.987] (II) Failed to load module "nouveau" (already loaded, 0)
[    51.987] (II) NOUVEAU driver Date:   Tue Dec 8 15:52:25 2015 +1000
[    51.987] (II) NOUVEAU driver for NVIDIA chipset families :
[    51.988] (II) [drm] nouveau interface version: 1.3.1
[    52.014] (--) NOUVEAU(0): Chipset: "NVIDIA NVA8"
[    52.014] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Creating default Display subsection in Screen section
[    52.014] (==) NOUVEAU(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
[    52.014] (==) NOUVEAU(0): RGB weight 888
[    52.014] (==) NOUVEAU(0): Default visual is TrueColor
[    52.014] (==) NOUVEAU(0): Using HW cursor
[    52.014] (==) NOUVEAU(0): Allowed maximum DRI level 2.
[    52.014] (==) NOUVEAU(0): GLX sync to VBlank enabled.
[    52.014] (==) NOUVEAU(0): Page flipping enabled
[    52.014] (==) NOUVEAU(0): Swap limit set to 1 [Max allowed 2]
[    52.014] (==) NOUVEAU(0): Page flipping synced to vblank by kernel.
[    52.014] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Initializing outputs ...
[    52.025] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DVI-I-1 has no monitor section
[    52.026] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output HDMI-1 has no monitor section
[    52.052] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output VGA-1 has no monitor section
[    52.052] (II) NOUVEAU(0): 3 crtcs needed for screen.
[    52.058] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Allocated crtc nr. 0 to this screen.
[    52.058] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Allocated crtc nr. 1 to this screen.
[    52.069] (II) NOUVEAU(0): EDID for output DVI-I-1
[    52.070] (II) NOUVEAU(0): EDID for output HDMI-1
[    52.102] (II) NOUVEAU(0): EDID for output VGA-1
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Printing probed modes for output VGA-1
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "1024x768"x60.0   65.00  1024 1048 1184 1344  768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (48.4 kHz e)
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "800x600"x60.3   40.00  800 840 968 1056  600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync (37.9 kHz e)
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "800x600"x56.2   36.00  800 824 896 1024  600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync (35.2 kHz e)
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "848x480"x60.0   33.75  848 864 976 1088  480 486 494 517 +hsync +vsync (31.0 kHz e)
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "640x480"x59.9   25.18  640 656 752 800  480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz e)
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output DVI-I-1 disconnected
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output HDMI-1 disconnected
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output VGA-1 connected
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Using exact sizes for initial modes
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Output VGA-1 using initial mode 1024x768 +0+0
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Using default gamma of (1.0, 1.0, 1.0) unless otherwise stated.
[    52.103] (--) NOUVEAU(0): Virtual size is 1024x768 (pitch 0)
[    52.103] (**) NOUVEAU(0):  Driver mode "1024x768": 65.0 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 48.4 kHz, 60.0 Hz
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "1024x768"x60.0   65.00  1024 1048 1184 1344  768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (48.4 kHz e)
[    52.103] (**) NOUVEAU(0):  Driver mode "800x600": 40.0 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 37.9 kHz, 60.3 Hz
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "800x600"x60.3   40.00  800 840 968 1056  600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync (37.9 kHz e)
[    52.103] (**) NOUVEAU(0):  Driver mode "800x600": 36.0 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 35.2 kHz, 56.2 Hz
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "800x600"x56.2   36.00  800 824 896 1024  600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync (35.2 kHz e)
[    52.103] (**) NOUVEAU(0):  Driver mode "848x480": 33.8 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 31.0 kHz, 60.0 Hz
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "848x480"x60.0   33.75  848 864 976 1088  480 486 494 517 +hsync +vsync (31.0 kHz e)
[    52.103] (**) NOUVEAU(0):  Driver mode "640x480": 25.2 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 31.5 kHz, 59.9 Hz
[    52.103] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "640x480"x59.9   25.18  640 656 752 800  480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz e)
[    52.103] (==) NOUVEAU(0): DPI set to (96, 96)
[    52.274] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Channel setup complete.
[    52.280] (II) NOUVEAU(0): [COPY] async initialised.
[    52.390] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Hardware support for Present enabled
[    52.390] (II) NOUVEAU(0): [DRI2] Setup complete
[    52.390] (II) NOUVEAU(0): [DRI2]   DRI driver: nouveau
[    52.390] (II) NOUVEAU(0): [DRI2]   VDPAU driver: nouveau
[    52.391] (==) NOUVEAU(0): Backing store enabled
[    52.391] (==) NOUVEAU(0): Silken mouse enabled
[    52.391] (II) NOUVEAU(0): [XvMC] Associated with Nouveau GeForce 8/9 Textured Video.
[    52.391] (II) NOUVEAU(0): [XvMC] Extension initialized.
[    52.391] (==) NOUVEAU(0): DPMS enabled
[    52.391] (II) NOUVEAU(0): RandR 1.2 enabled, ignore the following RandR disabled message.
[    54.998] (II) AIGLX: Loaded and initialized nouveau
[    55.000] (II) NOUVEAU(0): NVEnterVT is called.
[    55.002] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Setting screen physical size to 270 x 203
[    56.764] (II) config/udev: Adding input device HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=3 (/dev/input/event9)
[    56.765] (II) config/udev: Adding input device HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=7 (/dev/input/event10)
[    56.765] (II) config/udev: Adding input device HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=8 (/dev/input/event11)
[    56.765] (II) config/udev: Adding input device HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=9 (/dev/input/event12)

User avatar
roblm
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by roblm » Sun May 27, 2018 7:49 am

The nouveau driver is still loading.

I forgot to tell you to also use this command:

Code: Select all

ls /etc/modprobe.d

knobby
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 1:26 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by knobby » Sun May 27, 2018 8:21 am

roblm wrote:
Sun May 27, 2018 7:49 am
The nouveau driver is still loading.

I forgot to tell you to also use this command:

Code: Select all

ls /etc/modprobe.d

Code: Select all

alsa-base.conf               blacklist-watchdog.conf
blacklist-ath_pci.conf       dkms.conf
blacklist.conf               fbdev-blacklist.conf
blacklist-firewire.conf      intel-microcode-blacklist.conf
blacklist-framebuffer.conf   iwlwifi.conf
blacklist-modem.conf         mlx4.conf
blacklist-oss.conf           vmwgfx-fbdev.conf
blacklist-rare-network.conf

User avatar
roblm
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by roblm » Sun May 27, 2018 8:24 am

After the Nvidia driver is installed, a file named nvidia-graphics-drivers.conf should be created in /etc/modprobe.d, which blacklists the nouveau driver. That file is missing. Use this command to create one:

Code: Select all

gksudo xed /etc/modprobe.d/nvidia-graphics-drivers.conf
In the opened empty file, add these lines:

Code: Select all

blacklist nouveau
options nouveau modeset=0
Save the file. Then use this command in the Terminal and then reboot:

Code: Select all

sudo update-initramfs -u
Use the cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log |egrep -i "nvidia|nouveau" command again to verify that the Nvidia driver is being loaded. If not, a second reboot may be necessary for your system to configure the Nvidia driver. Check if the monitor in using the correct resolution.

knobby
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 1:26 pm

Re: 18.3 & Mate - can only get 1024 x 768

Post by knobby » Sun May 27, 2018 8:38 am

Yep, that's done it - Nvidia driver is loaded and I can change the resolution.

I have no idea what those command were, but thank you very, very much for getting me to run them and fixing my problem.

Cheers!

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”